Nokia Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Nokia Senior Manager Reviews

Updated 21 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Nokia CEO Rajeev Suri
Rajeev Suri
45 Ratings
  1. "Great employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nokia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The technology, the people, the benefits. Had great opportunity to develop my career.

    Cons

    Decision making could have been faster.

    Nokia2019-09-09
  2. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nokia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting products to work on.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, regular layoff cycles

    Advice to Management

    Retain your talent

    Nokia2019-06-03
  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nokia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Worldwide career options

    Cons

    Depending on the team you are assigned, support may be week. Focus is on larger sales and newer technologies.

    Nokia2019-05-10
  4. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Project Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nokia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and salary, Great Technology

    Cons

    Senior Leadership Teams decisions are not well explained causing issues with the employees

    Nokia2018-10-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Every third Thursday is a RIF in North America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nokia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Our CEO and Chairman have a good vision and execute. -Networking products are market leading -Good benefits

    Cons

    Since you are always fearful of a reduction in force, it causes real trust issues between the staff and management. The US has had nonstop RIF’s since 2014 and being a normal company doesn’t appear on the horizon. Competitive salaries only applies to new hires, once you are in - don’t expect any increases. As a manager, I am given no budget to give increases —even to my best employees.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in and trust your employees: -Let employees work remotely at our discretion so we can support early and late night calls -Give us opportunity to learn with industry or academic programs -Let us have in person meetings instead of Webex across 3 time zones every day

    Nokia2018-09-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "My experience has been good with Nokia, although I preferred when the company was Lucent Technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Murray Hill, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nokia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Technical work is challenging; people are great to work with; get to work with teammates in Europe on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Over the past 7 or 8 years there have been a lot of internal reorganizations with some people being placed in groups where they don’t belong. They need to hire some young talent.

    Advice to Management

    Need to improve the yearly performance review program. It seems like it changes each year and the tool that is used is difficult to navigate and enter information

    Nokia2018-05-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nokia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are empowered to make decisions. Opportunity for growth and advancement are ever present. Great opportunity for international business travel and experience.

    Cons

    Not enough talented people at the table. Organizations are under staffed. The business leaders and major decisions are made out of Finland. The US employee staff have less employee benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Create a strong culture of diversity and inclusion. Support women in leadership and promote more women.

    Nokia2018-05-18
  8. "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nokia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, flexibility to work from home

    Cons

    Too much work and not enough staff and also company not going good so always works under possibility of getting laid off.

    Nokia2018-04-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Murray Hill, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nokia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Dynamic Environment; Challenging; Recognize the work-life balance;

    Cons

    Consolidating Industry; Difficult to move internally

    Advice to Management

    Make the ease of movement internally easier;

    Nokia2018-02-20
  10. "Best Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nokia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team Great coach Very nice Cafeteria

    Cons

    Scattered across the globe means lot of travel

    Advice to Management

    Try to meet in person than having all online presence/meetings for the teams.

    Nokia2018-02-12
Found 193 reviews