NinjaTrader Reviews | Glassdoor

NinjaTrader Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Raymond Deux
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Extremely Friendly and Fun Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NinjaTrader full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly co-workers, lunches provided daily, all the benefits package type stuff. They do tons of outings that are actually fun, and some form of happy hour nearly every month.

    Cons

    Considerable learning curve. You will want to do at least a little bit of research on their website, and Futures (as in the financial instrument) industry. Don't be discouraged though - I didn't even know what a futures contract was and got hired.

    Advice to Management

    Always try to hire people that seem like they have a lot in common. This is how my team was, and we were practically a family, which made coming to work and doing are jobs enjoyable as opposed to just tolerable. Your bottom line will benefit from this.

    NinjaTrader2019-01-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Platform Engineer in Denver, CO

    I worked at NinjaTrader full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Co-workers with a good environment.

    Cons

    Low pay compared to similar job fields

    NinjaTrader2019-04-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Decent short term job but no long term opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NinjaTrader full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a good job if you're looking for something in between jobs or to add to the resume. You will not be overworked and the job isn't demanding. -the work atmosphere is not stressful and there's no boss breathing down your neck -work hours that hardly change, no overtime -3 months paid training in which you aren't really doing any 'work' -great benefits and pto/work remote policies

    Cons

    After working here a few months you will see that there is no chance of upward movement unless a lot of people quit. Working hard is not recognized nor encouraged. Feels like working at a fast food company, just trying to get to the end of the shift -well below average pay -on the phone most of the day -vacant upper management there based off seniority and not merit. -good coworkers, but they are only there for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I believe this company would be a good place to work if they upped the base salary and kept good employees on rather than hiring 2 cheap people to replace them. Right now it's basically just a pit stop for people on to better things. Upper management doesn't seem to have any drive to improve or change things and is just happy manning the ship. It seems they are developing both a slacker culture and a toxic environment...

    Show More
    NinjaTrader2019-04-23
  4. "Good work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NinjaTrader full-time

    Pros

    Nice office, frozen meals available daily, catering weekly, medical/vision/dental, salary, focus on work/life balance, high end winter get togethers, big summer party, occasional outings, good training, constantly growing company, friendly.

    Cons

    Parking downtown can be expensive (there is a benefit to pay for parking pre-tax), pay doesn't seem as competitive as other similar companies, can get busy/

    NinjaTrader2019-01-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best, not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NinjaTrader full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Laid back atmosphere - Good benefits (401k match, health, vision, dental) - Free lunch 5 days/wk - Straightforward call center job

    Cons

    - Absolutely no chance for advancement as Inside Sales Associate - High turnover, someone is fired or quits literally every other month. When they do fire you they'll call a 'private meeting' and can you in front of everyone in the office - Gets mundane fast doing 60-100 calls/day - Low base salary ~$22k + commission - Bosses play favorites, discourage brokers from asking too many questions and raising concerns about...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise base salary and stop always lowering the commission structure and top talent might stay, but management more interested in lining their pockets

    NinjaTrader2018-12-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Strong associates but disconnected management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NinjaTrader full-time

    Pros

    - Great company benefits - Straight forward job - strong team dynamics - No overtime - Good pay with bonuses

    Cons

    - Very little opportunities to advance - Leadership not interested in team ideas or concerns - Leadership not transparent in decision making - Male centered leadership that overlooks the dedication of strong female leads

    Advice to Management

    You need to have a plan in place for employees who are interested in advancing in your company, especially those who step forward and ASK to be considered for other positions. DO NOT blatantly ignore the requests and concerns of your employees solely because they're young, they know what they're talking about and you will lose top talent if you disregard them.

    NinjaTrader2018-05-10
  7. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NinjaTrader full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some truly amazing people work for this company and the culture is THE best I have ever had the pleasure of working for.

    Cons

    I can't work for the company remotely from California :(

    Advice to Management

    Hire me back, you know I'm worth it :P

    NinjaTrader2017-11-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Former Employee Rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - NinjaScript Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NinjaTrader full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with in the Support and NinjaScript Departments. Weekly lunch was nice. If you want to learn C# or any programming language the NinjaScript team was more than happy to help.

    Cons

    Pay was not the best although I have heard they improved on that. The customers can be hard to deal with but is expected as they have money on the line quite often.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you aren't burning out your employees and keep the culture you used to have.

    NinjaTrader2017-03-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Going downhill..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NinjaTrader

    Pros

    Daily catered lunches in Chicago, Management is friendly (albeit deceptively), a few good people left

    Cons

    Since the acquisition of Mirus Futures, the Chicago office atmosphere has turned toxic. Management seems to only be concerned with numbers and would rather hire inexperienced employees for lower pay than to have to pay more for seasoned staff. Upper management regularly puts up a facade telling staff that nothing is wrong even when everyone is complaining. Regular attempts at bringing some fun into the workspace fail...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We get it. It's a corporation. Stop trying to unify office cultures just because you want to line your pockets though. We all understand there have to be rules, but the power plays are causing an exodus of good people.

    NinjaTrader2016-08-30
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Why So Negative?!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NinjaTrader full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Comprehensive Benefits, including free meals, snacks, good health insurance, company events, compensation for gym membership! - Generous paid time off - Friendly and approachable management - Opportunities for internal growth from entry-level positions - Awesome co-workers and office environment

    Cons

    Like with any group, negativity is contagious. Sadly, I see a lot of negativity from current employees in other reviews - many of which seem to be from the Denver office. In my experience, the Denver office of NinjaTrader has been nothing but fantastic. Also calling this office environment sexist is very dramatic and to be quite honest, baseless.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees as you do now, but keep an eye out for those that may be poisoning the well with their negativity toward their work. Working at NinjaTrader is an opportunity to be on the leading edge of technology for active traders. With a workforce that is largely below the age of 30, this should be considered a huge opportunity for a young person. Some would (and do) even provide customer for free...

    Show More
    NinjaTrader2015-12-03
Found 17 reviews