NextGen America Organizer Reviews | Glassdoor

NextGen America Organizer Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
46%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
NextGen America Founder, President, Business leader  and Philanthropist Tom Steyer (no image)
Tom Steyer
16 Ratings
  1. "Hard but Good Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you love Progressive Causes, it's a great organization to devote your time to.

    Cons

    Long hours and quotas but that's to be expected given the field.

    NextGen America2020-01-18
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Manchester, NH
    Recommends

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid organizing culture . Great place to learn how to organize . Never lacked the resources we needed.

    Cons

    The hours get tough but to be expected for an election.

    NextGen America2019-12-05
  3. "Great for a recent graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reimbursement for travel and food. Competitive pay and great networking opportunities.

    Cons

    Numbers driven. Not a lot of down time and you have to work weekends. Not a conventional 9-5.

    NextGen America2019-12-02
  4. "Utterly disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at NextGen back when it was NextGen Climate, for the 2016 General Election. Pros: - You REALLY had to organize everything yourself, so I got some good managerial experience for my first year out of college - Pays competitively for an FO position - Good budget for FO supplies, albeit with weird restrictions on where we could buy from

    Cons

    - Misleading about the time commitment. I was told this would be about a 60 hr/week position. Instead, it was closer to 80-85 hr/week. - Extremely disorganized communication - we'd just have new forms that we'd suddenly need to fill out in order to get things approved that we would get approved without question before - We were given next to no training, other than a 2-day retreat about a month out from the election in which we learned about GOTV canvassing vs. regular canvassing - Extremely problematic employee behavior was ignored by HR - We were discouraged from trying to build coalitions with local grassroots organizations, which really compromised our legitimacy - The post-campaign "career opportunities" have all just been trying to get us to sign up for PIRG, aka a lower-paying canvassing job with equally grueling hours and no career mobility

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-12-16
  5. "A great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Organizer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A fast pace environment where you can make a real impact.

    Cons

    Extremely labor intensive. There are often long hot days spent out in the field canvassing, tabling and organizing

    NextGen America2019-09-25
  6. "Big promises, little delivery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling at times

    Cons

    Consistently work more than 40 hours per week, more like 50 to 60. During campaign ramp up you will work 90 hours a week. Very poor support systems (HR department is tiny).

    NextGen America2019-09-13
  7. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This could be a great way to start an organizing career if management were more honest.

    Cons

    They hired me, let me quit my job, sent me a link to activate my new next gen email, then they rescinded the offer the next day. They will lie to you. They told me the position was no longer available then posted it again a couple days later. Their North Carolina staff is unprofessional and I encourage everyone to find another job. Now I don’t have either job, I’ve lost weeks of wages and they just don’t care.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-09-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Does not practice what they preach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer 

    I worked at NextGen America full-time

    Pros

    Good pay Work Remotely

    Cons

    Insane work hours and high expectations to work more hours than what is contractually expected, really bad communication from management, expects you to be sneaky around campus and university policies.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-07-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "destructive management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizing Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some perks like reimbursements, but that should be a given anyways

    Cons

    management is self-serving and behaves in ways that are destructive to staff. they ignore concerns from staff and perpetuate a toxic and discriminatory work environment. lack of effective strategy.

    NextGen America2019-07-23
  10. "FO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Organizer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits definitely

    Cons

    Not enough room for growth

    NextGen America2019-05-27
Found 25 reviews