Nix Hydra Reviews

Updated Aug 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
37%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Nix Hydra CEO Greg Mills (no image)
Greg Mills
3 Ratings
  1. "Delightful Indie Studio!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Background Artist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nix Hydra for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, Accommodating, Flexible, Remote-friendly, Delightful Art Team

    Cons

    Short contract, small company, would love to work forever

  2. "Great company. Small team looking to grow and make great games. Amazing room for growth and opportunity."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Lead in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nix Hydra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dogs Friendly Passion Lots of fun and the sky is the limit. Lots of room to grow outside of initial role.

    Cons

    Not many games. But that is changing.

    Continue reading

  3. "A Positive Experience with Passionate Employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nix Hydra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees truly believe in the work they do. High quality products made with pride. Fun work environment with friendly people. Dog-Friendly. Lots of room to improve and contribute to different departments. Opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Small company continuing to shape itself

    Nix Hydra Response

    December 4, 2018HR Manager

    We are so happy to hear you are having a great experience working at Nix Hydra! If you ever have any additional feedback you'd like to share please don't hesitate to set up some time with myself and/or our CEO to discuss. We welcome both positive and negative feedback, as we are always looking for opportunities to improve our culture and employee experience!!! Thanks, Lauren HR Manager

  4. Helpful (9)

    "Seriously flawed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nix Hydra full-time

    Pros

    Dogs allowed at the office Really nice group of young creatives. 4 day work week (sort of)

    Cons

    One of the worst work experiences of my life as was treated with total disrespect at every turn. CEO has no idea how to run a company or how to treat hard-working employees. Low pay rationalized by the far-flung hope of selling the company for big bucks. Irrational decisions and confusing processes to achieve the simplest of goals. Seemed like I was always doing things for the CEO on my days off.

    Continue reading

    Nix Hydra Response

    July 24, 2018HR Manager

    I’m so sorry to hear you had such a negative experience during your time with Nix Hydra. Since your time with the Company (I’m assuming you haven’t been with the Company in at least a year since it’s been that long since we had compressed workweeks) we have come a long way in our quest to be better: We have a new CEO that has extensive experience in the gaming industry as well as with managing teams. We are also actively promoting transparency from both management and employees to keep processes clear and to quickly find solutions when problems arise. Compensation has been reviewed and adjusted to market in the circumstances in which it fell short and a positive employee experience has since become a Company priority (where we admit, it should have been all along). While we recognize these changes came too late to give you a better experience, it’s your feedback that helps us to continue to improve, so we greatly appreciate the time you spent to voice your concerns. Lauren HR Manager

  5. Helpful (10)

    "Could have been great but ultimately was the saddest experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nix Hydra full-time

    Pros

    - Aside from the CEO and CCO, the employees are incredible! Everyone is talented and hard working! Interacting with teammates was amazing and rewarding. - Proud of the games we were able to ship. They were unique and fun despite the limitations we had. - Dogs! <3 <3

    Cons

    - Neither the CEO nor the CCO play games, pay for games, or understand them systematically. Team Leads, producers, and the hard working employees are really who made anything happen for NH - The CEO and CCO only trust people outside the company to give them feedback and do not trust the people they hired, even those with decades of experience - The company had a few experienced devs and many entry-level devs. This, in itself, isn’t a problem as the the people that work there were amazing, but it means that a lot of work suited for mid-level devs needed to be done by more senior members in order to meet ridiculous timelines. Any mistakes were a death sentence to the project. Past tense is used as most senior employees were let go. - The CEO and CCO expect blockbuster games in very aggressive timelines. They are unwilling to develop games further or give them adequate soft launches to get their games to a good position. Every game that was launched had very strong bones. They are more interested in raising money from investors over investing in their own games. - Favoritism has steered the teams down the wrong path several times with management insisting the teams develop genres that don’t and never have performed well with the target demographic, all because one employee insisted. Other employees brought this up citing actual data and numbers but were ignored because of said favorite employee had a carte blanche. - Meetings are contentious and management openly allows employees to disrespect others, particularly if the employees' opinions mirror their (management's) own. They claim it’s an open environment, but that attitude really only encourages dominant personalities to speak and others to remain quiet. For those who shy away from confrontation, their voices are never heard. Those who spoke out with opinions other than those that agree with the CCO or CEO were let go. - The CCO and CEO never agree on anything. This led to very confusing guidelines for the teams. It also lowered confidence and morale. The goals for the projects shifted while the teams were doing their best to develop them. - The CCO talks down to her employees regardless of their status or experience. - The pay is well below market which is particularly disappointing for a company with mostly female employees that also claims to love and support women.

