Nike Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Nike Communications Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Nike Communications CEO Nina Kaminer (no image)
Nina Kaminer
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Lifestyle Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nike Communications

    Pros

    The Lifestyle team really listened and catered my internship to meet my goals. They trusted me a lot on projects, and it's honestly something I really liked because of the leadership opportunities I was able to develop. Free coffee and healthy snacks were also a plus. Not to mention it was easy getting along with my team.

    Cons

    The entire company is very clique based in terms of teams. The work does become repetitive, but this is also where the intern has to manage upwards in order to have more 'interesting' roles. It was also kind of difficult getting to know the intern class because there was no program that got us to collaborate with one another.

    Nike Communications2018-11-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "DO NOT APPLY TO WORK AT THIS COMPANY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nike Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great access to cool events and great clientele. Place to fast-track into the PR space. Nothing more to add to add because it was not great.

    Cons

    - The ENTIRE executive team is a bunch of snobs, with terrible personalities. - The President, Nina is very disconnected and she's also VERY dry. - Poor work/life balance I know people see these post and think that people who write these are just bitter former employees but I strongly urge you look at the comments here and get an ear to the street. This company's internal structure is unethical and it is by far one of the worst places I've worked.

    Continue reading
    Nike Communications2019-09-17
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Great clients, poor culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nike Communications full-time

    Pros

    Access to top-tier clients and a beautifully designed office.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is not ideal. You will never leave the office on time, and will be expected to answer emails at all hours of the night/weekend. The company culture is severely lacking - its insanely cliquey, there is no onboarding process whatsoever, and you’ll literally never even be given an overview of what goes on in the company or what clients the agency has outside of your own department. You’ll get emails from the people sitting directly next to you rather than having a conversation. Supervisors are condescending and will give you impossible timelines to complete work.

    Continue reading
    Nike Communications2019-06-20
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Nothing special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nike Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some people are nice, but most are stuck up and think they’re better than everyone else. Other than that, it’s nice that there’s no one looking over your shoulder every second micromanaging you. They trust you to do your work and also like to make sure that you don’t feel overwhelmed and enjoy what you’re doing.

    Cons

    BAD COMPANY CULTURE. It’s extremely hard to meet people since teams generally keep to themselves. The company doesn’t really do anything to get people to interact with one another either. There also seems to be a huge turnover rate at this place.

    Continue reading
    Nike Communications2018-12-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "AAE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nike Communications full-time

    Pros

    Great clients. Very nice office.

    Cons

    Management needs to completely rethink how they train employees. They present unrealistic expectations and provide no means of helping their support staff. Expect to work long hours everyday with no compensation. I would not recommend working here.

    Continue reading
    Nike Communications2018-12-20

    Nike Communications Response

    January 16, 2019Director of Talent

    Hello - I'm sorry to hear that you haven't had a great start to your time with us! I would love the opportunity to hear more about where you feel we're lacking in our on-boarding and support to see what we could to to alleviate your frustration. We are always open to finding new ways to improve the agency. Please feel free to send me an email or pop over and we can discuss further! Cindy Cindy Plotts Director of Talent cplotts@nikecomm.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Made me the publicist I am today"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nike Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I joined Nike Communications as an Account Executive with a few years of experience in events, PR and marketing, specifically to work on a dream client with what turned out to be a dream team. However, I was not prepared for what followed: a crash course in media relations that immediately made clear what I had yet to learn, and then proceeded to teach it to me. At Nike, we're encouraged in our creativity, pushed to do better than we thought we could achieve, celebrated for all of our wins, and guided through our toughest challenges. As a junior employee, I felt like I'd arrived in the Ivy League and wasn't sure I could make it. When I realized I had learned to challenge myself to push beyond the media results I'd thought I could achieve, to think strategically and not tactically, and to settle only for victory, I almost couldn't believe how far I'd come. I credit management with that, along with colleagues who trained me to grow holistically - as a publicist, manager, client service professional, and mentor. Management here challenges everyone to do his or her best, but importantly, doesn't just set goals and expect others to achieve them. My managers - from the President, VP and Account Supervisors who managed me to the SAEs and Account Supervisors I now supervise - work hand in glove with their teams; hone goals; develop writing, pitching, and management skills. In a culture of achievement that prizes success, there's a strong support network that lifts every publicist willing to work hard for personal and professional growth. Contrary to other reviews, I find the President accessible. She has a high standard for quality and performance, but sits among her colleagues and will speak with anyone who approaches her.

