Cover image for Nextwave Advocacy
Logo

Nextwave Advocacy

Is this your company?

Nextwave Advocacy

Add a Review

Nextwave Advocacy Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2020

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 31 of over 31 reviews
2.6
50% Recommend to a Friend

Found 31 of over 31 reviews

2.6
50%
Recommend to a Friend

The latest conversations about Consulting

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

399

132 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
    There are no pros to display at this time.
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Engaging Side Hustle

    Nov 8, 2018 - Outreach Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You make your own schedule in hour blocks, they ask for 2 or more hours at a time, which makes sense because its telephone work, it takes a bit to get into your groove. They have weekend work. Its not sales, your telling people about political topics and seeing if they support it. If you work 20 or more hours you get $2.00 dollars and they offer other bonuses.

    Cons

    It is contract work so it is not steady. There are down times between projects offerings, but they do seem to have stuff always coming in.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 3 years

    Fine company - went under

    Dec 3, 2020 - Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible hours to meet my schedule

    Cons

    unpredictable income and project assignment

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Nextwave Advocacy team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Worst company ever

    Jul 23, 2020 - Work From Home Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's work from home so that's the only pro. Sorry I have nothing else good to say based on my experience.

    Cons

    They micro manage you to death and listen in on every call waiting to critique you. They expect you to not make any mistakes even if you are new and get every lead even if the person says they are not interested you have to be pushy. They mistreated me and belittled me in a way that sounds like they are being "professional" they want you to be flexible to management's mistakes and system flaws but will mistreat you if you make mistakes even if they are out of your control. The managers are very rude and one sided they are fake nice and very cliquey. Only they can make mistakes. A waste of time unless you are desperate for money.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Contractor

    "Grassroots Outreach Team Member"

    Apr 21, 2016 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. A chance to learn about interesting political issues 2. Pay is not bad compared to other work at home jobs 3. The fact that shifts are FLEXIBLE so you can adjust your schedule when things happen 4. They pay EVERY WEEK on time with direct deposit. 5. The job is really simple and is great for Part Time Work

    Cons

    There is constant change on campaigns so you have to be ready for anything. Some programs last a few days and some a few weeks. In the beginning you usually start with an easy campaign then progress to more as they need you. Also metrics are a little unrealistic and don't take into account hangups which are frequent,no answers, answering machines, and other barriers that don't tell the whole story. Finally work is not steady so there will be times where projects allow for lots of hours and times where it won't so you can't use this a main source of income.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Not for the shy or those with short attention spans...

    Jun 21, 2017 - Outreach Specialist in Montauk Beach, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home, make your own schedule, paid once a week and on time, the team leads are open to feedback and an opportunity to challenge yourself and meet new people. I have learned about a lot of new legislation before it's made into law and had some really enlightening conversations with advocates as well. Some campaigns offer bonuses, which means you can make more than $15 an hour. You have to have fun with this job and the people to be successful.

    Cons

    It can become tedious going through the motions, but with anything it is what you make of it. There can be down time with no work, but for the most part if you do a good job they will work you as much as possible.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Contractor

    Writer

    Jan 10, 2016 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very interesting topics, if you are a policy wonk. You will be a fly on the wall who hears what people across the country think about current issues. Pays on time.

    Cons

    Do I still work here? Does the company still exist? I'm not really sure! I worked on a few different projects for them. As others have noted, projects may end with very little warning -- this is because they depend on flaky legislatures (both state and fed). But, when will a new project begin? I have no idea. I think it's been 2 years since I last did work for them. Every so often I email to see what's up, and they respond with "no work at this time." Hmm.. So, not too consistent.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Good for Side Money, but Projects Can End Without Notice

    Mar 29, 2018 - Grassroots Outreach Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I signed up to be a transcriber/grassroots outreach writer during my last year of college to make a little extra money for bills, groceries, textbooks, social life, etc. The money was decent and I was always paid on time. It was interesting to listen in to people's opinions about various political issues, whether I agreed with them or not. As a journalism student, this job also helped me refine my transcribing and writing skills. I was also able to choose my own hours and work on my own time from home or while visiting family.

    Cons

    The work could be tedious at times. The major con was that I was told via email that the campaign I was working on was over and that I wouldn't have any work until further notice. So that was that. I checked in via email a few years later and asked if there were any open projects or campaigns, and I was told NextWave stopped contracting people in my state! Some kind of notice or heads up about that would have been appreciated. If you're looking for steady work, this isn't going to cut it.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Grassroots Organizer/Independent Contractor

    Feb 24, 2015 - IndependentGrassroots Interviewing Team 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very professional. Ease and flexibility of choosing work schedules are very rewarding -- make timely schedule changes without penalty is a plus. Autonomous environment. Great salary for a WAH. Interesting campaign topics.

    Cons

    Sour-of-the moment notices of ending campaign projects is a demotivating factor. Performance and process gaps exist. Held accountable for uncontrollable performance tasks, i.e. hangups, answering machines, wrong numbers added to performance metrics. Not making best use of dialer application which offers effective programming steps for filtering target calls to enhance performance.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Freelancer

    Get paid to help make a difference

    Nov 6, 2017 - Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay a great rate for this type of work! As a writer on the GO team, you are helping people to participate in the political and governmental process, which is wonderful. After the interview and training, all communication is conducted via email.

    Cons

    This job is project-based, so while the hourly rate is good, there may be very few chances to actually pick up shifts. For example, it was nearly 2 months before any work was available after I was hired and it has been almost a month since that project ended. This is definitely not a job that you are going to be able to support yourself and your family with.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Nextwave Advocacy Response

    HR Manager

    Thank you for the feedback! You are correct this type of contract work is not geared towards being a primary source of income. Could you please share which manuals you would like to see updated? We would like to review them and see what changes can be made in light of your comment. Thanks!

  11. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Difficult to work with

    Apr 1, 2016 - Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay weekly and on time, which is really nice.

    Cons

    No notice from them for months then it is 'hurry up we have to get thousands of letters done within a week.' Campaigns end with zero notice. They let go of people on a whim...so they are constantly hiring and training new people. For writers they hire editors who don't even understand the campaign so writers who have been there for a long time get slammed for issues that they have correct but that the editor has wrong. I assume I am no longer working there. I was never told...just not called back after working there for a year...even though all of my feedback was stellar...and my letter writing times were well under the expectation. Good and fast writer yet not called back?? Since they are still hiring, I assume there is still work to be had. All in all, a very frustrating experience.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews
</>Embed

Nextwave Advocacy Reviews FAQs

Nextwave Advocacy has an overall rating of 2.6 out of 5, based on over 31 reviews left anonymously by employees. 50% of employees would recommend working at Nextwave Advocacy to a friend and 43% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Nextwave Advocacy employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Nextwave Advocacy. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

50% of Nextwave Advocacy employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Nextwave Advocacy 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.5 for culture and values and 1.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Nextwave Advocacy to be benefits, coworkers, compensation and the cons to be management, culture, career development.

Work at Nextwave Advocacy? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Writer(4)
  • Outreach Specialist(2)

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Nextwave Advocacy Job Seekers Also Viewed

Liveops Logo
Liveops

3.3

1,118 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 31 Nextwave Advocacy reviews submitted anonymously by Nextwave Advocacy employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Nextwave Advocacy is right for you.