    Continue reading

    Nix Hydra Response

    July 24, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback. While we are sorry to hear your time at Nix Hydra was not a positive experience, it’s this sort of insight that helps us to continue to improve our processes. To address some of your main issues: First and foremost, we have new management in place. Specifically, a new CEO and a Head of Production who both have a TON of experience in games and in managing teams. Compensation has been reviewed and adjusted to market in the circumstances in which it fell short, and the Company is enforcing a zero tolerance for disrespect of any kind. Nix Hydra is determined to making our employee experience a positive one. So if you have any other thoughts/concerns/suggestions then feel free to email me: lauren@nixhydragames.com All the best, Lauren

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Company mainly run on emotions"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nix Hydra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Dog Friendly - 3 Day Weekend - Paid Sick and PTO

    Cons

    - Equipment is out dated and refuse to update devices. - Use Personal Software Programs instead of purchasing the Business Version. - CCO/ CEO doesn't not like confrontation. - CCO/ CEO refuse to listen to logical reasoning. - Do not go through the proper channels with Legal Documents. - Expected to fill every skill that applies to the particular department the employee is working. - Servers are always going down. - Few teams, refused to create Databases in order to log in issues. - Do not take constructive criticism well, some take it as a personal attack. - CEO is socially unaware of sensitive topics that are offensive to others. - Mainly focuses on being "Semi-Famous" and making viral games to make millions. - Do not target intended demographics. - CCO/ CEO do not take responsibility of issues occurring and will blame the employees for the failures. - Will blame someone else for their almost illegal management even though they are the ones requesting it. - Very hard to meet with the CEO/ CCO. - CCO/ CEO are always locked in their office with the doors closed. - Forces employees to look like a well oiled machine in front of investors. - Attempt to get projects that teams are unable to complete. - Deadlines are constantly pushed back. - Projects are late or canceled. - Projects that contain a close individual of the CCO will always be prioritize. - Create contests for employees to submit ideas for games, never used them but employees no longer have the rights to their ideas. - Claim to be low on budget but spend money on unnecessary items like furniture to impress clients. - Had 2 Studio managers with years of Game experience but would not allow them to do their job correctly, refused the advice given and blamed them for the teams inability to produce work. - Employees are not all friendly. - Seems like a very high school environment. - Claim to want to create good games in a male dominated industry but do not make anything note worthy . -Demographic is between 18-32 but the games made are for 7-12 years old. - If employee disagrees with a topic or work, they are immediate met with hostile reaction. - Focused on Quantity versus Quality. - Severe Favoritism to a particular employee that is beyond rude and egotistical that also treats the other employees like they are less talented. - No Art Director, due to this an employee will severely criticize (almost offensively) the work of others even though they are not the Director. - Employees are underpaid. - QA was undervalued and dismantled after their efforts to provide accurate testing was met with disdain. - HR was made to take on IT, Legal, Maintenance duties and later question on their lack of structure.