    Cons

    Nike Communications is not for everyone. A no-nonsense attitude when it comes to results definitely sets the tone and expectations of employees. However, this also means clarity of personal and professional deliverables, which means everyone should know where he or she stands at any given time. What was once an agency with stricter team delineation has become a collaborative group of publicists sharing cross-team talents, ideas and enthusiasm. While the agency definitely benefits from honing expertise in distinct practice groups, it's encouraging - especially to younger talent - to have more intra-agency cross-pollination, where hybrid teams facilitate exposure to different personalities, work styles and outlooks.

    Continue reading
    Nike Communications2018-07-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Build Media Contacts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nike Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nike is a fast-paced and results driven agency with lots of different teams. You will learn the media landscape here and you'll do it fast. Great place to build connections. Beautiful new downtown office with open layout and lots of different teams. There are summer Fridays, office parties, etc.

    Cons

    There will be late nights and work/life balance can be improved upon. You're always plugged in. Promotions are only based on hitting certain goals instead of overall performance/effort.

    Nike Communications2018-03-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nike Communications full-time

    Pros

    I started as an intern at Nike Communications during my senior year of college, before joining full time. Whether starting as an intern, AAE, AE etc., you can expect to have managers that will invest their time and energy in you. I feel that I have grown so much as a PR professional and team member in my short time here, thanks to my (hilarious) and dedicated coworkers. I’ve had the opportunity to create relationships with media, help develop creative PR initiatives and see activations evolve from planning to execution stages. My position at here has allowed me to work on a number of impressive, innovative accounts, thanks to Nike's respected reputation in the PR industry. After completing numerous internships during my college career, I am so glad to be continuing my work in PR full time here at Nike.

    Cons

    Working in PR, you can expect long nights and challenging clients. Some teams/accounts are more short staffed than others, which results in an overwhelming workload at times.

    Continue reading
    Nike Communications2018-03-20
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Moved Cross Country for Nike Comm and Zero Regrets!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nike Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I made the decision to relocate from the west coast after hearing great things from a former coworker about Nike, and I could not be happier with my decision. Never have I worked with managers who are not only so passionate about what they do, but also determined to nurture the growth of the individuals they lead. I have already learned so much more while at Nike than I did in my previous positions because of the involvement of the expert leaders I get to work with every day. I feel I am able to be challenged to better myself as a communications professional. In addition, my position at Nike has allowed me to make great relationships with top-tier media contacts because of its reputation and the respect the media industry has for the agency. Not only this, but I genuinely enjoy coming to work every day because of my funny, intelligent and driven teammates. Nike is very much a driven, and hardworking agency, but there is no lack of fun throughout the long and at times stressful days. Additional Pros: - The way in which Nike tracks individual accomplishments is very clear, and a major plus when looking at career advancement opportunities. - Nike gives you the opportunity to work on incredibly interesting and exciting projects from industry-leading brands in lifestyle, travel, wine & spirits and more. - Beautiful work space and great location in Financial District

    Cons

    The reality of any job in PR is that there are long hours and challenging client work, but as long as you're driven and looking to challenge yourself it's very much doable. Additional Cons: - No 401k Matching - Benefits offered aren't the best

    Continue reading
    Nike Communications2018-03-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "5 Year Employee, Assistant Account Executive to Account Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nike Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have nothing but positive things to say about my experience. Great people, superb clients, well-rounded learning experience. My team, and especially my managers, were intelligent, driven, experts in PR and our division's specialty, and most of all, made coming to work every day rewarding and exciting. Leaders were hands-on and took the time every day to teach me the in's and out's of the industry and explain the "why" behind each thing we did. They set the foundation for a successful career in PR and taught me a plethora of knowledge. This job gave me incredible opportunities working with a roster of category-leading brands to support and lead top-notch media relations, event production, co-branded partnerships, brand and celebrity spokespeople, and so much more. If you are a hard worker who want a hands-on job that will actually prepare you for a career in PR and leadership of a team, Nike Communications is the place. It is not for the faint of heart. You are challenged every day and need to put the time in, but once you earn management's trust, you are given independence and opportunity to drive clients' business and advance your career. Since leaving due to a move to another city, I have kept my relationships with my team members because they became meaningful and valuable people in my life. Overall, if you are a hard worker and go-getter who doesn't shy away from a challenge and is willing to put in the time to prove yourself, I urge you to consider Nike Communications. There's a reason this agency has such impressive clientele and has been in business for 35 years.

    Cons

    Long hours and demanding clients, but these are what shaped me and taught me how to succeed in whatever situation is thrown my way.

    Continue reading
    Nike Communications2018-02-25
Found 21 reviews