Northern Light Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Northern Light Health Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Michelle Hood
20 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Light Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, supportive and dedicated staff,

    Cons

    I only wish I could have worked there longer (we moved).

    Northern Light Health2019-02-07
  2. "No training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Hospitality Associate in Bangor, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Light Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good. Good benefits

    Cons

    Absalutly no training for the job. They throw you in there. They are soo short staffed. They wanted me to do things all by myself after the 2nd day!!! Crazy

    Advice to Management

    Definitely need to train your people!!!

    Northern Light Health2019-07-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of disogranization and confusing priorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Light Health full-time

    Pros

    If you believe in healthcare delivery, Northern Light Health is a place that is doing that.

    Cons

    NLH has been hamfistedly trying to reorganize themselves after acquisitions and their lack of quality leadership shows. Instead of prioritizing systems and workflow integration after hospital acquisitions, they decided to throw in a re-branding project. A lot of time is spent going down the path of a major initiative before that gets halted due to a lack of foresight or know-how.

    Northern Light Health2019-03-26
  4. "Good Boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Northern Light Health part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you had the right boss your job would be fun and enjoyable

    Cons

    Some rollbacks on benefits not preferable

    Northern Light Health2019-02-10
  5. "Drain on Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Systems in Brewer, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Light Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some decent coworkers in the place.

    Cons

    The management is horrible they are not skilled and the senior management is awful. They talk about people in meetings and grandstand about the stuff they claim to be doing that isn’t great, the offices and hospitals under them are in constant distress just visit any location they serve and ask or witness the quality of your visit as the grapple with the dysfunction.

    Advice to Management

    Close. This place is only a drain on the hospitals in their system. The ideas brought forward are horrible. The name change won’t fool anyone.

    Northern Light Health2019-01-30
  6. "Current employee review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brewer, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Light Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Co-workers care about one another. Meaningful work Sustainable work-life balance Growth opportunities

    Cons

    Top heavy in some divisions A lot of change in a very short time

    Advice to Management

    Examine balance of leadership to staff in all divisions Carefully consider amount of change to undertake at one time

    Northern Light Health2018-11-25
  7. "Decent Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Northern Light Health full-time

    Pros

    Promotes within the company Decent Benefits Decent Pay

    Cons

    Highly political environment to work in. Too many projects going on and not enough employees to cover the work.

    Northern Light Health2018-09-26
  8. "emhs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Light Health full-time

    Pros

    multiple locations and room for growth

    Cons

    lots of change and happens fast

    Advice to Management

    more real transparency regarding change

    Northern Light Health2018-09-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northern Light Health full-time

    Pros

    People I worked with were great!

    Cons

    Top heavy with overpaid administration. Corporate environment.

    Advice to Management

    Involve people on front lines who are doing the work before making awful decisions.

    Northern Light Health2018-09-14
  10. "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Ellsworth, ME

    I worked at Northern Light Health part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, great orientation

    Cons

    12 hr. shifts. I prefer 8 hr shifts

    Northern Light Health2018-06-09
Found 39 reviews