NextGen Healthcare "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

NextGen Healthcare Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
NextGen Healthcare CEO Rusty Frantz
Rusty Frantz
207 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Experience at NextGen QSI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NextGen Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, work and life balance

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime, hiring practices of other employees

    NextGen Healthcare2017-07-07
  2. "Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst II, Software Development 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They support personal growth through corporate training and LinkedIn learning. Unlike my previous job, when assigning more work then could be done in an 8 hour day, they didn't ask what was wrong with me, they said do the best you can. My co-workers were supportive and my supervisor worked to help me with my challenges. I got to work with clients directly and enjoyed my time on-site. It was also nice to be able... to work from home when needed. Tools were provided that made it seamless.

    Show More

    Cons

    While they are trying to remove silos, some are still around and can make solving issues difficult. They are in the process of realigning to facilitate future growth so there is a lot of churn right now.

    Advice to Management

    Work hard to further decrease the differences between departments and locations.

    NextGen Healthcare2019-09-04
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (8)

    "Not a stable place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Horsham, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NextGen Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible time, work from home and great people

    Cons

    Management and policies, off shoring.

    NextGen Healthcare2019-08-04
  5. Helpful (10)

    "US jobs are being sent to India"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - R&D Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work from home opportunity

    Cons

    Company is outsourcing US jobs

    Advice to Management

    US employees are not happy. In fact they are extremely scared. Mgmt expects US employees to train India resources and then eliminate US positions and send same position to India. Put yourselves and the US resources shoes, how would you feel if you were training people all to have your job sent to India. More importantly, employees can tell their jobs are about to be eliminated because mgmt starts treating them bad.... Sad times for US employees at NextGen!!

    Show More
    NextGen Healthcare2019-07-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Nice environment pay raises weren't great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly office, ability to work from home

    Cons

    low pay raises, the restructuring with management was confusing.

    NextGen Healthcare2019-02-25
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Horsham, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mid level managers are very understanding and reasonable. They take care of their people. Work from home multiple days per week. Flexible working hours. Talented peers. Fair compensation.

    Cons

    Understaffed. Expected to do more with less. Unrealistic deadlines. Aging tech with a fair amount of technical debt. Career growth is extremely slow even for the highest performers.

    Advice to Management

    Set more realistic expectations with deadlines. Prioritize fixing the core issues with the software before pushing the “nice to have” features. Take more ownership in helping employees grow their careers.

    NextGen Healthcare2019-02-04
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Worst company to work for. Read all reviews before signing up as a client or applying for a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen Healthcare

    Pros

    Free cake one day a month

    Cons

    New employees cannot work from home Management lies, cannot be trusted Will over work you to the point you burn out Generic training, nothing specific to your role Promotions go to favorites, not hard workers No advancement opportunities Silos Broken processes Management does not care about it's employees Useless HR department Some employees are arrogant and out right rude. Management let's it slide. Shady... management practices Useless monthly surveys. Metrics Metrics Metrics Quiet layoffs Support gets treated like garbage

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Why bother writing anything here? Management never reads these or responds to these. Any of the "positive" reviews are likely written by marketing.

    NextGen Healthcare2019-02-09
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Toxic, fear-based culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen Healthcare

    Pros

    I can’t think of one.

    Cons

    To say there is no work/life balance would be an understatement. You’ll be worked to the bone and to make it worse, “leadership” instilled an environment of fear – pressuring team members to essentially out perform their peers as only the top performers will survive. The issue with this is not that a “leader” encourages hard work, but pits people against one another and has less than zero respect for your personal... time. Emails and assignments at a moment’s notice, over the weekend are the norm and work from home rights for entire teams were revoked for no reason. There are far more successful, flexible companies out there who allow employees to be people too, so there’s no reason to join this toxic environment. As resignations continue to roll in, it’s obvious many people share the sentiment that this place has become a terrible place to work. Read all reviews before remotely considering joining an organization who flat out does NOT value its employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop turning a blind eye and actually look at what’s happening to your organization. Many talented people are fleeing at rapid rates for a reason.

    NextGen Healthcare2019-02-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Stable but slow progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extensive paid training

    Cons

    No work from home options

    NextGen Healthcare2018-12-17
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Decent management, good team. Flexible work from home.

    Cons

    Low wages compared to other companies in the same field. Bi-monthly pay schedule with hourly compensation.

    NextGen Healthcare2018-07-27
Found 53 reviews