KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

NorthStar Memorial Group

Is this your company?

NorthStar Memorial Group

Add a Review

NorthStar Memorial Group Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 of over 133 reviews

3.4
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
NorthStar Memorial Group President and Chief Executive Officer Mark Hamilton (no image)
Mark Hamilton
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "I am proud to say I work for Northstar Memorial Group(in 9 reviews)

  • "NorthStar Memorial Group is a great and growing company to work for(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "My biggest concern working with NorthStar is in relation to finances(in 13 reviews)

  • "Upper Management sees sales staff as replicable, no lasting value(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing Company!

      Nov 8, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working at NorthStar. Great company with the most amazing coworkers. I really can't imagine working anywhere else. I have never worked with so many compassionate and talented people that have become like family to me. Great pay and great benefits, too!

      Cons

      None at this time. Support from management has always been great. Lots of company-provided training and resources, too.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Oct 21, 2021 - Customer Service Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Northstar Memorial Group is a wonderful company. They really do care about the families that they serve and are constantly striving to make the experience of having to make final arrangements for a loved, a better one. Excellent customer service is and always has been they're number one priority and the compassion is evident from the Customer Service Specialists who are the first point of contact for families to the Care Team and Funeral Directors, who are consummate professionals, to an after care program to help families deal with the grieving process. No company is perfect but Northstar is dedicated to being better for the communities they serve.

      Cons

      There should be more opportunity for advancement as a Customer Service Specialist for those who exhibit a passion for what they do and desire to advance in their career.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Don’t walk, run.

      Nov 16, 2021 - Collections Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hours are ok pay was ok

      Cons

      Toxic environment, a lot of bullying went on from upper management, exaggerated micromanaging in that department. Wouldn’t recommend to anyone who is looking for a happy work environment. Turn over is high for the last year and a half.

      1 person found this review helpful

      NorthStar Memorial Group Response

      HR Director

      We're sorry to hear your experience has not been a positive one. I would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you privately and learn more about your experience and research further. Please contact me, Courtney Murphy at (832) 308-2771. Thank you

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to be challenged, learn, and grow

      Aug 16, 2021 - IT Infrastructure Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      family culture, hybrid work, growth and learning opportunities, promotes from within

      Cons

      micromanagement, understaffed, tactical vs strategic, high stress, lack of prioritization

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company for self-starters with a service mindset

      Jul 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      What I like best about working at NorthStar is that the service NorthStar provides to client families really matters and the employees here have a shared sense of purpose. It is a growing company and that provides lots of opportunity to learn new things and grow personally and professionally. Truly great people work here.

      Cons

      Like most mid-sized companies that are growing, you can sometimes feel spread thin. NSMG is a good fit for solution oriented self-starters who will hold themselves accountable for their own results.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing

      Sep 7, 2021 - Commission Specialist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company is very attentive to the employees and the families that we serve.

      Cons

      Can’t say there are any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Funeral director

      Oct 8, 2021 - Funeral Director in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open to new ideas from employees

      Cons

      Pays lower than competitors’ wages and poor support for operations staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A gear foot in the door for those thinking about a career in mortuary care

      Apr 16, 2021 - Staff Associate in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My location's work volume was high enough to require full and part-time associates, which provided a great peak behind the curtains into the funeral business. It was a good exercise in professionalism, people skills, empathy, grace, and organization.

      Cons

      During my last year, corporate was very firm about maintaining our high volume even though we lacked the staff to provide high quality services at that rate. This created a chaotic work environment that was filled more and more with negativity and a general dread to be there. Communication suffered dramatically during this time and there were certain ethical issues with how the deceased were stored.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      NorthStar Memorial Group Response

      HR Director

      Thank you for your feedback. We strive to be a great place to work and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. Please know we have heard your suggestions and will continue to look at ways to improve as well as enhance our training. Please also feel free to reach out to me to discuss specifics. Courtney Murphy 832-308-2771

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Have thick Skin

      Aug 18, 2021 - Family Service Counselor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work with great people and get to help grieving families in their time of need. The pay is pretty good as well.

      Cons

      customer product takes a long time to get delivered and installed. There is a very high turnover rate as well.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great except Corp and who runs it

      Jun 19, 2021 - Mortuary Affairs Specialist in Pinellas Park, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family atmosphere. Great manager Great staff

      Cons

      The corporation as a whole suckkkssss

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      NorthStar Memorial Group Response

      Human Resources Director

      Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We strive to be a top place to work and appreciate your honest feedback. Please contact me to provide more information so that I can understand and research this further. You can reach me at rubianoc@nsmg.com.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 131 Reviews

    Popular Careers with NorthStar Memorial Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at NorthStar Memorial Group? Share Your Experiences

    NorthStar Memorial Group logo
    or