    Continue reading

    Nix Hydra Response

    July 24, 2018HR Manager

    Hi there, I wanted to take a sec and address some of your concerns, as Nix Hydra has changed quite a bit since your time with the Company. While we admit, we still have a ways to go – we are proud of the work we have done and the improvements that are in place. We have a completely new management structure with people who have a lot of experience in the Industry, leading teams, and setting/achieving deadlines. We are currently in the process of updating any outdated equipment and discourage any employee from using personal software. Compensation has been reviewed and adjusted to market in the circumstances in which it fell short and we are doing our very best to foster a friendly, inclusive and respectful work environment. Thank you for your feedback and advice, as it has proven helpful as we continue to improve! Lauren HR Manager

  7. Helpful (8)

    "Not the Feminist Utopia they claim it is..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nix Hydra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Dog-friendly office *Get the experience of 3 jobs in one

    Cons

    *completely inexperienced management - they do not know how to run a company or manage teams or build products *constantly running out of money *more focus on extending the runway for the company than actually creating sustainable value *every employee is consistently asked to do the work of 3-5 people *pay is very far below market *management sells a really beautiful socially aware vision to employees (and customers and investors) but when push comes to shove, they are grossly underpaying a lot of primarily marginalized workers and guilting them into accepting it because of "passion for the mission" *the A/C breaks constantly throughout the hot summer months, and we were frequently working in an office that was 90+ degrees inside. management did nothing about this, because our office manager was on vacation (??)

    Continue reading

    Nix Hydra Response

    July 24, 2018HR Manager

    Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback. While we are sorry to hear your time at Nix Hydra was not a positive experience, it’s this sort of insight that helps us to continue to improve our processes. To address some of your main concerns: First and foremost, we have new management in place. Specifically, a new CEO and a Head of Production who both have a TON of experience in games and in managing teams. Compensation has been reviewed and adjusted to market in the circumstances in which it fell short, and we have since moved offices (where we no longer have to worry about the A/C breaking)! Any other feedback or concerns, you are welcome to email me directly: lauren@nixhydragames.com.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good intentions, bad execution"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nix Hydra full-time

    Pros

    - Overall company mission and intentions are noble - CEO is straightforward, honest, and clearly trying - Inclusive culture, diverse employee base - Dogs permitted in office - Employees are incredibly friendly and talented - Flexibility to contribute work outside of your defined role - Flexible hours and lunch times

    Cons

    - Co-founder/CCO's communication style feels defensively obtuse and esoteric - CEO is absent and retracted in efforts to secure additional finances for company - Games often shelved by CCO just before or immediately after release - Value of games determined by CCO's gut feeling and insufficient data - No growth structure or formalized review process for employees - Little to no recognition for exceptional employees - Finance-motivated red tape for software licenses, building maintenance, etc - Humorously obvious favoritism from CEO and CCO - Lack of mid-level management positions creates development chaos - General lack of structure across most areas of company - Shady or immoral occurrences taint employee's morale - Can feel anarchic, depending on current company goals during any given week - Office location needs lots of TLC

    Continue reading

    Nix Hydra Response

    July 26, 2018HR Manager

    Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback and also your advice to management, I find your review in particular quite helpful. It sounds like we were getting a few things right during your time with Nix Hydra, so I will definitely work on maintaining those strengths you mentioned moving forward. Would like to start by saying our production process is completely different, and is now headed by our Head of Production, who has an impressive amount of experience leading teams in the gaming industry. New management has also addressed the favoritism issue head on: all decision-making is now strictly based on analytics in a defined process. We’ve since moved offices to a better maintained and much more enjoyable office! Last, I’m also personally working on getting a couple mid-management positions to come onboard in the next coming few months. Thanks again for your feedback, and if you ever think of anything else you feel the Company should address, please email me: lauren@nixhydragames.com. Lauren, HR Manager

  9. Helpful (5)

    "1 star now, 4 stars years prior = 2 stars"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nix Hydra full-time

    Pros

    -4 day work week -Dog-friendly office -Amazing coworkers -Creative employees -Inclusive workspace -Unlimited Vacation/sick days -Very casual office -Good work/life balance for some -Great company mission

