NorthShore University HealthSystem Reviews | Glassdoor

NorthShore University HealthSystem Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 385 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
NorthShore University HealthSystem CEO Gerald Gallagher
Gerald Gallagher
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits my manager was the bomb(in 28 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, tuition reimbursement and tda are great options(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay and poor opportunity for growth(in 11 reviews)

  • "Large, bureaucratic, upper management is very out of reach(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "NorthShore University Health System is a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GI Technologist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NorthShore University HealthSystem full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great leadership, work environment and opportunities

    Cons

    sometimes very long hours/on call

    NorthShore University HealthSystem2019-07-13
  2. "Hard work but great tesm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NorthShore University HealthSystem part-time

    Pros

    Nurses are wonderful and treat me with respect.

    Cons

    Administration is not wonderful

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees. They work hard and only hear from you to deliver bad news.

    NorthShore University HealthSystem2019-09-12
  3. "GOOD PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Patient Access Representative 

    I worked at NorthShore University HealthSystem full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and reward system

    Cons

    No fault policy is terrible !

    NorthShore University HealthSystem2019-08-23
  4. "Competitive pay but not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resource RB in Highland Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NorthShore University HealthSystem part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay for resource team

    Cons

    Nurse/patient ratio Benefits/perks Expense of required uniforms

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of staff. When a company is growing and doing very well, your staff should benefit as well.

    NorthShore University HealthSystem2019-08-21
  5. "Read the Fine Print!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NorthShore University HealthSystem full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent sick, vacation and personal time. Excellent training staff. You feel extremely prepared and supported by training and specialists before you start in your role. There are also specialists to help with day to day issues which is amazing!

    Cons

    Schedules... PLEASE BEWARE! Don’t listen to what anyone says about bidding or seniority. Whatever schedule you accept when you come in, you will be stuck working it for a LONG time! Be sure you are comfortable with what you accept. This is NOT clear when you start the position. They frame it as introductory, but it isn’t. It is extremely frustrating to watch people come into the department with a better schedule... after you’ve put in time with the organization. Time off: this policy needs a serious update. You can put in a request 6 months in advance and still not be approved based on a system they use that is outdated and not at all fair. Pay: Reasonable but should definitely be a bit more considering what you have to deal with on a daily basis. A ton of information you have to remember, moody patients, rude coworkers in different locations, etc..

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find a better way to schedule and provide time off. A vacation should be approved if enough notice has been given. Try to understand the job of your employees and how stressful it can be. QA sessions could be more positive. It doesn’t help anyone to always hear how terrible you are. Try pointing out some good once in a while.

    NorthShore University HealthSystem2019-08-13
  6. "Not as good as you think."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Skokie, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NorthShore University HealthSystem full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is alright. The NPs we work with are great.

    Cons

    Probably the worst place I have ever worked at. Some of the doctors are rude and controlling. Some of the doctors and managers are a ignorant and racist. They are very unprofessional and they talk behind employees back and it isn't the employees, its the managers.

    Advice to Management

    Please look into your departments especially in your outpatient immediate care centers. A lot of ignorance is ignored especially from the people are leading it. It is not a diverse company.

    NorthShore University HealthSystem2019-08-30
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Patient Access Representative in Skokie, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at NorthShore University HealthSystem full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay!!! Was off weekends!!!

    Cons

    At will is what I dread!!! My car broke down and had problems with commute so I had to resign but on good terms

    NorthShore University HealthSystem2019-07-18
  8. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Skokie, IL
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NorthShore University HealthSystem full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Diverse Convenient locations

    Cons

    No cons to report at all

    NorthShore University HealthSystem2019-07-26
  9. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - CMA 

    I worked at NorthShore University HealthSystem full-time

    Pros

    lots of open positions slow hiring

    Cons

    still understaffed and they over work employees to compensate

    NorthShore University HealthSystem2019-07-16
  10. "PCT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pct 

    I have been working at NorthShore University HealthSystem part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid pay, flexible, can cancel within 72 hours

    Cons

    Better pay at other places sometimes ive heard

    NorthShore University HealthSystem2019-06-28
Found 385 reviews