North York General Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

North York General Hospital Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
North York General Hospital CEO Dr. Tim Rutledge
Dr. Tim Rutledge
19 Ratings
  1. "staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RPN in Scarborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North York General Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    respect all. Multicultural environment. Feels belonging

    Cons

    busy environment. Less time to communicate with patients. Busy to complete our tasks

    Advice to Management

    more staff nurses needed

    North York General Hospital2016-02-09
  2. "Community Feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at North York General Hospital

    Pros

    family environment, on subway line, community

    Cons

    politics within the organization, location

    North York General Hospital2016-02-17
  3. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Volunteer in North York, ON

    I have been working at North York General Hospital

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, nice environment, positive staff

    Cons

    I do not see any cons at this time

    North York General Hospital2015-12-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Admin Assitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at North York General Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was able to work and be part of kind smart colleagues. Loved the culture of the health care setting. Great location close to the highway.

    Cons

    Upper management conniving and two faced making you feel unsure about the security of your position at this hospital. Had to pay for parking and Pay into benefits as well - not free.

    Advice to Management

    Need to work with your employees and not be so fake about your feelings and saying you don't have an agenda when you do!

    North York General Hospital2015-11-28
  5. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Finance Administrative Assistant in North York, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at North York General Hospital for less than a year

    Pros

    Have been working with the hospital for 6 months, great hospital, the office I am in, very welcoming and nice office. My manager is awesome - she is very easy to deal with.

    Cons

    They use agencies - but don't want to hire from an agency.

    North York General Hospital2015-11-12
  6. "This is a very important and we'll paid job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Surgeon in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at North York General Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High salary, mid to average vacation days and great experience to save lives.

    Cons

    as a general surgeon you are Always On call, and lots of years of schooling required

    Advice to Management

    Never replace doctors with machines, the job requires a sense of survival that is not programmable

    North York General Hospital2015-10-23
  7. "Working in Environmental Services Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North York General Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good environment and great place to work. You learn new things every day.

    Cons

    The System could be better. Management should appreciate everyone's work not only a selected few who win by talking and actually not working. There is also the ones who are favourites and close with management that get noticed.

    Advice to Management

    Management should trust their employees.

    North York General Hospital2015-09-05
  8. "Pharmacist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North York General Hospital

    Pros

    -advanced technologically -expanded scope of practice -laidback culture

    Cons

    -none noted as of yet

    North York General Hospital2015-08-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Emerg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at North York General Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good learning experience for skills building Fast paced teaching and learning environment Learn to practice in a professional Interdisciplinary team Communication between coworkers

    Cons

    Very cliquey Issues with advancement in the unionized environment. More senior members are prioritized for favourable working conditions while junior members of minorities are overlooked for opportunities for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Needs to listen to all members in a fair and unbiased nature

    North York General Hospital2015-08-29
  10. "job advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North York, ON

    I have been working at North York General Hospital part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Steady pace, no change over 15 years.

    Cons

    Workload does not expand. Cut in hours and benefits. A chock on cut in benefits. It is only a job, I try to do it really well. No room for advancement, period.

    Advice to Management

    Please work hard to get more jobs and update us in trainings. Senior coworkers not too focus on work. Always does private calls during work hours, annoying.But cannot stop her.

    North York General Hospital2015-08-17
Found 48 reviews