Nordstrom Rack "good pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Nordstrom Rack Employee Reviews about "good pay"

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom Rack Co-President  Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and good pay for retail(in 99 reviews)

  • "20% employee discount but once a year you get 30% discount(in 66 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fantastic Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Experience Representative in El Paso, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for the work done. Great management. Opportunity for advancement within the company.

    Cons

    Credit card sale metrics that were difficult to meet in a smaller store.

    Nordstrom Rack2020-03-30
  2. "Not too bad for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Experience 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -good pay -lots of benefits (if you're full time)

    Cons

    -it's retail and your experience will depend on the location.

    Nordstrom Rack2020-02-23
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Yikes - what a disaster!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Experience in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good flexible job while going to school. Excellent discount that sometimes shoots up to 40% for a week. Extra 20% off of clear the rack. Ability to see merchandise when it first comes in or gets returned… And you get the first pick. Some good coworkers that have your back. Closed holidays (including thanksgiving!!!) and closed early on Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve. Good pay and health benefits for retail.

    Cons

    Poorly trained and under qualified managers. Poor planning and execution. Absolutely no training. Not even an orientation. On your first day you were taken to the register and expected to figure it out on your own. It is extremely frustrating to watch the favoritism that happens and the separate teams are in constant conflict.Train employees and managers better. Expectations to push the credit card. Cut hours after the holiday with minimal warning. Shifts leave little room for a work - life balance.

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2020-02-18
  4. "Not what it appears to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack

    Pros

    Somewhat flexible. I have a recurring medical appointment, and they gave me those days off. However, you have to close at least twice a week, which my health doesn’t really permit. It’s a wash, I guess. Good pay, or at least it would be if your hours were actually stable.

    Cons

    The hours fluctuate so much from week to week that it’ll be a struggle to live. I planned on moving out, and I thought this would be good. It would cover rent and maybe water. You will struggle. On my first day, I realized that the glitz and niceties that they preach in their interviews are not really factual. They’re no different than other retailers. You have to wear this annoying earpiece, and the workers talk about random nonsense all day. To be honest, I applied for a stock position, but got hired as a salesperson. That’s killing my anxiety, and I’m new at this.

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2020-03-10
  5. "Good pay, bad support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, solidarity within departments.

    Cons

    Inconsistent work hours, poor planning, poor injury support.

    Nordstrom Rack2020-02-12
  6. "better than most retail jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shoe Sales Associate in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good pay for retail. It was a fun and fast-paced work environment. It was a great job for me to have while going to school because my schedule was able to be very flexible if needed

    Cons

    At times management was questionable.

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2020-01-15
  7. "Good retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay, pretty flexible hours

    Cons

    IT is a very fast paced environment

    Nordstrom Rack2019-11-20
  8. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Service Experience Representative in Bound Brook, NJ

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good discount. good pay rate

    Cons

    managers are unfair and have poor attitudes and stand up for long hours

    Nordstrom Rack2019-11-17
  9. "Okay, depends on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salesperson 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay scale based on experience

    Cons

    The managers can treat you inhumanely, caring more about getting racks out than the human beings working there.

    Nordstrom Rack2019-09-30
  10. "Sounds great, Doesn't meet what is sold to you during training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Good pay, Good Co-workers

    Cons

    Bad and inconsistent schedule, Doesn't listen to scheduling preferences, Loyalty to older employees (could also be a pro if you stay that long), mostly understaffed, long shifts, customers can be pretty demanding or rude, Doesn't value the employee's voice, and so much more.

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2019-09-11
Viewing 1 - 10 of 99 Reviews