Nordstrom Rack "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Nordstrom Rack Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Mar 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom Rack Co-President  Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and good pay for retail(in 99 reviews)

  • "20% employee discount but once a year you get 30% discount(in 66 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Really enjoyed working here during my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    employee discount was decent, since it works on sales breaks are scheduled and pretty long managers were involved and really appreciated your work pay was nice for a part time sales associate job

    Cons

    no cons in my time working here

    Nordstrom Rack2019-04-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Do Not Apply to this Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employee discount for associates

    Cons

    The Corp world do NOT treat employees at store level with any kind of respect. It is ALL about the bottom dollar. They do not believe in any kind of Work/Life Balance unless its their own !!

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2020-03-02
  3. "Good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Experience 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employee discount was good.

    Cons

    They're a lot of extra work to be done for example: reticketing, doing returns for hautelook and having to help customers all at once. Sometimes the work would be too much.

    Nordstrom Rack2019-11-30
  4. "Pay rate lowered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Experience Representative 

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team work, employee discount, and ability to transfer to other locations.

    Cons

    Recent changes in 2019 lowered maximum pay rate to $12.50 from $15 and consolidation of management positions meant less opportunity for promotions. The current pay rate is not enough to live on especially when they cut hours.

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2019-08-23
  5. "Good for part time, bad full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Rover in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -flexible hours (sometimes) -fun coworkers (depends on location) -employee discount -great if you're in college and would like some spending money

    Cons

    -some managers are not trained enough to be managers -poor management, especially for scheduling -if your manager was upset, your flexibility may not be as open

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2019-08-15
  6. "Good job for college unless you want to move up in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory/Merchandising Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good starting pay for retail, friendly co-workers, decent employee discount.

    Cons

    Mostly store specific. The company overall is good.

    Nordstrom Rack2019-05-27
  7. "This store does not espouse the Nordstrom standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Better than many other retailers in the area Employee discount Friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Management is not open to employee ideas; they only listen to people above them Mediocrity is rewarded while exceptional service is frowned upon Policy (i.e., customer holds) are applied inconsistently Employees do not have the tools they need to succeed (i.e., registers and POS keyboards are old and broken with frayed wires, fixtures are taped together, and the POS system is down several times a week) Inventory keeps getting worse and worse; this is now a clearance store because management doesn’t have the skills or will to cater to the area clientele. Gossip

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2019-05-03
  8. "I worked seasonal in Nordstrom rack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associaate 

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They offer 20% off for employee discount

    Cons

    There starting salary is too low

    Nordstrom Rack2019-02-21
  9. "Loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Good base salary and you also get commission. 20% employee discount but once a year you get 30% discount.

    Cons

    I am a petite woman and they put me in the plus sized department which was not good for my sales.

    Nordstrom Rack2019-01-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "avoid! try to get a job at a "full-line" Nordstrom's store if you can, though retail is a fast sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    an employee discount? but don't expect your Rack wages to do much for you bank account or your purchasing power (assuming you don't have another job, which I'm sure they'd contest as a 'conflict of interest')

    Cons

    - the majority of the product is made exclusively for the Rack (let's make that clear) - abusive management styles promoted here (don't just expect to be micromanaged, expect total disrespect. It's frustrating enough dealing with impatient and sometimes aggressive customers, but it's especially hurtful when it's coming from your "team" and the store I worked at was a human resources nightmare). And believe me, HR was stirring the pot. - treating a low wage wage part time position like a full time job (need I say more?) - They will try to get you to resign before you're able to take extended time off. Need a mental health break? Physically ill? Medical emergency? Want to take some vacation time with family? "Oh, hun you've got to resign. If I did it for you, I'd have to do it for everyone else." - if I wasn't trying to finish up my undergrad units, I would've left sooner. I typically left each shift feeling worse than when I'd punched in.

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2019-02-25
Found 66 reviews