Nolan Transportation Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Nolan Transportation Group Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 232 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Nolan Transportation Group CEO Harold Baron
Harold Baron
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced work environment, always something to work on(in 30 reviews)

  • "The culture at NTG is similar to a floor on a trading company(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "NTG has a self proclaimed culture of(in 22 reviews)

  • "I was treated differently that other brokers by management(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "A Couple Years Into It W/ The Charleston Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nolan Transportation Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Honestly, I was very skeptical coming into this industry. Originally a marketing major so knew nothing about the company or industry but was eager for a sales position (and money)! Almost 3 years later and I have to say I am very Happy with things panned out. Not to sugar coat, the first couple months are not easy as there are a TON of calls being made but I was open to seeing it was the only way I was going to be successful...

    Show More

    Cons

    Really the company has changed a lot in the 3 years I have been here. There have been some significant changes in the Charleston Office over the last year (Bringing in new leaders and a new GM from other offices) but honestly, its played out to be super positive and has lead to more success for myself and other colleagues around me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on and making this place fun to work!

    Nolan Transportation Group2019-02-13

    Nolan Transportation Group Response

    March 7, 2019Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. The Transportation industry is a 24/7 business and we appreciate your contributions to helping NTG grow!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Learn and grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nolan Transportation Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn and master countless business skills.

    Cons

    It can be repetitive so make sure you challenge yourself everyday. A lot of independence if you do well, not much independence if struggling.

    Nolan Transportation Group2019-07-09
  3. "Track shipments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nolan Transportation Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, Good at training

    Cons

    Very repetitive, interns dont get to look at other branches

    Nolan Transportation Group2019-07-12
  4. "Fast-paced,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nolan Transportation Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, great benefits, internally promote

    Cons

    direct supervisors can be helpful or dismissive

    Advice to Management

    hold team leads accountable for the amount of work they put in

    Nolan Transportation Group2019-07-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "MONEY MOVES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nolan Transportation Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    rewarding commission program - I get back what I put in, managers available, work hard and you get promoted, beer on Friday

    Cons

    requires a lot of time and hard work, can be long hours, growing pains - lots of changes, it's not for everyone but if you're motivated and like to stay busy it's worth it

    Nolan Transportation Group2019-06-26
  6. "Play Hard but Work Much Harder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Broker in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nolan Transportation Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Young and outgoing group. Fun events and the office’s are nice

    Cons

    Working around the clock and more importance placed on making new calls then taking care of current customers

    Nolan Transportation Group2019-07-12
  7. "Stepping stone to somewhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Account Manager 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nolan Transportation Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      fun atmosphere, hiring from within, good amount of PTO up front

      Cons

      Lackluster pay for anyone other than high margin brokers, super stressful, long hours, untrustworthy leadership, bad treatment of operations staff

      Nolan Transportation Group2019-07-10
    • "Company is constantly growing and changing..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Nolan Transportation Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Worked with some great people and was able to learn a lot from them about the industry.

      Cons

      Commission structure is not specified and will not unless you make yourself heard to upper management.

      Nolan Transportation Group2019-06-26
    • "Good not Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Account Executive 

        I worked at Nolan Transportation Group full-time

        Pros

        Flexibility in your book of business

        Cons

        Long nights, working weekends as well

        Nolan Transportation Group2019-06-05
      • Helpful (1)

        "Amazing spot to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nolan Transportation Group full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Continued growth opportunities, high compensation, continuous training and amazing people that you can call family

        Cons

        Cannot think of any! Great spot to be all around

        Nolan Transportation Group2019-05-15
      Found 232 reviews