Northern Business Machines Reviews | Glassdoor

Northern Business Machines Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
William Tracia
8 Ratings
  1. "Excellent B2B Selling Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Business Machines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with NBM as an account representative for almost two years. This was my first career role out of college, and I strongly recommend NBM if you're looking to gain real B2B selling experience. All levels of management want you to be successful, you just have to use the tools and guidance they provide you. I truly enjoyed both the work and the people here.

    Cons

    The cons here are directly related to the amount of work you put in. If you work hard, there won't be any.

    Advice to Management

    Younger sales representatives are technology savvy. I think providing them with newer software, equipment, and sales tools could improve their time management. That way they can get more activities done during the 8-5 hours.

    Northern Business Machines2019-05-24
  2. "Great Family Owned Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Support Representative in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Business Machines part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Management is always open to suggestions, values employee insight and work on developing their strengths.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any at this time.

    Northern Business Machines2019-05-02
  3. "Over two years as an account representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Account Representative in Boston, MA

      I worked at Northern Business Machines full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I worked at NBM for a little over two years. The sales team all got along great and helped each other better their sales tactics. As an account rep you learn how to build and manage your sales pipeline and gain closing experience. Commission structure was fair and vendor compensation was high

      Cons

      Must be willing to make a lot of disls and have a strong ability to hunt new accounts as you manage your pipeline

      Northern Business Machines2019-05-02
    • "Decent workplace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Northern Business Machines full-time

      Pros

      High energy workplace with a fast paced work environment

      Cons

      Pay and Benefits are not the greatest.

      Advice to Management

      Pay better and provide affordable insurance.

      Northern Business Machines2019-01-11
    • "SAVE YOURSELF DO NOT WORK HERE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Service Dispatcher 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Northern Business Machines full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      None! Absolutely none, if I can go back in time and not take the job offer, I would have refused instantly.

      Cons

      Toxic work environment, inappropriate work behavior, and GOD AWFUL managers and superior workers. Save yourself the sanity of such a wretched place.

      Northern Business Machines2019-01-31
    • "Great entry level sales opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Representative in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Northern Business Machines full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great Commission and Incentive programs through company and vendors Entry level sales position gets to work entire sales cycle from the first cold call to the close your are not just calling and handing off leads Young sales environment with experienced managers willing to help with any size deal Both inside and outside sales call

      Cons

      Have to be patient as the sales cycle can very long

      Northern Business Machines2017-09-20
    • "Great Company, Great People"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Northern Business Machines full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great incentives (trips, prizes, technology) from both the company and manufacturers. VP of Sales is a great mentor and accessible for questions and coaching. Hours are flexible (no feeling of being babysat). Good team atmosphere and friendly work environment. Company is well-respected in the industry and amongst customers. Rewards are great if you work hard and perform.

        Cons

        Highly competitive industry in this area

        Northern Business Machines2017-03-09
      • "Mediocre at best"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Bedford, NH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Northern Business Machines full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Freedom to make calls or contact potential customers in a mode of your choosing ... Management just wants you to hit your numbers there's no punching a clock or serious CRM tracking (during my 2-week tenure)

        Cons

        They want you selling on personality only. No product or technical training. No industry background or competitor breakdowns. They will send you into the field leaving you to your own devices. Turn over here must be extremely high. Be aware what you are getting into. Unless you are a season multi-function printer vet this is probably a waste of your time and their money

        Advice to Management

        Hire people who've done outside sales before and know what they're committing to. Expecting people to generate sales while just beginning to fill their funnel? Maybe the rare superstar can do that. Building a book of business takes time. Grinding on your employees won't get you the longterm results you want

        Northern Business Machines2017-03-02
      • Helpful (6)

        "If I could give this company negative stars I would"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Northern Business Machines

        Pros

        Nothing. This company is terrible through and through

        Cons

        Everything. The work environment at NBM is toxic, the upper level management tears down every employee. They cuss at employees (using very inappropriate and offensive verbiage), yell, threaten, call employees names, tell them they mean nothing to them, it's a very verbally abusive atmosphere. I'm surprised they haven't had more law suits for verbal abuse and harassment in the work place. That is when they bother to show...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Learn kindness.

        Northern Business Machines2016-10-07
      • "Good Sales Learning"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Representative in Burlington, MA
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Northern Business Machines full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Training was sink or swim, but managers and VP are very knowledgable sales people. Good Support

        Cons

        Toxic work environment, ownership & top management only cares about profit.

        Northern Business Machines2016-04-29
      Found 12 reviews