North Coast Medical Reviews | Glassdoor

North Coast Medical Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Mark Biehl
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed my opportunity with NCM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at North Coast Medical

      Pros

      No micro management and I enjoyed working with NCM personnel. This is well run operation with hardworking employees. Family owned with a deep understanding of their market place.

      Cons

      None. The company is constantly improving the work environment and I always appreciated the effort put forth by the executive team.

      Advice to Management

      Invest in your ecommerce strategy as well as your social media marketing strategy.

      North Coast Medical2018-02-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Company with lots of potential..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at North Coast Medical full-time

      Pros

      Some of my co-workers are cool. Flexible schedule is nice too. Commute is not that bad.

      Cons

      The company is composed of employees who don't have a college degree of any kind, the CEO included. There are some great smart people in this company, too bad the CEO is afraid of them. If he would let his smart, educated employees speak up and bring new ideas to the table the company would be doing so much better, instead he has found a way to either fire them or make them quit. Loss of income is attributed to him....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      What management? No one here is qualified to be a manager. Management title is given based on default seniority when a real educated manager has been fired or quit.

      North Coast Medical2018-09-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Needs new leaders"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gilroy, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at North Coast Medical full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      People are great! Close to home, beats commuting to the city.

      Cons

      No real leaders in the company. Great company to start and get your feet wet but definitely not the place to stay at for a long period of time. CEO has pushed all great employees and managers out. company uses old sales tactics, CEO micromanages, sales reps not allowed to succeed due to countless hours on the phone or chats, needs to focus on revenue rather than calls. Accounts pulled from you so as to not get commission...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Treat the few employees you have let with respect and pay them better. Get rid of managers who are just wasting your money. Take employee appreciation courses, go to school and learn new methods. Accept ideas and change. Quit wasting money on trade shows and invest on teaching sales new ways to approach customers.

      North Coast Medical2018-02-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Coworkers helpful , friendly . Nice place to work at."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Gilroy, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at North Coast Medical full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Friendly people. Vary eager to help one another. Variety of jobs to learn within the warehouse.

      Cons

      Warehouse workers treated like 2nd class citizens. Low pay. Management not to bright. Blind leading the blind.

      Advice to Management

      How about a pay raise once in a while?

      North Coast Medical2017-12-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "OK to Start"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at North Coast Medical full-time

      Pros

      Good to put your foot into the door.

      Cons

      Compensation and benefits are not as competitive.

      North Coast Medical2017-01-10
    • "What to Expect..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gilroy, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at North Coast Medical full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      To start off, NCM is a small private employer, which make its pros and cons non-comparable to larger companies. My interview process occurred quite quickly. I sat on a paneled interview with four managers and was extended an offer within a week span. Of all the previous companies I've worked for, I have never felt so welcomed. Employees are very personable, creating a family-like environment. In my short time...

      Show More

      Cons

      - Benefits and premium costs can be improved upon. Currently, basic options are offered (medical, dental, vision, employer paid life and AD&D, FSA and 401k) - Wages are fair but not necessarily comparable to Silicon Valley, which is expected. - Processes and procedures work a bit different in a small employer setting. Things are not always structured, making it a bit hard at times to settle in, if coming from a structured...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      The management team are great people but some can benefit from additional training, specific to their department/field. Continue with the employee events, we enjoy them!

      North Coast Medical2016-08-23
    • "Potential & Opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Representative 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at North Coast Medical full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      • Opportunity • Location • Flexible hours (in most departments) This company has lots of potential and opportunity. New management leads in Sales and Marketing, are bringing welcome changes. I came in with a goal in mind. While in my entry level position, my manager gave me lots of freedom to take ownership of tasks/projects. Communication with her was great! After lots of persistence, I was promoted. The Sales...

      Show More

      Cons

      Lack of communication & Cliques... If you see coworkers hanging out alone, they’re not loners, they’re wise.

      Advice to Management

      Advice to management, make sure the people you hire are driven and have goals beyond their job. Take time to train employees. Take ownership of your department and how you build your team for the future. The wheels are in motion for proactive management.

      North Coast Medical2016-08-23
    • Helpful (5)

      "It can be fun...wait, no it wasn't."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at North Coast Medical full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great friends and co-workers. That was about it.

      Cons

      The CEO was/is self-centered. He didn't have much say in a lot of the departments. The company is not transparent with what they do. My department went through several changes in management/director because you know, its normal to come in one day and find that your director left all of a sudden.

      Advice to Management

      Be transparent. Connect with your employees more and give them something to look forward to everyday other then dragging feet through the doors.

      North Coast Medical2015-10-16
    • Helpful (2)

      "Marketing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at North Coast Medical full-time

      Pros

      Location is good, opposite commute no traffic. Easy to get management role if friendly with the executive team.

      Cons

      Entire company is composed of inexperienced members. Regardless of what HR claims during interviews turn-around is quick in every department.

      Advice to Management

      Take ownership over actions as management, hire 1 experienced member instead of 5 cheaper alternatives.

      North Coast Medical2015-10-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good for experience, bad for growth or if you want industry standard pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gilroy, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at North Coast Medical full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly faces Spacious cafeteria Stable hours Holiday BBQs and events (CEO is slowly getting rid of this though) Casual dress code (depending on your department) Free coffee and teas all the time

      Cons

      Low pay compared to industry standard Terrible management Gossip atmosphere Not much room for growth Raises are very low and far and few between Reviews are a joke High turnover HR can't do much to help you

      Advice to Management

      Value your employees, reduce turnover, increase company morale, give raises to those that earn it. DON'T PLAY FAVORITES. Increase pay.

      North Coast Medical2014-01-22
    Found 15 reviews