Nickelodeon "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Nickelodeon Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Mar 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Nickelodeon Interim CEO  Sarah Levy
Sarah Levy
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Full-time employees work a lot so they can often be too busy to chat with(in 7 reviews)

  • "Can work really long hours sometimes(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "EA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nickelodeon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, free snacks, awesome people, cool makers lab, small fitness center, such good perks!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Nickelodeon2020-03-08
  2. "Nickelodeon NY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - 3D Generalist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nickelodeon for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome work environment, that promotes creativity! not overtime culture :)

    Cons

    if you are new there is hard to figurate out the company structure,

    Nickelodeon2019-12-10
  3. "former animator reflecting on the old days at Nickelodeon..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Animator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nickelodeon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Awesome, laid back work environment. Terrific work space.

    Cons

    Job ended when show ended. I would have liked to continue working there. I would have happily moved on to another show.

    Nickelodeon2019-09-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Executive Producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Producer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nickelodeon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work culture Fun work environment

    Cons

    Below average pay for long time staff

    Nickelodeon2018-01-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fun Job but Limited Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nickelodeon full-time

    Pros

    Fun, playful and creative work environment with friendly employees. Great work perks to distract you from the company's unstable conditions. It's great to see your work come to life in real-life and influence people all over the world.

    Cons

    Too traditional and still operating as an old fashion brand. Limited growth and too hierarchical. High turnover.

    Continue reading
    Nickelodeon2017-12-17
  6. "Very happy despite some cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nickelodeon for more than a year

    Pros

    -The friends you make -Animation Guild -Cool parties, gifts and free food -You feel at home quickly -Fun work environment -Can become more stable than a lot of other places -Awesome new building!! -Very little OT, if any -Flexibility to allow you to freelance for other shows if they need help, specially nice if you need more money -Very exciting place to be

    Cons

    -Lower pay than similar studios -You can feel pretty disposable, regardless of how talented everyone says you or your friends are and how much praise and amazing yearly reviews you get. -Everyone is moving to the same building, but the ones who aren't yet always feel left out -Needs more (good) CG shows!! -No animators, there is a lot of work being done overseas, sometimes they won't do a good job and we have to fix it, if not having to trash all of their work and start from scratch -Massive pay gap among artists, some leads and their superiors -I know of certain older people being turned down so they could just hire someone younger and less experienced/cheaper instead.

    Continue reading
    Nickelodeon2017-01-12
  7. "Social Media Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nickelodeon

    Pros

    I have loved everything about interning at Nickelodeon! The work environment is collaborative and my bosses genuinely want to hear about my ideas about projects.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work/life balance is hard, but that's to be expected for a social media job.

    Nickelodeon2016-11-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nickelodeon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment with lots of room for growth. As a production assistant you get to meet everyone on set and learn from each department.

    Cons

    As a production assistant you work long hours, do jobs that suck such as scripts, coffee runs, lunch orders, and lots and lots of runs. Low pay.

    Continue reading
    Nickelodeon2016-05-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nickelodeon full-time

    Pros

    The people you work with for the most part all love the brand and are fun, interesting folks. Low-key work environment. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy. Waiting for approvals (on projects, and on title changes/raises etc) was a long painstaking process always

    Continue reading
    Nickelodeon2016-04-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nickelodeon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nick is a great company. Competitive salary and awesome compensation package. Summer Friday's and numerous networking events. Retail Marketing: Great team and fun work environment. Opportunity to work on major accounts. Great work/life balance

    Cons

    Small team so required to work on several accounts at once - not able to give 100% focus to a specific account.

    Nickelodeon2015-11-09
Found 19 reviews