Northern Arizona University Reviews | Glassdoor

Northern Arizona University Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 325 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Northern Arizona University CEO Rita Hartung Cheng
Rita Hartung Cheng
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "In Flagstaff, health insurance, teaching(in 24 reviews)

  • "I have worked for NAU for 5 years(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay in a high cost of living area(in 24 reviews)

  • "If you work on the Maricopa campuses for which you're the only NAU employee on campus, you will be expected to do all of the following:(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "SI Program is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supplemental Instruction Leader in Flagstaff, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Arizona University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, sympathetic management, fun work (if you like the course material!)

    Cons

    None really- though some students can be hard to reach, low pay, but this is a student job.

    Northern Arizona University2019-03-07
  2. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northern Arizona University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good for college student trying to pay bills. Works with your hours, exam schedule, and extracurricular activities.

    Cons

    Can be boring and tedious.

    Northern Arizona University2019-07-18
  3. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - University Supervisor 

    I have been working at Northern Arizona University part-time

    Pros

    Great program, excellent colleagues, pro-education atmosphere

    Cons

    Part-time, lots of driving, lazy students

    Advice to Management

    More consistency in training across programs

    Northern Arizona University2019-06-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Low pay, but otherwise okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Flagstaff, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Arizona University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people, good town. Overall not many issues with the job.

    Cons

    Low pay in a high cost of living area. I had no room to grow in the company.

    Northern Arizona University2019-06-11
  5. "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Project Coordinator 

      I have been working at Northern Arizona University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Morale, community, study body, location

      Cons

      Administration does not appreciate faculty/staff. Very high turnover rate, extreme budget constraints for certain departments, etc. Make it hard to do your job but then reprimand you for not doing enough.

      Northern Arizona University2019-06-25
    • "NAU is non-strategic and declining, but Flagstaff is nice!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Associate Professor in Flagstaff, AZ
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Northern Arizona University full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Students: lots of first-generation, mostly hard-working and high-quality students who deserve and largely get a boost to compete in complex job markets. Flagstaff: nice small city, with true winters and mild summers, trails and woods in easy reach, and major wilderness canyons and peaks not far.

        Cons

        Leadership: rarely visionary or empathetic, decisions are autocratically shoved down people's throats without even candy coating, with short-term constraints seeming to bounce the long-term future for a formerly proud organization -- not a promising trend in an increasingly competitive higher-education industry. Flagstaff: high cost of living, infrastructure not keeping-up with growth, privately run student housing areas...

        Show More
        Northern Arizona University2019-06-19
      • "Great Benefits"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Admissions Counselor 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Northern Arizona University full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        discounted tuition. Amazing boss that allowed me the autonomy to recruit and build the programs on my campus.

        Cons

        Little room for mobility upwards and the pay.

        Northern Arizona University2019-05-30
      • ""

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Analyst 

          I worked at Northern Arizona University full-time

          Pros

          Good experience during my Tim’s

          Cons

          Nothing as to say about my experience

          Northern Arizona University2019-05-24
        • "7000 feet"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Coordinator in Flagstaff, AZ
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Northern Arizona University full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Friendly and very laid back place to work. Family atmosphere. Genuine relationships with peers and supervisors.

          Cons

          Extremely high cost of living. Not much opportunity for advancement because people come here to retire from here.

          Northern Arizona University2019-06-07
        • "Great students, NAU doesn't pay most a living wage"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Instructor/Program Assistant in Flagstaff, AZ
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Northern Arizona University part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          student interaction, support from colleagues. My overall experience was great, my colleagues were dedicated to their students, but I had to turn down a FT offer because of how little the pay would be. Flagstaff is not affordable.

          Cons

          very low pay, high demands

          Advice to Management

          cost of living wages should not be merit based.

          Northern Arizona University2019-06-04
        Found 325 reviews