NextGen America Field Organizer Reviews | Glassdoor

NextGen America Field Organizer Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
NextGen America Founder, President, Business leader  and Philanthropist Tom Steyer (no image)
Tom Steyer
8 Ratings
  1. "Hard but Good Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you love Progressive Causes, it's a great organization to devote your time to.

    Cons

    Long hours and quotas but that's to be expected given the field.

    NextGen America2020-01-18
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Manchester, NH
    Recommends

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid organizing culture . Great place to learn how to organize . Never lacked the resources we needed.

    Cons

    The hours get tough but to be expected for an election.

    NextGen America2019-12-05
  3. "Great for a recent graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reimbursement for travel and food. Competitive pay and great networking opportunities.

    Cons

    Numbers driven. Not a lot of down time and you have to work weekends. Not a conventional 9-5.

    NextGen America2019-12-02
  4. "Utterly disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at NextGen back when it was NextGen Climate, for the 2016 General Election. Pros: - You REALLY had to organize everything yourself, so I got some good managerial experience for my first year out of college - Pays competitively for an FO position - Good budget for FO supplies, albeit with weird restrictions on where we could buy from

    Cons

    - Misleading about the time commitment. I was told this would be about a 60 hr/week position. Instead, it was closer to 80-85 hr/week. - Extremely disorganized communication - we'd just have new forms that we'd suddenly need to fill out in order to get things approved that we would get approved without question before - We were given next to no training, other than a 2-day retreat about a month out from the election in which we learned about GOTV canvassing vs. regular canvassing - Extremely problematic employee behavior was ignored by HR - We were discouraged from trying to build coalitions with local grassroots organizations, which really compromised our legitimacy - The post-campaign "career opportunities" have all just been trying to get us to sign up for PIRG, aka a lower-paying canvassing job with equally grueling hours and no career mobility

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-12-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Does not practice what they preach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer 

    I worked at NextGen America full-time

    Pros

    Good pay Work Remotely

    Cons

    Insane work hours and high expectations to work more hours than what is contractually expected, really bad communication from management, expects you to be sneaky around campus and university policies.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-07-08
  6. "FO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Organizer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits definitely

    Cons

    Not enough room for growth

    NextGen America2019-05-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good People, Too many demands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some great people working with NextGen They pay very well for an organizing job they give you the resources to organize well

    Cons

    They did not like it when you brought up concerns, and there is little room to be flexible with your organizing tactics They set unrealistic expectations on organizers so that nobody could succeed without working 80+ hours a week. When I did finally meet one of my benchmarks they raised it for the following week

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-05-07
  8. "Great Political Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Field Organizer in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America for less than a year

    Pros

    NextGen has a great culture. Great benefits, and they are truly making a difference in the nation.

    Cons

    They need to improve how to handle miscommunication from the bottom to the top.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-04-18
  9. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer 

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at NextGen allows you to use your creative talents to make a difference in the community. The culture is also inclusive; it's understood that a person from just about any background can be effective at NextGen. NextGen's culture is also sensitive about matters diversity, and colleagues here are friendly and kind with one another.

    Cons

    There's very little time off, and you have to be in an engaged state of mind in order to be effective. If you work for NextGen, you should know that you have to be deeply committed to the work.

    NextGen America2019-02-11
  10. "Love the people, disliked the experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Field Organizer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America

    Pros

    Good pay, lovely co-workers, edifying job experience.

    Cons

    HR is unresponsive. Lack of transparency.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-02-07
Found 13 reviews