North Georgia College & State University Reviews | Glassdoor

North Georgia College & State University Reviews

Updated Mar 15, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
North Georgia College & State University CEO Bonita Jacobs
Bonita Jacobs
0 Ratings
  1. "Student Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at North Georgia College & State University

    Pros

    really great opportunity for students

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    North Georgia College & State University2017-03-15
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at North Georgia College & State University

    Pros

    Awesome place to work. Great culture and great family.

    Cons

    None really. There is downside anytime you work for the government.

    North Georgia College & State University2016-04-20
  3. "Good Enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at North Georgia College & State University for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, easy work for a student, not a work study

    Cons

    Only 19 hours/week max, barely above minimum wage

    Advice to Management

    NA

    North Georgia College & State University2016-01-21
  4. "Delightful community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at North Georgia College & State University

    Pros

    Wonderful group of people who all are extremely genuine and caring. Everyone wants the best for each other, and work ethic is strong.

    Cons

    Everyone is very similar. I know they see the need for diversity, and they strive for it, but the campus attracts the same kinds of people.

    Advice to Management

    Just continue on in what you're doing! You see the goals, so just continue to strive for them :)

    North Georgia College & State University2015-04-01
  5. "Beautiful campus, modern facilities, polite students, top notch academicians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at North Georgia College & State University

    Pros

    Location, quality of life, collegiality, students are industrious, ROTC program probably helps set the tone. Facilities are modern.

    Cons

    Limited graduate programs but status of school was recently upgraded to "university" so this will change in near future

    North Georgia College & State University2014-09-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Dahlonega, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at North Georgia College & State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collegial faculty, beautiful campus in rural setting.

    Cons

    Low salary.compensation for faculty, still reorganizing in several departments after merger with two-year college.

    North Georgia College & State University2014-05-17
  7. "Recruitment Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Army Officer in Fort Riley, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at North Georgia College & State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very experirenced and professional staff location is fantastic

    Cons

    Rare to work on the weekends but is a posibility, In charge of transportation for potential students and requiring pick up in local metropolitan area

    North Georgia College & State University2013-07-23
  8. "Nice place to work and enjoy life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Dahlonega, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at North Georgia College & State University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    quite, no traffic, nice people, nice community

    Cons

    low pay, not much shopping places

    North Georgia College & State University2012-08-31
  9. "I was a student worker who tutored at this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Dahlonega, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at North Georgia College & State University for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility with class schedules, convenience to go from work to class and from class to work, experience to put on a résumé, relaxed environment, great coworkers.

    Cons

    I wouldn't expect to be paid much as a student worker that is essentially an intern, but the pay was a joke. I did it for other reasons besides the pay, though I suppose having that tiny check was better than nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Try to encourage your student workers to register on LinkedIn. Register on LinkedIn yourself (if you're not on there yet), connect with your student workers, and write them recommendations on LinkedIn. This is easier and better than letters of recommendation, and it will help them build a good foundation for beginning a career. I recommend that you encourage students to connect with each other and write each other recommendations...

    Show More
    North Georgia College & State University2012-08-15
  10. "Land of humdrum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Dahlonega, GA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at North Georgia College & State University

    Pros

    The city of Dalonega is a nice town with nice people. It is surrounded by natural beauty and plenty of hiking trails.

    Cons

    Too much turnover with administrators that caused instability in the workplace. There is an overall lack of enthusiasm by everyone. Pessimism is alive and well on that campus.

    Advice to Management

    North Georgia College & State University should first get rid if its long and clunky name. Which part of the school is the college and where is the university? Help the talent you have grow. Try to make the atmosphere more positive for faculty.

    North Georgia College & State University2010-08-04
Found 11 reviews