NextGen America Reviews | Glassdoor

NextGen America Reviews

Updated Mar 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
NextGen America Founder, President, Business leader  and Philanthropist Tom Steyer (no image)
Tom Steyer
30 Ratings
  1. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Operations Associate/Office Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff was hand selected and interviewed to ensure a cultural fit

    Cons

    The job ended to soon

    NextGen America2020-03-05
  2. "Hard but Good Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you love Progressive Causes, it's a great organization to devote your time to.

    Cons

    Long hours and quotas but that's to be expected given the field.

    NextGen America2020-01-18
  3. "Utterly disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at NextGen back when it was NextGen Climate, for the 2016 General Election. Pros: - You REALLY had to organize everything yourself, so I got some good managerial experience for my first year out of college - Pays competitively for an FO position - Good budget for FO supplies, albeit with weird restrictions on where we could buy from

    Cons

    - Misleading about the time commitment. I was told this would be about a 60 hr/week position. Instead, it was closer to 80-85 hr/week. - Extremely disorganized communication - we'd just have new forms that we'd suddenly need to fill out in order to get things approved that we would get approved without question before - We were given next to no training, other than a 2-day retreat about a month out from the election in which we learned about GOTV canvassing vs. regular canvassing - Extremely problematic employee behavior was ignored by HR - We were discouraged from trying to build coalitions with local grassroots organizations, which really compromised our legitimacy - The post-campaign "career opportunities" have all just been trying to get us to sign up for PIRG, aka a lower-paying canvassing job with equally grueling hours and no career mobility

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-12-16
  4. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Manchester, NH
    Recommends

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid organizing culture . Great place to learn how to organize . Never lacked the resources we needed.

    Cons

    The hours get tough but to be expected for an election.

    NextGen America2019-12-05
  5. "Great for a recent graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reimbursement for travel and food. Competitive pay and great networking opportunities.

    Cons

    Numbers driven. Not a lot of down time and you have to work weekends. Not a conventional 9-5.

    NextGen America2019-12-02
  6. "Will never pay you for what you are worth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Canvasser 

    I have been working at NextGen America part-time

    Pros

    Great for college students who needs quick money!

    Cons

    Organizing work, so it will never pay you what you are actually worth.

    NextGen America2019-10-03
  7. "A great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Organizer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A fast pace environment where you can make a real impact.

    Cons

    Extremely labor intensive. There are often long hot days spent out in the field canvassing, tabling and organizing

    NextGen America2019-09-25
  8. "Big promises, little delivery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling at times

    Cons

    Consistently work more than 40 hours per week, more like 50 to 60. During campaign ramp up you will work 90 hours a week. Very poor support systems (HR department is tiny).

    NextGen America2019-09-13
  9. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This could be a great way to start an organizing career if management were more honest.

    Cons

    They hired me, let me quit my job, sent me a link to activate my new next gen email, then they rescinded the offer the next day. They will lie to you. They told me the position was no longer available then posted it again a couple days later. Their North Carolina staff is unprofessional and I encourage everyone to find another job. Now I don’t have either job, I’ve lost weeks of wages and they just don’t care.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-09-10
  10. "It was fine until the end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Campus Organizer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got some great experience during the whole process

    Cons

    Lots of turnover. Strong chance they will fire you after you finish a cycle with them

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-08-30
Found 59 reviews