Nitro Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Nitro CEO Sam Chandler
Sam Chandler
78 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are growing pains and things can change very rapidly, so if you’re not good on constant change I also wouldn’t recommend Nitro to you(in 6 reviews)

  • "The work environment is an open floor plan with everyone (including management) working in a large room with multiple tables(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solving a big challenge for everyday employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nitro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -- Great team and vibe, really enjoy coming into the office daily. The marketing team focuses on results and consistently outperforms our marketing and sales targets -- Leadership is clear on communicating what is expected from the marketing team -- Compassionate and overall great place to work with other departments -- Marketing is considered a key driver for company success

    Cons

    -- Like every company I've worked with, priorities can shift quickly, so you need to adapt quickly to reflect new needs.

    Continue reading
    Nitro2019-12-09
  2. "Couldn't Hire Software Engineers in San Francisco"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nitro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company culture was pretty decent and friendly. People got along, the office was nice, and there were a decent number of team building events.

    Cons

    However, it was very much a sales-focused company: the engineer departments languished without structured leadership. They somehow couldn't manage to hire and retain an engineering department, despite being focused in San Francisco.

    Nitro2020-05-06
  3. "Don’t waste your time - clique culture - toxic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nitro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of food; often wasted

    Cons

    Very clique oriented culture. Either you’re part of the clique and in, or your out. Horrible culture and work environment

    Continue reading
    Nitro2020-03-17
  4. "Great culture, love working here, excited for the future!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nitro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Finally making progress in the Enterprise space (winning some of biggest logos in the world which is pretty cool), even though that shift has not been without its challenges (team changes, figuring out a true value prop that resonates, product dev catching up, etc.) - Amazing team: hard working, smart, fun, friendly, everything you would want in a working environment (IMHO) - Great culture and strong values: despite enduring several bumpy patches, Nitro's culture still shines through, I don't even know how to explain it, there's just something a little bit magical here, but I think it comes down to the people

    Cons

    - Comms could be improved to ensure the whole company is more consistently aligned - Better cross-functional collaboration would help too

    Continue reading
    Nitro2019-11-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "They don't live their core values."

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nitro full-time

    Pros

    Their #2 core value is no B.S. They live the exact opposite of this credo.

    Cons

    Watch your back, and watch yourself if you end up working here. It's an ugly culture that I would not recommend to anyone in business.

    Continue reading
    Nitro2019-06-06
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Sales Structure"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nitro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They had a lot of fun group activities and outings.

    Cons

    Poor employment development and lacking a consistent management with direction

    Continue reading
    Nitro2019-01-08
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Stay Away"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nitro

    Pros

    Free Alcohol, Decent Benefits, Fun People to work with

    Cons

    Nitro does not know what it is and will not be successful until it understands this. Nitro is a low cost alternative to Adobe Acrobat, nothing more. The executive team thinks they are going to change the way the world works with documents, which will never happen. In my tenure at Nitro they lost EVERY SINGLE c-level and mid level manager who worked at the company, they fired top performers for no reason and lied about the success of the company. They had to move offices because they could not afford the one they had and have lost 2/3 of the company's staff. STAY AWAY

    Continue reading
    Nitro2018-07-03
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great company with a unique Aussie culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nitro full-time

    Pros

    Unique culture - High Performance, No BS, Be Good (Aussie Roots) Wonderful people - Love the folks I work with. No bad apples here. Great company outlook - The future is looking even brighter than I first imagined for Nitro

    Cons

    Still figuring some things out which has led to some turnover. We need to get things figured out faster.

    Continue reading
    Nitro2018-03-30
  9. "Good place to start a sales career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nitro full-time

    Pros

    Nimble Flexible Allows/Encourages employee growth Fun but professional people & environment

    Cons

    Too much turnover - loss of institutional/product knowledge

    Nitro2018-02-09
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Do not apply here."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nitro for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like drinking at work then go for it.

    Cons

    Bad management people from Australia promoted and never should have been, COO should have never been in this position and only taken as baggage from a merger. All around not a good place to work and turnover is high!

    Continue reading
    Nitro2017-05-18
Found 96 reviews