NextGen America "organizing" Reviews | Glassdoor

NextGen America Employee Reviews about "organizing"

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
NextGen America Founder, President, Business leader  and Philanthropist Tom Steyer (no image)
Tom Steyer
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, important work, dedicated hard working employees(in 9 reviews)

  • "They pay very well for an organizing job(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Factoring in long hours, they really don't pay much(in 7 reviews)

  • "If you work for NextGen, you should know that you have to be deeply committed to the work(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "organizing"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Manchester, NH
    Recommends

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid organizing culture . Great place to learn how to organize . Never lacked the resources we needed.

    Cons

    The hours get tough but to be expected for an election.

    NextGen America2019-12-05
  2. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This could be a great way to start an organizing career if management were more honest.

    Cons

    They hired me, let me quit my job, sent me a link to activate my new next gen email, then they rescinded the offer the next day. They will lie to you. They told me the position was no longer available then posted it again a couple days later. Their North Carolina staff is unprofessional and I encourage everyone to find another job. Now I don’t have either job, I’ve lost weeks of wages and they just don’t care.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good People, Too many demands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some great people working with NextGen They pay very well for an organizing job they give you the resources to organize well

    Cons

    They did not like it when you brought up concerns, and there is little room to be flexible with your organizing tactics They set unrealistic expectations on organizers so that nobody could succeed without working 80+ hours a week. When I did finally meet one of my benchmarks they raised it for the following week

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-05-07
  4. "Organizer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America for less than a year

    Pros

    A truly progressive organization fostered by Tom Steyer. You will meet great people who are passionate about pushing progressive agendas. Great experience in organizing political campaigns.

    Cons

    Very little job security or opportunities for promotion.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2018-11-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Unless you really need the paycheck, don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Organizer in State College, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big budget Other organizers we’re inspiring to work with

    Cons

    Minimum 65 hours a week, despite what was told to employees during interview process People above organizers in the org can be abusive with little to no consequences Low staff morale, made to feel like the numbers for press realeases are more important than the work

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2018-12-13
  6. "Nextgen will Nextgen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - NextGen PA in Philadelphia, PA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - money being given to passionate, young justice-driven organizers to do a doable thing will always be a good thing so keep doing that - focus on civic engagement and millennial voter turnout = very good for our future :)

    Cons

    - lofty goals and not much sustainable long-term organizing tactics taught - Is Nextgen REALLY an environmental org? really??? Tom Steyer making a fortune off of hedge fund manager to questionable sources of "non-renewable" energy... then having a change of heart... either way, if he's supporting young people and also climate justice then it's not such a bad thing - leadership/peoples ops needs cultural sensitivity and POC training asap, someone prioritize this (not naming who, but 'problematic' organizers were almost majority POC... this is criticism aimed at Field Directors and RFDs who probably need a reality check of their own personal sense of racism) - WORK LIFE BALANCE: You cannot stress self care and expect subordinate employees to work ridiculous hours thinking that their "young passionate energy" will somehow make up for little sleep, personal time, and even food... don't you love when someone tell you that they care but you know that they don't really care - yeah, it's like that

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2018-11-19
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Scary place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Long Term Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -issues based org -multiculturalism -money from Tom makes organizing easier tbh -group feelings around making a difference

    Cons

    -Interpersonal staff relationships that end in getting drunk or high with subordinates -Lack of timeliness in rolling out all deadlines -Expected to be responsive and present from 7am-10pm everyday -Personal emergencies can only be had by members of senior leadership, everyone else is expected to jump when they say so at a moment's notice -Tom Steyer as figurehead used too often to "energize" staff when he himself made his money in a not-so-progressive way. -Senior leadership consistently abusing members of staff from regional down to fellow -When moving matters up the chain, there is no semblance of respect for personal truth. Company is willing to throw complaints back in the face of the complainant. -Repeated instances of harsh abusive speech directed at the fellow level from the State director -Mentally straining to the point that myself and members of my staff expressed their suicidality as a result of this job and expectations to work 70-80 hours a week. -Complete unpreparedness of the leadership when it comes to training and new trainings are often rolled out too little, too late. -Miscommunication from senior leadership, no respect for what time it is. -Call out culture is highly evident and creates a toxic work environment. -Often uses terms like "cultural outreach" or "fits the culture" when describing hiring people of color. -Pours money into two-three day redundant trainings that don't do a lot for any returning members of staff -Fellows are treated in a disposable fashion. -Members of staff have been screamed at in public spaces and right before onboardings where 100+ fellows are entering the room. -Tom has cognitive dissonance. For this purpose, he is a face and a paycheck and a way to get fellows and organizers to take the bait of this job. -Most of senior leadership staff is new to managing others, but refuses to hold themselves accountable. -The jobs are seasonal, with no word of moving up through the ladder despite that being a selling point for fellows and organizers. -Have witnessed repeated offenses of discrimination and harassment as well as bullying with nothing but a slap on the wrist for senior leadership. -Factoring in long hours, they really don't pay much. -Once you have slighted someone, do not expect them to be professional with you in the workplace ever again. Even if you did not have cruel intentions. This is fact, nationwide. -Hiring is on a who knows who level, so be wary of what you indulge to others. It will be used against you.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2018-08-25
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Ghosted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Organizer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good experience organizing - Opportunity to make your own schedule and plan creative events.

    Cons

    - Stressful work environment - Pressure to perform I worked for this company as an organizer for 2 months. I felt overworked and underpaid and the pressure to perform really got to me. I put in a letter of resignation and my higher manager was very angry with me and never spoke to me again. I had to communicate with HR to close out my employment and get my last paycheck.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2017-02-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Pay, support could use help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Field Director in Canton, OH
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, solid benefits and high profile to elevate organizers in the student and environmental campaign realms.

    Cons

    Minimal support for managers who are new or inexperienced. Lots of micromanaging that is not always clear what purpose it serves.

    NextGen America2016-12-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews