NorthStar Anesthesia Reviews | Glassdoor

NorthStar Anesthesia Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
NorthStar Anesthesia CEO Adam Spiegel (no image)
Adam Spiegel
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing ability to stay focused on patient care while still trying to grow and keep costs down(in 5 reviews)

  • "Not many companies have a FUN room or gym in their office which is definitely a plus(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NorthStar Anesthesia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -The managers and coworkers are great. -Great benefits (pto, health, vision and dental) -They have a pretty open door policy and I have a great relationship because of that with my direct supervisors -Everyone is educated and smart

    Cons

    -Better health insurance options.

    NorthStar Anesthesia2020-02-25
  2. "Poor Incompetent Racist Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NorthStar Anesthesia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None because the place is beyond dysfunctional

    Cons

    Management is about the worse that I have ever seen. The workplace is toxic disorganized and racist. It’s a good ol boys club and people of color who do not suck up to their superiors do not make it. They can not even retain managers or they hire managers who have no experience to lead and guide their teams. The whole place is backwards backstabbing and filled with terrible incompetent management.

    Continue reading
    NorthStar Anesthesia2020-04-03
  3. "We asked and they heard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee 

    I have been working at NorthStar Anesthesia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Comp and Benefits - benefits team did a great job with 2020!

    Cons

    Commute and can't carry over PTO or cash out.

    NorthStar Anesthesia2020-02-03
  4. "I'm glad I work for NorthStar Anesthesia."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undisclosed in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NorthStar Anesthesia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company, values it's employees and works toward the common good. Upper management cares about what is going on, listens.

    Cons

    You need to apply the skills you have because you will not have a lot of training.

    Continue reading
    NorthStar Anesthesia2020-02-03
  5. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NorthStar Anesthesia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great PTO, salary and benefits

    Cons

    lack of communication, consistency and openness

    NorthStar Anesthesia2020-01-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Employee in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NorthStar Anesthesia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free alcohol in the "Fun" room so maybe you won't mind all of the Cons.

    Cons

    Management will throw anyone under the bus, even make up lies, before taking responsibility for anything negative. Management will not stand behind you about anything. It's definitely a “good ole boys” club ! The office atmosphere quickly declined with the firing of the right executives and the hiring of the wrong executives. They lay off tons and tons of people every quarter around the time of the Board Meetings. This is a horrible place to work and the benefits are terrible.

    NorthStar Anesthesia2019-10-11
  7. "Excellent company focused on patient care and innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician/Anesthesiologist in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NorthStar Anesthesia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership engaged in improving patient care and innovating in healthcare delivery

    Cons

    Need more profit sharing opportunities

    Continue reading
    NorthStar Anesthesia2019-05-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Boy did they shrink!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NorthStar Anesthesia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a job and I was paid.

    Cons

    No opportunities to move up.

    Continue reading
    NorthStar Anesthesia2019-04-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Do not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NorthStar Anesthesia full-time

    Pros

    None I can think of.

    Cons

    Many. Employee satisfaction and proper work environment is least of their concern. Are cases done on time? Are we making money? These are the things they are interested in. When an employee makes them aware of a problem it will be corrected only if it benefits them. They take over a hospital, initialy some one is there from Northstar to get the department staffed and running ,then nobody comes periodically to see how everything is. You are left at the mercy of the in charge. Good Luck if you are working for NorthStar.

    Continue reading
    NorthStar Anesthesia2019-02-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "RIP (Remote, Infrequent, Pejorative)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anesthesiologist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NorthStar Anesthesia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A very large company with employees across the country in multiple hospital locations.

    Cons

    The company has no permanent employee on site, and fired all but one of our previous administrative staff that helped with billing, compliance, coding, regulation, and computer upkeep. They made management decisions without prior consultation that infuriated our anesthesia and surgical staff, caused vigorous opposition that led to reversal of that decision. Further decisions are being disseminated in the same pejorative manner without regard to all the local doctors and nurses who work together to make the system smooth and efficient. Salaries are inconsistent, among the lowest in the industry, and show no regard for knowledge or experience.

    Continue reading
    NorthStar Anesthesia2018-11-04
Found 58 reviews