Nielsen Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Nielsen CEO David Kenny (no image)
David Kenny
299 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long working hours, time is trivial and hard to predict the daily schedule(in 205 reviews)

  • "Employees are encouraged/forced to work beyond working hours(in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work at!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager 

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Relaxing hours, good team members

    Cons

    Slow promotion cycles, little opportunities to none to distinguish yourself

    Nielsen2019-12-01

    Nielsen Response

    December 2, 2019Marketing and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re happy to hear that you’re having a great Nielsen experience so far! Career growth and development are important to us, and we encourage you to share your desired path with your HR Business Partner, if you haven't already.

  2. "Great personal experience"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Use a wide variety of technologies, focus on growth, great managers

    Cons

    Non-colocated teams, large company so hard to make big changes

    Nielsen2020-05-19
  3. "Going through change"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst 

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, friendly environment, Vacation, bonus

    Cons

    Company splitting into two business

    Continue reading
    Nielsen2020-05-14
  4. "Great company culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Highly inclusive company culture, flexible work culture (remote freedom for many teams, flex PTO), a lot growth opportunities

    Cons

    Lower end of salary estimates

    Nielsen2020-05-12
  5. "Stable place to work"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people, variety of work, stable employment

    Cons

    Not innovative, very hierarchical, political

    Nielsen2020-05-17
  6. "Excellent wage & benefits. Too many perks including company car and fuel for personal usage."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Operations Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to earn a robust salary. Too many perks to list them all.

    Cons

    I can't honestly think of any cons.

    Continue reading
    Nielsen2020-05-02
  7. "Good Place to gain analytical experience."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Nielsen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid training for you to be an analyst and be able to zoom in and zoom out to see the full picture at different angle. People you work with are nice and the team has family atmosphere.

    Cons

    Not I can think of.

    Nielsen2020-05-02
  8. "Good place to start a tech career"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Solutions Engineer in New York, NY

    I worked at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    - Great Culture - Classic Tech Office perks - WFH Flexibility

    Cons

    - The compensation is little below the tech industry standard

    Nielsen2020-05-13
  9. "Great People, Interesting Work, Changing Rapidly"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I absolutely loved 90% of my colleagues for the more than a decade I've worked at Nielsen. I was never bored because the work was always interesting.

    Cons

    Staffing shortages & more of an emphasis on sales, less on the fun stuff if you ask me (creative analytics) right now. I think our new CEO David Rawlinson is really good though and people-focused, so I'm hoping this will evolve in a positive direction.

    Nielsen2020-04-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Uncertain future"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Great people Global company Flexible work culture People focused

    Cons

    Too much work (and we can't bring in people to help) Pay freeze Company being split up - lots of uncertainty Share prices down by a lot

    Continue reading
    Nielsen2020-05-05
Found 4631 reviews