Norfolk Southern Reviews | Glassdoor

Norfolk Southern Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
28%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Norfolk Southern Chairman, President and CEO James A. Squires
James A. Squires
194 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Needs shift in culture and better work life balance(in 76 reviews)

  • "Not to mention, the railroad is contracting, so opportunities are MIA(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Love my job, and we are moving up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conductor in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk Southern full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diverse workload Great and supportive co-workers Management support Great Pay Guaranteed minimum (Extra list) - Non-extra list do not need it. Rotating days off (6 on-call, 2 rest days) Advancement opportunities up the road (short road) I have only been marked up for 5 months at the time of this post. In this short time, I have became the senior conductor on the extra list. Meaning, I am next in line to hold a regular job, with regular hours. I have seen reviews suggesting we have poor management, this is not true. We have a very supportive staff. In my experience, if a Train-master puts out something which is aggravating, it probably came down from over their heads.

    Cons

    Can be odd hours, but once you learn to read the schedule and see who is off. It becomes easier to make plans. You might miss some events from this schedule, but know that is only so long as you are on the extra list, which is not permanent.

    Continue reading
    Norfolk Southern2019-04-06
  2. "Norfolk Southern Internship is Invaluable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk Southern full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -amazing team -meaningful tasks -good salary -great HQ location

    Cons

    -no vacation days for interns

    Continue reading
    Norfolk Southern2019-07-08
  3. "Interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Signal Maintainer in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Norfolk Southern full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay, retirement, insurance, recognition, legacy

    Cons

    Weak unions, business minded, core values questionable.

    Continue reading
    Norfolk Southern2020-02-23
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk Southern full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, relatively good work-life balance

    Cons

    Old, slow, working on being more employee-focused, but not there yet

    Norfolk Southern2020-02-18
  5. "Greedy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signal Maintainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk Southern full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is great, supervisors are knowledgeable and good to work for.

    Cons

    Never knowing where you will be working. I went from Northern Ohio to Southern West Virginia to North Central Virginia all in 4 weeks. The company boasts record profits then furloughed 140 signal maintainers.

    Continue reading
    Norfolk Southern2020-02-14
  6. "Working at the railroad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signal Maintainer in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk Southern full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good time off in construction.

    Cons

    Weak BRS Union weak job security most depts are a revolving door. You will be offered another job in a different dept. Can never relocate because the weak BRS union allows the to cut jobs at will and you get bumped from job to job city to city so you are crazy to relocate for this company

    Continue reading
    Norfolk Southern2020-02-13
  7. "Ct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Norfolk Southern full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, training, work, people, managers

    Cons

    Lifestyle , training pay, away from home business cycles work Managers

    Norfolk Southern2020-02-08
  8. "Times have changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk Southern full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In the beginning the benefits were great. Things have changed now but the benefits are still pretty good

    Cons

    I have no cons it is what it is.

    Continue reading
    Norfolk Southern2020-02-06
  9. "No work/life balance but good pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Train Conductor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk Southern full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay and benefits; work isn't hard

    Cons

    bad management, lack of communication of management to the crews; too many rules that can cause you to lose your job although they say its for safety

    Norfolk Southern2020-01-28
  10. "Great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Aided Drafting Designer in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Norfolk Southern full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent Pay, leadership training, and relocation package available,

    Cons

    Job uncertainty, due to downsizing.

    Norfolk Southern2020-01-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 808 reviews