KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

North Carolina Biotechnology Center

Is this your company?

North Carolina Biotechnology Center

Add a Review

North Carolina Biotechnology Center Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 12 reviews

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
North Carolina Biotechnology Center President and CEO Doug Edgeton (no image)
Doug Edgeton
4 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good mission

    Dec 17, 2020 - Research Analyst in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have a Positive Culture

    Cons

    Subject to State funding fluctuation

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Exciting & impactful work that makes a real difference in your state.

    Sep 17, 2020 - Audiovisual Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had the constant support of my immediate colleagues in the event department and the freedom to accomplish the goals I needed. Before I left, there was a culture created and fostered by our Human Resources which sought to have folks treated fairly as whole humans, not just employees. This mattered a lot to me, to feel seen, and like I was making an impact in my small way.

    Cons

    No place is perfect. My cons are few. I regret that I didn’t have the equipment I needed on time due to internal processes by people who didn’t understand the gravity of the need, and it was made worse by our budget issues which were out of everyone’s control. This worsening and constant equipment failure on a day to day basis eventually led to me feeling overwhelmed, especially when we had events that were mission critical.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    leading development of biotechnology

    Sep 9, 2019 - President & Chief Executive Officer in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Top organization of it's kind

    Cons

    Requires skills in working with academics,industry and government

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    NC Biotech Center- a pleasant place to work with the right boss

    Feb 4, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice work environment- Different units in separate places but easy to interact with colleagues Conference Center hosts relevant events, good networking that employees may attend if registered. Company has library and staff that can provide support to employees The Biotechnology Center serves as a meeting place for the biotechnology community in RTP region; once again good way to stay connected. Nice colleagues Good relationship with local biotechnology companies and the public

    Cons

    Organization has become more top down from a time when it was much more horizontal. In my position I had limited growth potential, as my supervisor had me doing the same tasks each year, despite my requests to learn about different areas/crosstraining. This all depends on who your Vice-President is. The projects I worked on were so specific that it made it very difficult to find a new position upon leaving. I don't think anyone takes the term "transferable skills" very seriously anymore; if you don't have recent direct experience in doing the job you seek, then you better know someone at the company

    1 person found this review helpful

    North Carolina Biotechnology Center Response

    VP, Corporate Communications

    The Biotech Center strives to be well-connected to the state's life science community, and I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the networking opportunities. We are a small organization, and we do have limited paths for promotion. However, I do believe that we should all learn and grow in our jobs. This year, we have begun looking at professional development for our whole team, and we will be giving everyone the opportunity to create their own plan with their team leader. Continuous improvement is important to the Biotech Center, and we think a team that readily learns new things ultimately means better results for North Carolina.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Place, Uncertain Budget

    Sep 19, 2013 - Xxxxxxx Xxxxxx Xxxxxxxx in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people with a mission to bring biotech jobs to North Carolina. As a long-time employee who was laid off, I hope my next opportunity is as fulfilling.

    Cons

    Funding is set by the NC General Assembly. They cut annual funding even though NCBiotech was fulfilling its mission. This lack of vision by our lawmakers have will allow other states to gain an edge on the strong foundation built by NCBiotech. One only needs to look at the growth in the life sciences made by Virginia, Maryland and others to see this.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    North Carolina Biotechnology Center Response

    VP, Corporate Communications

    Yes, 2013 was an extremely difficult year for the Biotech Center. We cut our spending and our staff by about one-fourth. Since then, our funding has stabilized. We realigned our programs and recently implemented a new strategy. Now we're working to develop the best team to move North Carolina's life science community forward. I hope you have the opportunity to grow with us.

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Great place to work. Great people.

    Nov 8, 2013 - Marketing and Communications in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    NCBiotech is a great place to work. As a former employee, I was able to work on a wide variety of projects. The mission of the organization is to bring jobs in the life sciences to North Carolina. All of the staff are motivated to achieve this goal.

    Cons

    Dependent on funding from the NC General Assembly. Needs to be less reliant on state funding in this political environment.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    North Carolina Biotechnology Center Response

    VP, Corporate Communications

    One of the great things about working at the Biotech Center is the breadth of our work, and the opportunity to make an impact on so many different things. Ultimately, we like to think that we are helping to heal, fuel and feed the world, and our goal is for those advancements to come from North Carolina. We continue to work with our many stakeholders, including the state, to deliver on our mission. The external environment does have an effect on our operations, as it does for most companies. Our goal now, in 2017, is to be more transparent about the process with our internal team so that everyone knows what to expect.

  7. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Needs true leaders with the courage to be authentic

    Aug 8, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees who really want to make a difference. Pleasant physical environment.

    Cons

    Every several years, the organization tries to reinvent itself. Unfortunately, it always reverts back to department silos and territorial behavior. Open communication is an empty word. Employees quickly learn that if they challenge the status quo they will be driven out of the organization or at the very least, marginalized until they leave on their own. Many disengage and become resigned that nothing can change.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission to expand an important industry in North Carolina resulting in more robust economic activity, research, innovation and jobs. Good work/life balance for employees and good relationships and camaraderie among employees.

    Cons

    In some departments, not much career growth opportunities.

    1 person found this review helpful

    North Carolina Biotechnology Center Response

    VP Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. The Biotech Center strives to live its mission which is to accelerate life science technology-based economic development through innovation, commercialization, education, and business growth. In doing so, we strive to be well-connected to the state's life science community. We are a small organization , and therefore have limited paths for promotion. However, we believe that we should all learn and grow in our jobs and we are working on professional development opportunities for our whole team. Our goal is to give all employees the opportunity to create their own plan with their team leader. Continuous improvement is essential to the Biotech Center, and we think a team that is growing and evolving means better results for North Carolina.

  9. 5.0
    Current Intern

    Library Intern

    Nov 9, 2017 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive staff that really trusts you. Flexible hours. Variety of project types.

    Cons

    One of the work stations is in a hallway next to a meeting room with a door that doesn't close. Not the best work situation.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee

    New leadership and fresh blood needed badly

    Feb 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You won't be overmanaged. Nice facilities.

    Cons

    Leadership is utterly absent. Programs and people are stuck in 2007. Most of the employees are basically civil service clerks, which makes no sense in the dynamic biotechnology industry. Very low morale. Lazy, idle management counting the days until retirement. No ambition.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    North Carolina Biotechnology Center Response

    VP, Corporate Communications

    Namaste and greetings. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. There are many activities in process related to implementation of the Strategy that we developed last year. Every aspect of the operation is being aligned in support of this new direction and numerous hands across the organization have been involved in creation of this roadmap. In that process many ideas and suggestions are evaluated for their potential to positively impact the Center’s trajectory. As in life, nothing is perfect, nor is every idea a game changer. However, taken as a whole, significant progress has been, or is in the process of being, made in the way the Center supports our team and the growing life science industry. Working at the NC Biotech Center allows each team member opportunities to assist an ever-expanding research community in the enhancement or discovery of new ways to help Heal, Feed and Fuel the world. Success requires dedicated professionals who passionately pursue their work in helping to tackle these significant global challenges. That is why Center leadership is open to constructive feedback and suggestions for improvement related to the work of the Center and its culture. We take such comments seriously and try to incorporate them into our organizational management. At the Center, we are proud of our team of experts in many specific disciplines of science, finance and economic development. We have set a vision to make North Carolina a global life science leader and we trust our talented and creative team to foster a positive work/life experience for each of our team members to see this vision to fruition.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with North Carolina Biotechnology Center Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at North Carolina Biotechnology Center? Share Your Experiences

North Carolina Biotechnology Center logo
or