Nigel Frank International Reviews | Glassdoor

Nigel Frank International Reviews

Updated November 11, 2018
280 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Nigel Frank International CEO James Lloyd-Townshend
James Lloyd-Townshend
126 Ratings

280 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The career opportunities have been life changing, and the earning potential is exceptional for those willing to put in hard work" (in 38 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for if you are a self motivated person that wants to earn a lot of money" (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "The most successful people work that little bit extra so work-life balance can be difficult" (in 41 reviews)

  • "Long hours with not much opportunity for overtime" (in 77 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nigel Frank International full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    High Commission plans. Good Salary and strong incentives

    Cons

    Long Work Week . aggressive hiring quotas

    Nigel Frank International Response

    Feb 20, 2018 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for the hard work and loyalty to Nigel Frank Recruitment over the last 3 years, we have noted your comments and appreciate your feedback.


  2. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nigel Frank International full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company culture is one of the best things about this company! Leadership is good in the sense that sometimes they have a different point of view on situations and help you see the bigger picture. There's no place I'd rather work coming right out of college as the training and experience doesn't compare to other companies.

    Cons

    The hours can be long, but that's typically what you find in a sales job.

    Nigel Frank International Response

    Nov 16, 2018 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our training so we are glad you found that beneficial. Recruitment can require some long hours, but for those willing to put in the extra effort the... More

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nigel Frank International full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - potential to make a lot of money, depending on your product/territory
    - great culture, young environment
    - they give you alcohol
    - Upper Management was extremely hands-on, which is very unique
    - the training is amazing
    - growing very quickly and potential to move offices

    Cons

    - inexperienced managers who are solely in their position due to headcount
    - they would rather you hit up a lead so much that you ruin the relationship, than not hit up the lead. NFI has ruined many, many relationships with clients
    - politics, politics, politics
    - the discrepancy between contracts and full-time is outrageous and needs to be addressed. Contracts regularly works fewer hours and makes a higher compensation, which is extremely frustrating.
    - hours are long but that's expected as it is a sales job
    - Some of the contracts division targets are the same as perm, which is ridiculous and unfair. Ex. 4 deals for Lunch Club. needs to be lower on perm or much higher for contracts

    Advice to Management

    - figure out the discrepancy between contract and perm because as of now, it's extremely favorable for contracts
    - really know who you're promoting for a manager position

    Nigel Frank International Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your review. We will take your comments on board and use them to resolve these issues in the future. We wish you all the best for the future. Thanks.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "You can work like a dog but still fail immensely - mix of pros and cons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nigel Frank International full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Great training program “bootcamp” with trainers who want you to be successful recruiters

    -Many great people in different positions including TRC’s all the way up to the VP’s. I learned a lot from different colleagues at every level.

    -Monthly First Thursdays are fun with unlimited cocktails, appetizers and a DJ

    -Salesforce CRM is helpful, fast, and cloud-based. This is a widespread platform so training on it is useful in future roles.

    -Decent sales theory approach and a good starting job if you’re interested in sales or recruitment

    -Women in leadership is pretty cool there’s a big push right now with a female COO as well as the new president of the americas.

    -They changed from business professional to business casual which is nice since it’s phone sales

    -The commission really is great if you get the hang of it and “stacking” your deals if you’re working perm is awesome

    -Fun social life with team birthdays, team brunches etc.

    Cons

    -Sales can be miserable and recruitment can be miserable at times; put the two of those together and you can have a really tough time. Do not join unless you are extremely resilient.

    -Micro-managey nature of NFI. KPI’s are important I get it, but you don’t have to have a manager meeting every single morning to discuss everyone’s business in addition to everyone’s business constantly already being displayed on large whiteboards. Additionally, phone times and #of dials are broadcast to the entire organization DAILY. Successful sales organizations have found better balance without treating college graduates like children at a military school.

    -Inappropriate nature of the culture. Misogyny, sexism, and backstabbing all woven within the culture and rarely addressed

    -Our % rates that we charge clients are setting recruiters up for failure from the get-go when we usually negotiate and settle on a 20% fee anyway. We are the worlds most expensive recruitment agency for clients to deal with and this is really glossed over in training.

    -Turnover is pretty ridiculous and the true reasons are not addressed. People get numb to it which is so problematic!

    -Team versus team, teammate versus teammate, contract versus perm. It’s outrageously competitive for small wins which usually hurts business as a whole

    Advice to Management

    Review what really matters. Instead of plowing recruiters with (sometimes unachievable) monetary incentives, work on making the culture less insanely competitive and a safer space (an actual sexual harassment seminar would do NFI some good)

    Pay base pay twice a month- a very easy change

    Be more honest in TRC interviews

    Give employees breaks- let them take a 15 minute break when they please and a 45 minute lunch instead of an hour. People need fresh air sometimes, especially in a high stress environment like agency recruitment.

    Nigel Frank International Response

    Oct 29, 2018 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for review. Without feedback we cannot improve. We have taken your review seriously and will look at how we can improve on these issues in the future. We wish you the best of luck with... More


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nigel Frank International full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent compensation with internal growth upside

    Cons

    Management is inexperienced to say the least. Stay away from this company

    Advice to Management

    good luck

    Nigel Frank International Response

    Jun 20, 2018 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your review, we cannot improve without feedback from our employees. If you would like to suggest some more in depth feedback please do not hesitate to get in touch with me via... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nigel Frank International full-time

    Pros

    Made great friends / happy hours

    Cons

    Micro managed
    Low pay
    Long hours

    Advice to Management

    Set more realistic goals

    Nigel Frank International Response

    Mar 29, 2018 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your feedback, we wish you every success in your future role. We use all feedback to make continuous improvements.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, if you're just starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nigel Frank International full-time

    Pros

    Provides great professional work experience

    Cons

    Low base pay and long hours

    Nigel Frank International Response

    May 18, 2018 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately long hours come with recruitment, but if you are willing to put in the hard work and the hours we have world class incentives to reward you. Thanks for... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "The only good reviews come from Internal Recruiters. If you have a degree, don't waste your time here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nigel Frank International full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    To make up for giving you a low compensation package they will take you out once a month to a bar.

    Cons

    - immature leadership, low compensation package, terrible work-life balance

    Nigel Frank International Response

    May 18, 2018 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with Nigel Frank International. We wish you the best of luck for the future.


  9. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nigel Frank International full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Cool environment for young professionals looking to gain experience.
    The people are great.
    Good incentives

    Cons

    Long hours with not much opportunity for overtime.

    Nigel Frank International Response

    Mar 29, 2018 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your feedback, we wish you every success in your future role.


  10. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nigel Frank International full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment for a first job

    Cons

    The work hours can be very long

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Nigel Frank International Response

    Mar 6, 2018 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to give use feedback. We put a lot of focus into making our work environment is safe, clean and fun, so it means a lot that you’ve enjoyed the work environment during... More


Showing 280 of 284 reviews
Reset Filters