Nortel Networks Reviews | Glassdoor

Nortel Networks Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 583 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Nortel Networks CEO Chris Ricaurte
Chris Ricaurte
131 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Towards the end, once the word bankruptcy was whispered, the constant threat of layoffs tainted most conversations(in 43 reviews)

  • "Poor decisions at Senior Management level(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Nortel Networks

      Pros

      NORTEL was an excellent company!

      Cons

      Top management drove the company in the ground!

      Nortel Networks2019-02-05
    • "Competitive pay, good management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Ar Representative in Research Triangle Park, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Nortel Networks full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great place to work, good management, good team work. good pay

      Cons

      Laid off lots of employees

      Nortel Networks2019-03-24
    • "Good Benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Nortel Networks full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good benefits, Flexible Work Hours, friendly managers

      Cons

      Company went bankrupt No longer in business

      Nortel Networks2018-08-13
    • "Defunct, bad accounting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Nortel Networks full-time

      Pros

      Great benefits, good projects, good co workers

      Cons

      Accounting scandals, bankruptcy, excessive executive pay

      Nortel Networks2018-07-10
    • "Quality Assurance Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - QAE in Richardson, TX
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Nortel Networks full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Greatest place to work, loved every moments that I worked there!

      Cons

      none, no Cons that I can think of, fantastic place to work.

      Advice to Management

      Open in Richardson

      Nortel Networks2018-04-11
    • "Excellent employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Systems Test Engineer in Fremont, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Nortel Networks for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Management were very concerned about employees well being, will facilitate everything possible to make the work environment pleasant and provided breakfast, lunch and dinner at no cost to their employees.

      Cons

      The company closed the division in Fremont and most of the employees were not relocated to any other facilities, even though they did provide a very good severance package.

      Advice to Management

      Good developers are you best assets.

      Nortel Networks2018-03-22
    • "Finance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Research Triangle Park, NC
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Nortel Networks full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Great people and work environment

        Cons

        Management was not held accountable, thus the company's demise

        Advice to Management

        A little late to change things now

        Nortel Networks2018-02-12
      • "Good Expereince"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Lon, MO

        I worked at Nortel Networks full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Easy atmosphere, lots of different opportunities.

        Cons

        Poor training, not much on offer

        Advice to Management

        Get smart

        Nortel Networks2018-01-10
      • "Good while it lasted"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Business Analyst in Richardson, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Nortel Networks full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Working at Nortel was great while it lasted, simply because of the bond that formed between the employees. Regardless of location, everyone got along. I still speak with several ex-collegues on occasion.

        Cons

        Towards the end, once the word bankruptcy was whispered, the constant threat of layoffs tainted most conversations. It became increasingly difficult to think of anything else, but I guess that happens at most companies and is not unique to Nortel.

        Nortel Networks2017-12-06
      • "software developer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Software Developer in Durham, NC
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Nortel Networks full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Genband was a great place to work. Fun, exciting, and interesting work for R&D

        Cons

        Uncertainty due to downturn of legacy telecom.

        Advice to Management

        None. Seem to be doing ok now.

        Nortel Networks2017-12-07
      Found 583 reviews