Nokia Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Nokia Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 250 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Nokia CEO Rajeev Suri
Rajeev Suri
72 Ratings
  1. "Sr Software Engineer / Field Test Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Test/Field Test Engineer in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Nokia

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Management really respected each and every employee. Three weeks vacation time at the start compensation was about the industry average perhaps slightly lower but an employee could recoeve several bonuses.

    Cons

    Compensation was slightly lower than average. Strategy decisions usually made in Finland there seemed to be a huge disconnect between the product offering and American consumers.

    Nokia2016-10-19
  2. "No raise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nokia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have nothing to share

    Cons

    no raise. too many bosses

    Nokia2019-06-10
  3. "Good memory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nokia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and friendly working environment.

    Cons

    Failed to catch up with the mobile trend.

    Nokia2019-04-19
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nokia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Pay and Benefits package

    Cons

    A lot of jobs transitioning to offshore.

    Nokia2019-04-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Job was eliminated after Nokia Alcatel Lucent Merger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nokia for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice office space, good people, work was interesting

    Cons

    No long term strategy in my development team. Toward the end, things seemed completely rudderless

    Nokia2018-09-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Old classic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nokia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of time to do some other non-work related tasks.

    Cons

    Extremely slow product deliveries in 21st century.

    Advice to Management

    empower new gen or else it will be sold

    Nokia2018-06-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nokia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Company, Open and flexible work culture.

    Cons

    - Benfits are below average. - Not much scope for leadership roles.

    Nokia2018-06-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awful place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nokia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are of Finnish origin, you can go places. Design and management discussions are held in Finnish language. Finns are promoted without showing anything for it.

    Cons

    If you are not of Finnish origin, everything is against you.

    Nokia2018-03-07
  9. "integration software engineer technical lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nokia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    vacation, medical insurance, company phone

    Cons

    no salary increase in years

    Advice to Management

    pay the good employee so they don't leave

    Nokia2018-02-02
  10. "Stable Company in Lean Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nokia for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people. I've worked here for many years and have built great relationships. Talented people that work hard. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Layoffs in 2017. Merged 2 floors into 1 and will move in 6 months. Hopefully it stabilizes after that. Limited room for upward mobility.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on keeping the talent on hand.

    Nokia2017-09-27
Found 250 reviews