KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Northern Light Health

Is this your company?

Northern Light Health

Add a Review

Northern Light Health Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 of over 61 reviews

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Northern Light Health President and CEO Michelle Hood (no image)
Michelle Hood
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and flexible time off(in 3 reviews)

  • "Great co-workers, a willingness for departments to work together at the corporate level, people are more than happy to answer questions(in 2 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Instability company (frequent layoffs), limited work from home privileges, EXPENSIVE health insurance with administrator that makes many(in 3 reviews)

  • "Top heavy with overpaid administration(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Stability

      Jul 17, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Bangor, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like working at such a big company because there are always open opportunities. I like that I could explore other career paths without completely starting over. I feel that the pay range is good here, although I know many who do not agree. However, I know I could not make what I do in my home state down south doing the same job.

      Cons

      While they do prefer to promote from within, that is sometimes taken to the extreme by promoting people who are not really eligible or appropriate for that role rather than keep searching for other applicants.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It was fun, but stressful

      Jun 4, 2021 - Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) in Bangor, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The lunch break was 45 minutes, and the break room was very handy and had great amenities. The staff was like a family, in good and bad ways, and many were super helpful. There were always good experiences and hands-on work to do. Always more to learn.

      Cons

      They were understaffed at the suite I was at, and always too many patients and not enough people to room them. The manager was always changing guidelines from week to week or even daily.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent hospital

      May 24, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Bangor, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I liked the organizational qualities of the EMMC hospital. Northern light has a lot for employees

      Cons

      Short staffing and high patient ratios.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      RN - EMMC

      May 3, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Bangor, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good due to union

      Cons

      Benefits have decreased but are still decent

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Na

      Apr 23, 2021 - Fiscal Analyst in East BluEast Hill, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Local position within a healthcare setting

      Cons

      Not as many opportunities as larger facilities

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible Place to Work, Not a Single Positive Thing to Say About EMMC

      Oct 25, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Bangor, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cafeteria Food is Pretty Good

      Cons

      Benefits are paltry, and expensive. It took HR way over the promised-timeline just to get me enrolled in benefits, I spent multiple times calling them, always was told "we're working on it". Human Resources staff are impossible to reach, as the process of how to contact them means you'll ALWAYS get voicemail, and good luck getting them to call back. Managers are always looking up to make any decision, zero-leadership, and is obviously structured that way purposely. I was lied to by management regarding my employment, they later pulled me into a conference room and told me they were reducing my pay due to their error. The whole time there was like a Twilight Zone experience. Seriously people, there's nothing there for you, this place is so poorly ran, and the culture there is so entrenched in lethargy, paralysis, disregard for staff, inefficiency, and callousness. There's no regard for staff retention. There are so many other facilities in Northern New England that are FAR superior to EMMC on every level. Don't make the mistake I made, pass up on this place!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Still growing

      Sep 2, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good camaraderie among staff of similar licensure and/or task

      Cons

      Admin and management remotely aware of needs of first line practitioners

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Aug 24, 2020 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work environment People caring about the work that they do

      Cons

      Not enough money to upgrade hardware as needed.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Overworked, Very Low Pay, Horrible Management, No Social Distancing During Covid.

      Sep 11, 2020 - Patient Access Coordinator in South Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not a single pro I can think of.

      Cons

      Horrific management, low pay, holiday schedules(Christmas), denied benefits, no social distancing, no opportunities for advancement, inadequate annual raises that do not even cover the cost of inflation.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Jul 11, 2020 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cares about employees, cares about patients, great coworkers

      Cons

      challenging to keep work-life balance when it is busy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 58 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Northern Light Health Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Northern Light Health? Share Your Experiences

    Northern Light Health logo
    or