North Star Resource Group Reviews | Glassdoor

North Star Resource Group Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
North Star Resource Group Chief Executive Officer Edward G. Deutschlander (no image)
Edward G. Deutschlander
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "All around a great place to work(in 9 reviews)

  • "I very much enjoyed learning about what a career as a financial advisor looks like, and the usefulness of practical personal financial knowledge(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay compared to other internships(in 9 reviews)

  • "Low pay, hard work, late work hours(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Not just a firm, but a family!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Star Resource Group

    Pros

    If you do not want to spend every day at your “home away from home” this is NOT the firm for you. I attended a wedding this weekend celebrating the marriage of 2 of the firms employees. The largest group of individuals attending the celebration were all from North Star! This firm, and the people, really care. I cannot imagine my life without showing up here and serving alongside these amazing people everyday.

    Cons

    Like many firms we are growing - so there can be challenges associated with this but North Star is doing better at adapting and being open to new ideas and technology & marketing needs.

    Continue reading
    North Star Resource Group2020-02-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Firm that values dedication & collaboration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Star Resource Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The firm's committed to growth - both through company expansion as well as Team/Advisor development. The strong culture ensures the right people stay and thrive in their roles.

    Cons

    We're in an industry that will continually evolve - trends, technology, regulations, etc. This isn't specific to our firm, but is an ongoing challenge.

    North Star Resource Group2020-02-07
  3. "Actively looking, Just punching the time clock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at North Star Resource Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company and it's culture is passionate about giving back to the community. They offer employees complimentary snacks 3 days a week, as well as recognition and prizes on a monthly basis. They are transparent about the company's growth, and progress, and offer a nice profit sharing bonus each year if the financials have grown or remain steady. There are a lot of nice people who work here. There is a nice amount of PTO to start with and decent flexibility. The CEO is truly wonderful and has a much more comprehensive view of the "big picture". He shows everyone his appreciation for their efforts, personally. All upper management should be on the same page as Ed Deutschlander.

    Cons

    They are not interested in developing team members to further their career with the company, unless they wish to become a financial advisor. The culture is one of a "Good Old Boys Club", in that there is a lot of behavior and talk not befitting of a progressive, professional, organization by SOME of the upper management and long-time, old-school, financial advisors. They do not promote from within, as most team members are treated as easily replaceable, and kept exactly where they started, until you leave and must be replaced. Non-advisors are devalued regularly by being told they are not important to the organization. The compensation for team members is far below current market value for the same positions within the same cities. Their 6 core values are nice words, but don't apply to everyone.

    Continue reading
    North Star Resource Group2020-01-22

    North Star Resource Group Response

    February 20, 2020North Star Resource Group

    Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to share that North Star has had a number of internal promotions over the last 5 years. Many individuals at North Star have been promoted to new roles, with new responsibilities! We have also added additional management positions allowing for internal growth! North Star is a firm that values and celebrates our team members. We celebrate and highlight individuals through monthly recognition and at our Annual Team Member recognition event held off campus.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Star Resource Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, perks, and bagel Wednesdays!

    Cons

    Team members are located all across the country, tough to connect sometimes.

    North Star Resource Group2020-01-06

    North Star Resource Group Response

    February 3, 2020North Star Resource Group

    Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you find our benefits valuable. We also enjoy our Bagel Wednesdays!

    Continue reading
  5. "Client Relationship Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Minneapolis, MN
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Star Resource Group

    Pros

    Great mission and vision Able to build relationship with your senior advisor Very relax environment

    Cons

    Lack of training for what is needed for the job As a financial company, north star is FAR behind the industry standard when it comes to compensation!!! Awful, worst company ever, minimum wage, over worked and UNDER PAID! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME HERE.

    North Star Resource Group2020-01-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Volunteering with NS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Coordinator in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Star Resource Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I recently accompanied many NS employees to Feed Our Starving Children, a charity that invites volunteers to help package food that goes all over the world. We were compensated for the time off work as well!

    Cons

    While you do receive Volunteer Time Off, you only receive 8 hours/year.

    North Star Resource Group2019-11-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at North Star Resource Group full-time

    Pros

    There’s a lot of room to learn and grow here, and the office space is very nice! Coworkers are great too

    Cons

    The benefit packages could be better

    North Star Resource Group2019-10-11
  8. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Star Resource Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is so Friendly and Caring. North Star is so flexible and accommodating. As long as you get your work done you will not be bother!

    Cons

    Training employees in is something they do need to work on

    Continue reading
    North Star Resource Group2019-10-11
  9. "Love this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Star Resource Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, caring and kind coworkers, everyone helps everyone. Upper management always wants to give recognition no matter how small the task or feat which I think helps encourage any employee. All around a great place to work.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    North Star Resource Group2019-10-08
  10. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Client Service Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Star Resource Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This job has everything that people are looking for in a job. Amazing people, great benefits, and in this environment you can really tell that they care about all their employees and their clients. They also really take their time to train you in exactly what you will be working on.

    Cons

    I haven't found any cons.

    North Star Resource Group2019-10-09
Found 118 reviews