Noodles & Company "shift managers" Reviews | Glassdoor

Noodles & Company Employee Reviews about "shift managers"

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Noodles & Company Chief Executive Officer   Dave Boennighausen
Dave Boennighausen
206 Ratings
Pros
  • "I also enjoyed the fast paced environment of N & C(in 58 reviews)

  • "Good discounts, good food, clean atmosphere(in 56 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "shift managers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Noodles & Company full-time

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, pay, training, culture, fast paced, you are a "working manager", room for advancement.

    Cons

    Depending on the region, struggled with staffing and did not mesh well with the regional manager. Shift managers were overworked for little pay, and didn't like having to be "stuck" in a station because of staffing issues, customers would suffer.

    Continue reading
    Noodles & Company2019-11-10

    Noodles & Company Response

    November 11, 2019Director of Total Rewards

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Noodles. We regularly monitor reviews like yours so that we can continue to improve and make Noodles a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  2. "Decent kitchen experience, poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Parker, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Noodles & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of free food was nice

    Cons

    shift managers were not super helpful.

    Noodles & Company2019-11-07

    Noodles & Company Response

    November 11, 2019Director of Total Rewards

    We are sorry you had a poor experience working with us. If you have any specific areas we can improve we'd appreciate hearing it.

    Continue reading
  3. "average job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ambassador 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Noodles & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the interview was relaxing and easy

    Cons

    the shift managers were extremely disrespectful and misogynistic

    Noodles & Company2019-08-13

    Noodles & Company Response

    September 4, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Noodles. We regularly monitor reviews like yours so that we can continue to improve and make Noodles a great place to work. Please feel free to elaborate on your concerns by contacting us at askhrquestions@noodles.com, so we can learn more about your feedback as it pertains to this particular location.

    Continue reading
  4. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Noodles & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of hours, friendly co workers , great customers

    Cons

    Management , shift managers

    Continue reading
    Noodles & Company2019-08-30
  5. "One of the worst work experiences i've had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fishers, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Noodles & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays well, will work with your schedule, free food.

    Cons

    From the start, training was incredibly inadiquate and the work was excessively demanding for a new employee. I was one of two people working a prep shift (manager was there but didn't do anything) on my forth day despite only being trained on about a third of the tasks expected of me. Basically, I was doing two peoples' jobs despite barely being trained for one of them. They told me I could access an iPad they had in the back for written instructions of the tasks but often refused to show me themselves. When I came to a task that I couldn't find instructions for on the iPad, I was directed to a sheet at the work station that supposedly told me everything I was supposed to know (it didn't). While there were a handful of shift leaders and employees who were very amicable and helpful, most of the people on the shifts I was working ranged from hostile to downright rude. There were a couple people in particular where everytime I asked them about ANYTHING they copped an attitude with me as if I should already know the answer. While I can't say I was "yelled at" per se, many of the people there displayed impatience with working with a new employee and unreasonable frustration when I couldn't perform tasks they had failed to coherently explain to me. So right off the bat, they were too lazy to train me properly and were making that my problem. Another red flag was a perturbing disregard for employee safety. To their credit, I was told to wear a cut glove when handling a knife and did have an oven mit handy for when I was working the oven. That is about the extent of the safety precautions the took. I was very often preparing and/or storing items in 200°+ and was given little instruction on how to keep from getting burned. The exact words of a shift manager were "you just have to get used to sticking your hands in there". Unacceptable. Other issues were the the food/utinsil storage being very unorganized, a very unsanatary kitechen area, and frequent septic issues. I ultimately ended up quitting with no notice after less than a week which I only do in drastic situations. I would not recommend working here and I will have a hard time giving my money to this location after seeing how they treat their employees/keep their kitchen.

    Continue reading
    Noodles & Company2018-05-26
  6. "Good place for a consitent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Noodles & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent, team members are friendly and fun to work with. Everyone is family, it's hard to let go of.

    Cons

    If you're a shift manager, all the bullcaca work gets dumped on you. Most times your voice isn't heard as much as it should be. Some locations like to gossip. If you pick up a shift at another location, you're gonna have to learn the way THEY close.

    Continue reading
    Noodles & Company2018-04-17
  7. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant General Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Noodles & Company for more than a year

    Pros

    - Employee discount was significant. Living on a budget, you could get a regular plate with a protein for around $3. - Flexible schedule. If you needed a day off for family, school, medical, or personal reasons, you were reasonably accommodated for those days. Just give your managers notice well in advance!

    Cons

    - Workplace atmosphere HEAVILY relied on management attitudes. If you had a GM that wasn't passionate about their job, shift managers and team members will also lack that passion. (I luckily had an awesome manager!) - Low starting pay, tiny pay increases. But hey, it's a restaurant job, so that's not surprising. - One of the requirements is ability to work holidays, but honestly, who chooses to eat at N&C on Valentine's Day or Halloween? Holidays are sloooow.

    Continue reading
    Noodles & Company2017-07-14
  8. "Great overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Noodles & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most management cares about their employees. Competitive pay for hourly team members such as cashier.

    Cons

    Assistants are hourly now. That means that you are part of the labor hours and when then need to cut, you are going to be cut. I think this also puts more stress on the GM. Long hours most days it is 10-12 hours. Could pay the Shift managers more. The work they do for 10 and 11 dollars an hour is ridiculous.

    Continue reading
    Noodles & Company2017-05-31
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Noodles & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people you work with everyday, the experience and knowledge you can gain in cooking and running a business. Food discounts are pretty legit. The facilities guy (John) is fantastic and really making a difference for the stores by ensuring repairs and maintenance get done in a timely matter. The people from the benefits team are also really helpful.

    Cons

    They don't care about their people. You and everyone else is just a number; all they care about is how much money they can make. Not much of a work/life balance if you're in a management position. Expect too much from team members and most shift managers for what they are getting paid.

    Continue reading
    Noodles & Company2016-12-07
  10. "Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Noodles & Company part-time

    Pros

    Great employees, fun work environment, fast paced

    Cons

    Most shifts are less than 8 hours unless you're a shift manager, AGM or GM

    Noodles & Company2016-05-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 30 reviews