Nordion Reviews | Glassdoor

Nordion Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Kevin Brooks
1 Ratings
  1. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordion full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    good work experience and opportunity

    Cons

    no cons that i can think of

    Advice to Management

    na

    Nordion2013-12-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great people but the union is a drawback for young talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Nordion full-time

      Pros

      The people are fantastic - lasting friendships

      Cons

      The Union roles protect “doggers” and don’t reward the hardest workers. When there are cuts, highly qualified employees are bumped to lower levels or right out the door.

      Advice to Management

      Find a way to keep your most qualified individuals despite the union levels.

      Nordion2017-10-21
    • "Caring place to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nordion for more than 2 years

      Pros

      This company is made up of amazing and caring people. They are very nice to work with, thoughtful and always meant well. Compensation is very well (as compared to local living standard). Business model is solid and the executives are very down to earth. They are flexible as well. It also provides opportunities to grow and learn and provides cross-function rotation program. All of these are greatly appreciated.

      Cons

      My personal preference is for places with warmer weather. Ottawa is too cold for me in the winter. Though this job is solid but I longed for something more exciting. Also note that this company was acquired a few years ago. So not sure about current culture etc.

      Nordion2015-02-11
    • "No direction caused company to fail"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - Director Global Marketing Communications in Sunnyvale, CA

      I worked at Nordion full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Good benefits Lots of HR internal employee programs

      Cons

      Too much."big company" bureaucracy Upper management bought the previous company then wanted to change it completely then wondered why the company went downhill

      Advice to Management

      You had to sell the company so I guess you know what you needed to do

      Nordion2012-09-07
    • "QC tech"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Nordion full-time

      Pros

      Pay, benefits and work life balance are second to none. This is due mostly to the fact that my position is unionized.

      Cons

      Company ownership has changed in the last few years and there has been downsizing due to lost products.

      Nordion2018-09-07
    • "Good place to work overall"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Nordion full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great coworkers. Pay is decent. Benefit is pretty good. Having a good manager or a bad manager makes a big difference.

      Cons

      This company used to be top employer. Due to miss management over the years, the company was sold several times. Now owned by a US firm who is less generous to employees. Future looks deem depends on which department you are in. Limited room for advancement despite good performance. Some management prefers to bring people from outside rather than recognizing own employees.

      Nordion2018-04-09
    • "Quality Control Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Quality Control Technician in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nordion full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Very decent pay and benefit, work life balance, nice co workers. Very low turnover.

      Cons

      Super Early Shifts. Hard to move up with low turnover.

      Nordion2017-12-15
    • "Great people, great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Nordion full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Great people - everyone is focused on cooperating and doing their best. Salaries are excellent compared to comparable companies in the area. Easy to advance career within company or move to a new position to stay motivated. Good emphasis on work/life balance. Benefits are excellent.

      Cons

      Company has been sold a few times recently which can be unsettling.

      Nordion2017-02-28
    • "Great place to work, but not without its challenges."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Nordion full-time

      Pros

      -Great co-workers that make up a multidisciplinary team that's able to overcome challenges in some very creative ways.

      Cons

      The last decade or so seems to have no leadership from the very top and that has led to low morale and no real direction for the company it seems.

      Advice to Management

      Figure it out. Pick a direction and go for it. Nothing worse than a being rudderless.

      Nordion2016-10-21
    • "Development"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Development Senior Technician in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Nordion

      Pros

      Nordion is known World Wide for high quality products that meet high specifications to meet customer expectations. Good Salary and Benifits

      Cons

      Highly regulated, tons of paperwork and continuous changes to keep up with customer demands. One of a kind type of work - Nuclear Isotope processing in special facilities

      Advice to Management

      Acknowledge and Reward employees sooner and more often

      Nordion2016-07-20
    Found 27 reviews