Nixon Reviews | Glassdoor

Nixon Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Andy Laats
18 Ratings
  1. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Encinitas, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nixon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can bring your dog to work, surf at lunch, stocked kitchen

    Cons

    People can be quite cliquey

    Nixon2018-02-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Walk the talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nixon full-time

    Pros

    Overall good, fun and talented crew. Great location, benefits and brand history.

    Cons

    Lost track of who they are and what made them cool to begin with. Hiring a ton of people “off brand” who didn’t share similar values or get the brand. Only analytics driving. Brand and marketing totally devalued. lots of politics and people talking just to talk.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of talk about being progressive, independent thinkers but upper management really only wants yes people who drink the Koolaid. Pay attention to and support the people doing the work, not just talking the talk.

    Nixon2019-01-16
  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nixon

    Pros

    Learned a lot and got to do a lot towards store management. People are extremely friendly and down to earth!

    Cons

    A little bit disorganized, but this was during a transitional period.

    Nixon2018-10-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Deceptive & Poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Encinitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nixon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    employees: 90% of them are really nice, smart and down to earth location is really close to beach

    Cons

    it is like Game of Thrones very toxic environment if you are at management level they have lost sight of who they are and have lost touch of their consumers no bonus- be lucky not to be part of the biannual layoff (pattern of those past 5 years)

    Advice to Management

    you are a good crew but this place is literally making all of you sick so just leave this dysfunctional place, it's not worth it to put your family second and your health at risk.

    Nixon2018-08-24
  5. "Going, going - gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative/Dealer Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nixon full-time

    Pros

    Location was really nice, I mean it was fantastic walking outside and getting to the beach in a couple of minutes. Lots of free swag was really fun too.

    Cons

    I felt customer service management had heavily micromanaged us to the point where it was difficult to be productive. I also felt that there was a weird bias against women. To make it more uncomfortable, HR did not care at all, or offer any helpful advice. Please think twice before taking a job here. The company is walking on eggshells trying to stay afloat until the next quarter. Nothing there is stable. It's tense...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try being human :)

    Nixon2017-10-16
  6. "Need to be more confident in approach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nixon full-time

    Pros

    Strong Brand + Design Language. Great people. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Lots of recent changes in upper management making it challenging to focus as we're lead in circles.

    Advice to Management

    Build teams around the strong, talented people internally. Acknowledge hard work collectively more often.

    Nixon2017-09-05
  7. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nixon part-time

    Pros

    Taught me how to successfully utilize Microsoft Office, ADP, SalesForce.

    Cons

    I started on Black Friday, the busiest holiday for Nixon so it was overwhelming but also taught me how to handle more inventory.

    Nixon2017-07-06
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nixon full-time

    Pros

    Great Brand, great people and great environment

    Cons

    Too much fun, can be time consuming

    Nixon2016-12-23
  9. "Going downhill..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nixon full-time

    Pros

    Cool people Great health benefits Quarterly allowance to get free product The owners (Chad & Andy) were the best part of the company. (unfortunately Nixon is now run by the new CEO and CFO)

    Cons

    Low pay Most of the best employees have already left or plan on leaving soon. Upper management doesn't fill vacant essential positions, leaving everyone else to absorb the extra workload. My supervisor was let go and I got stuck doing his work on top of my work along with work from my previous position, (all for less than the industry average pay).

    Advice to Management

    Don't implement a company wide "bonus" then set the requirements so high that it can never be achieved. Not only is it insulting, but it demotivates employees when they miss out on bonuses year after year. We know you are all about short term profits now. When you keep losing your best employees, then you are obviously doing something wrong.

    Nixon2016-10-25
  10. "great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nixon

    Pros

    I worked with some talented people who are asked to make great products that connect with people. fun environment, great brand.

    Cons

    not enough direction, not enough support, the new ceo didn't get us. we would bleed for the founders but with changes in the people the initiatives and the business all coming from the ceo, I'm not backing that anymore.

    Advice to Management

    bring back the founders and change the ceo

    Nixon2016-10-21
Found 25 reviews