    Cons

    -Mostly everyone is underpaid -Strayed from company mission -CEO & CCO have no prior experience in games and management -No managers -Senior-experienced employees treated as entry-level -Favoritism -No HR structure - employees often told to figure/talk it out with problematic coworkers rather than following standard HR procedures -Most games were shelved after launching -CCO has a poor vision of creativity and often shot down great ideas/concepts by employees that have a strong academic and professional background with their creative positions -Some employees spread too thin and given roles and tasks that they are not qualified for, not paid enough to do and have no interest in -Micromanaging -No growth

    Continue reading

    Nix Hydra Response

    July 26, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback and your advice to management comment. I found your review to be quite helpful. It sounds like we were getting a few things right during your time with Nix Hydra, so I will work on maintaining those strengths while addressing any issues you brought to our attention that have not already been addressed. First and foremost, I’d like to mention we have new management in place. Specifically, a new CEO and a Head of Production who both have a TON of experience in games and in managing teams. Compensation has been reviewed and adjusted to market in the circumstances in which it fell short and new management has addressed the favoritism issue head on: all decision-making is now strictly based on analytics in a defined process. Feel free to email me with any additional feedback: lauren@nixhydragames.com as we will continue to make necessary improvements! Lauren HR Manager

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Once great, now failing due to management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nix Hydra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule - Paid Vacation/Sick Days - Dog Friendly - Fantastic co-workers who support each other and genuinely want company to succeed. -In its heyday strong culture and idealism as well as a great message - Good work/life balance for some

    Cons

    -No managers other than product leads -Unclear company mission resulting in directionless projects and ideas. Expectations would often change halfway through a project resulting in massive delays and overhauls. - Unrealistic deadlines and success benchmarks. Developers were often expected to release polished and complex products with a deadline anywhere between 6 weeks to 3/5 Months of development. These projects were expected to net the company billions of dollars and result in company becoming "semi-famous". When these games did not meet this expectation after a week of soft launch they were canceled without giving developers a chance to collect data or revise. -Pay is well below industry standard. Several artists,engineers and producers were being paid quality assurance salaries for full time production and development work. -Favoritism resulted in developers being asked to create games that were proven to not be successful, even before development began. Only game eventually allowed to continue production has a member of the management's family in a lead position. - CEO and CCO have no industry experience or experience in managing a company or people. Both admitted that despite running a F2P mobile gaming company neither played mobile games, nor knew how to discuss them . -CCO insisted on making final decisions on game design, art and direction - despite having no experience in any of these fields. This wouldn't be a huge issue, but CCO usually refused to listen to experienced developers advice on projects and design. Design documentation and pitches routinely had to be simplified so that the CCO could understand them at the expense of development time. -CCO on numerous occasions gave inappropriate feedback and became unprofessionally emotional in meetings and during sprint reviews. The CCO also blamed development teams for management's shortcomings and failures, resulting in low morale. -CEO and CCO were often not on the same page about many things in the company which further led to developer confusion about project goals and expectations. -There is no upward mobility, despite there being open positions and applicable employees. Talented employees were often halted from moving forward in company by CCO, but were not given satisfactory reasons or tips for improvement in these situations. -The CEO and CCO often consulted with outside professionals and individuals over the employees they paid to provide advice and expertise. This made many developers feel like they were not trusted by upper management. -Poor financial management resulting in huge losses in funding, poor decision making and lay offs. Management repeatedly told employees they did not have money to grant raises or hire necessary personnel while spending money on new office furniture, parties and unnecessary hires. -Company often cut corners with HR, sometimes resulting in loss of paperwork, failure to remove taxes or health insurance from paychecks and other critical issues.

    Continue reading

    Nix Hydra Response

    July 27, 2018HR Manager

    Hello, To address some of your main concerns: First and foremost, we have new management in place. Specifically, a new CEO and a Head of Production who both have a TON of experience in games and in managing teams. Compensation has been reviewed and adjusted to market in the circumstances in which it fell short and new management has addressed the favoritism issue head on: all decision-making is now strictly based on analytics in a defined process. We do really appreciate your feedback as we keep searching for even more ways in which we can improve! Lauren HR Manager

Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 English Reviews