Nordstrom "returns" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Nordstrom Employee Reviews about "returns"

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom CEO Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
318 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with the best customer service team(in 684 reviews)

  • "Great company morale employees work as a team to help each other(in 453 reviews)

Cons
  • "Returns that hurt your commission(in 724 reviews)

  • "Long hours other than that good(in 605 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "returns"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment and great merchandise

    Cons

    Commission and returns, pay, n/a

    Advice to Management

    Be more encouraging for growth

    Nordstrom2018-08-22
  2. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount, opportunities for advancement, great clothing allowance for designer specialists, huge commission potential

    Cons

    There is a big culture of complaining, especially when sales people have returns. Some pay periods are tough when a lot of returns happen and paychecks can vary so much.

    Nordstrom2019-11-08
  3. "Perfect for College Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson in Peabody, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with were varied and fun, and the hours were manageable for a young working person. Merchandise in the shoe department was trendy and easy to sell.

    Cons

    Often slow during summer months, and customer returns greatly affect employees for up to two years after a purchase. Many customers in general take advantage of generous return policy and return damaged goods.

    Nordstrom2019-11-05
  4. "Work hard and you will make money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Build relationships with good customers that is the ONLY way you will make money at this job.

    Cons

    RETURNS. You will work hard to have a good sales day only to have half of your sales be returned and the commission taken from you. (You are only paid commission) Also be ready to take returns a lot but not get paid for the time you are standing there doing them. They also make you come in at 9 but the store does not open until 10 and you will not be paid for the time you work during that hour.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure and suck up that is the only way to get ahead. Be wary of working your way up managers have a lot of stress and tend to get fired for no reason at all. Also sales people have the chance to make more money than management if you're willing to work for it.

    Nordstrom2019-11-18
  5. "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great benefits - promoting from within - easy relocation

    Cons

    - store hours/ working on weekends - return policy that customers abuse, customers returns are taken from commission - sales targets - inventory days

    Nordstrom2019-11-02
  6. "Great for College Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time

    Pros

    fun, styling, exposure to higher ups.

    Cons

    tough sales, unlimited returns, lots of hours

    Nordstrom2019-11-08
  7. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Customer Relationships are very valuable

    Cons

    Commission can get messed up with returns

    Nordstrom2019-10-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A Soul-Sucking Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - good money when during the busy season

    Cons

    - Schedule varies wildly, and sucks. I often got stuck closing since I actually paid attention to how the department looked. I was told I would get better shifts as my ranking within the department grew, and I did not - always had the worst shifts despite being in the top 5 sellers. - Commission is taken out of your current paycheck if ANYONE you've sold to EVER returns something. - A very materialistic and... unhealthy environment. Every employee seemed detached from the world and focused only on fashion and how things made them "good people". The constant competition was not friendly, and often resulted in people talking behind others' backs.

    Show More
    Nordstrom2019-10-15
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's commission in woman's shoes it's 10% which is pretty high.

    Cons

    you can get hit with returns up to a year and it's hard to keep making good money

    Nordstrom2019-10-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "doesn't protect employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    has a good company reputation

    Cons

    All sales people work on commission. If customer returns items it comes out of employees paycheck. Nordstrom is great for the consumer and will take anything (and I mean anything) in return. They don't protect their employees from any returns. Customers know the return policy and will wear items then return after event. Or use shoes for fashion shows/ photoshoots then return items.

    Nordstrom2019-10-14
Found 724 reviews