Niagara University Reviews | Glassdoor

Niagara University Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Niagara University CEO James Maher
James Maher
2 Ratings
  1. "Incredible Institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Niagara University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing environment, Amazing people, Great education

    Cons

    Food service isn't the best

    Niagara University2019-04-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Niagara University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are very few pros.

    Cons

    Toxic culture, poor leadership, very low pay.

    Niagara University2019-02-26
  3. "A lot for a little"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campus Safety Officer in Lewiston, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Niagara University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    40+ hours and decent benefits

    Cons

    Mandatory ot and demanding lieutenants

    Niagara University2018-09-17
  4. "Overall Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Niagara University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Niagara is a small, private, liberal arts institution, dedicated to providing students with the most transformative education possible, providing a wide range of real world experiences and experiential learning.

    Cons

    Set in tradition, at times the institution may struggle to form new ideas and to side away from set values and methods done previously.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen and value the voices of both the student, staff, and faculty. The community cares about the best interests of the institution, please continue to listen to those that care.

    Niagara University2018-06-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Disillusioned."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Niagara University for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great faculty colleagues, lovely campus, sweet students, good benefit package for full-time employees. Small class sizes are a plus! Parking is easy.

    Cons

    Stunningly poor senior leadership have led to a lack of morale in all sectors of campus. HR needs to be replaced and school fails to support its most dedicated employees.

    Advice to Management

    Please stop it with mission hypocrisy. As reviews here show, NU pays adjuncts lower than anywhere else in the region, yet claims that its Vincentian mission commits it to social justice. An exploitative environment is made worse, not better, with false rhetoric!

    Niagara University2018-02-09
  6. "Project director - grant initiative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Niagara University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Caring culture and great mission

    Cons

    Opportunities for advancement are limited

    Advice to Management

    Make more effort to acknowledge the efforts and dedication of the employees who live the mission.

    Niagara University2017-11-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Niagara University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful campus, heartfelt mission, kind priests and fellow colleagues.

    Cons

    Uninformed administration that makes rash decisions without considering results and impact on staff, faculty, and students. Very poor communication, high demands on time and effort with low pay and reductions to benefits packages in recent years. Not supportive of upper mobility/growth/development of employees.

    Niagara University2017-12-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Low pay - low morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campus Safety Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Niagara University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful campus, good students. Most employees easy to get along with

    Cons

    Run by uninformed people. Lowest pay in the area compared to highest tuition collected. Recently took time off away from employees to go along with the low pay. Do not care much about the feelings of employees

    Niagara University2017-11-08
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Bad politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Niagara University full-time

    Pros

    Benefits but not much else.

    Cons

    Everything else... don't bother applying.

    Advice to Management

    Remove headuplicate from rear end.

    Niagara University2017-02-03
  10. "Decent Teaching; Low Pay, No Assistance in Getting Full-Time Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Niagara University for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was allowed to select my own textbooks and organize my own syllabus for my courses. There was a planning meeting before classes began where the directors of my program reviewed the assessment procedures, administrative requirements, paperwork, and other classroom rules. I met other part-time teachers during this planning session, and I wasn't flying blind when I started teaching.

    Cons

    The pay for part-time teachers is low. There was no real opportunity for advancement into a full-time teaching position. When I asked my boss (the person who hired me) to write me a letter of recommendation for a full-time teaching application, said boss refused to write me a letter of recommendation based on lack of familiarity with my teaching. (Boss did have my student evaluations but did not perform a personal...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Offer higher pay and better benefits to part-time teachers. Present paths to full-time positions for part-time teachers. Assist part-time teachers with obtaining full-time employment when asked for assistance such as letters of recommendation.

    Niagara University2016-11-06
Found 30 reviews