Niagara Bottling "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Niagara Bottling Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Niagara Bottling President & CEO     Andy Peykoff II
Andy Peykoff II
195 Ratings
Pros
  • "Niagara encourages a fast-paced work environment and continuous improvement(in 34 reviews)

  • "The company is growing quickly and all are afforded the autonomy to make crucial decisions(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some PDP's believe the work-life balance could use some improvements(in 27 reviews)

  • "Long hours standing on your feet(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Compliance Administrative Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Administrative Associate in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall great place to work, friendly people and growing company. You gain a lot of knowledge from this company because it has so many departments. Niagara has great benefits for 401K, Dental, health, long term dis. and vision. They also offer side benefits like health GAP and a pet health discount card.

    Cons

    Long hours during the busy season and no employee college reimbursement program.

    Advice to Management

    Better training plan for new hires, when I was hired I needed more training that I had to ask for. It was taken care of but I think it shouldn't need to be requested.

    Niagara Bottling2015-04-21
  2. "Good experience for business majors or those uncertain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Development Program in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PDP allows you to experience many different aspects and departments of the business. The monthly meetings and group work is helpful in establishing connections. Those outgoing and looking for experience in many areas will succeed. The company is youthful and growing fast.

    Cons

    There are many growing pains because of the company expansion. Parking, conference rooms, and amenities (free food/provided Niagara drinks) run out fast and it can feel competitive trying to get to work. Many departments expect long hours of their employees. Some PDPs even have to be on their computers and working during the weekend. Not always the best work/life balance. Many new employees are thrown into the thick... of work because the staff is spread thin, which can be stressful. Benefits are not competitive and lacking. There is a good amount of turnover because of the work output expected of employees

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve benefits and PTO. Support employees through incentives and check in on employees to ensure they are feeling supported.

    Niagara Bottling2019-09-05
  3. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Machine Operator in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job. Ok pay. Three day weekends every other week.

    Cons

    Long hours. Not much room for advancement beyond lead or supervisor.

    Niagara Bottling2019-08-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling full-time

    Pros

    They show employee appreciation with events quarterly. A lot of overtime. Opportunity to win car every year (if no safety issues throughout year)

    Cons

    Long hours standing on your feet. Hard to get quality people with good work ethic which makes your job harder and frustrating

    Advice to Management

    Weed out the employees that do not perform their job efficiently after their probation period is over, to make room for people that actually want to work and do a decent job.

    Niagara Bottling2018-05-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Play along or else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Niagara Bottling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the company, or better yet, my department was flexible with time and allowed you to work from home if needed. the coworkers at my level or lower were great to work with and a joy to support. they run the latest applications and throw money around, so you can get a lot of great skills to get your foot in the door at a better company.

    Cons

    leadership is lacking, and only supportive in theory. the only agenda is to put out fires, and to protect their bonuses. Turnover is high company wide, and is mostly ignored or presented falsely to the top brass. benefits are terrible, and investment into their employees is non existing. top levels are a boys club and team building is a frat drinking contest every time. expected to work long hours as they... prefer to be understaffed. they have no real idea on how things work, and expect you to do it cheap, and to be happy about it. PAYS LOW, even at corporate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    get new management!

    Niagara Bottling2018-04-10
  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling full-time

    Pros

    Rapidly growing and therefore unlimited opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Long hours, ambiguity in roles, favoring loyalty than merit/intellect

    Niagara Bottling2017-05-10
  7. "production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Niagara Bottling

    Pros

    salary/pay benefits safe work conditions

    Cons

    long hours not enough staff

    Niagara Bottling2016-11-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Production/Quality Assurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    QA Technician in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling

    Pros

    fast pace environment with great opportunities for growth and great people to be around!

    Cons

    Work Life Balance can be a challange at times, LONG hours!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on hiring and promoting great talent.

    Niagara Bottling2016-02-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company To work For !!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Operative in Allentown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Niagara Bottling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company if you are sincere and want to grow with the company!!!!!!!!!

    Cons

    Long hours but compensated with time off. wages could be better; Training provided to an operator to do the job really really needs looked at. Not enough training given.

    Advice to Management

    Do Not just make employee sign new rules and policy every few weeks without even thinking if it is even practically possible in such a fast pace environment.....

    Niagara Bottling2015-07-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company! Fast-Paced, Competitive & Courageous!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Manager in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The rate of growth creates opportunities everywhere to advance your career. The company invests in the latest & greatest technologies, and is kicking butt. Upper management have all earned my respect, and I'm excited to follow their lead as the company continues to grow. I look forward to hearing Mr. P speak during the annual updates and am proud to contribute to what he started over 50yrs ago. Happy to be on... Team Niagara!

    Show More

    Cons

    While the company is improving in this area, there is so much growth that it's hard to put effective structure in place for some things that really need them. It's a fast-paced and "get it done" environment that not everyone is successful in. It can be a bit competitive, but I think that just the right amount of that can be a good thing. Not a good fit for people who aren't willing to work long hours or might... have come from a previous employer that had a more generous work/life balance culture. It is a "young" company, full of people dedicated to their job and willing to put a lot of hours in.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stay courageous and continue the family-based culture that we have today. It'd be cool if we could bring our dogs to work too...and wear shorts on Fridays.

    Niagara Bottling2014-08-12
Found 11 reviews