Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews | Glassdoor

Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews

Updated November 13, 2017
127 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Chuck Albrecht
22 Ratings

127 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great People, Great Work Environment, Committed to Work/Life Balance (in 15 reviews)

  • There is still a feeling of a family owned company (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • low pay and sometimes long hours (in 6 reviews)

  • The hours suck for part time people like myself and can't get a second job because of the schedule "me working every Saturday" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Corpus Christi, TX
    Current Employee - Cashier in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The pay is pretty good, far better and more than many other companies. The employees are cool pretty damn cool

    Cons

    You must know a lot about hand tools, trailers, garden tools, generators, compressors, some about clothing, using a cash register is a plus

    Advice to Management

    None

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thanks so much for you review! We love hearing from our retail stores and are so glad you are happy!


  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great People, Great Work Environment, Committed to Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Implementing new initiatives can be slow moving.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 15, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review!

  3. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance is great! People are friendly and great to work with.

    Cons

    Due to company growth we are running out of spaces in the parking lot and if you arrive for work later in the morning it can be hard to find a spot to park.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review. We are glad you're happy here!


  4. "Best company I've ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Northern Tool + Equipment pays me very well, allows a good deal of flexibility, and constantly demonstrates true commitment to my professional development. My efforts and achievements are recognized regularly. The company culture is fun and supportive.

    Cons

    Documentation and interdepartmental communication could use a bit of improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. This is the best management team I've worked for.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for the positive review. We are happy you enjoy it here!


  5. "Employee friendly retail environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture, true home/work balance, above average wages/ benefits, involved managment from top to bottom, privately owned, empowered employees

    Cons

    Typical challenges of retail but more means available to correct

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course, front line employees are your biggest assets

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Human Resources

    We love to hear from our retail stores! Thank you for the great review and we are so glad you enjoy working for Northern!


  6. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Unlike any other retail experience I have had. Love working for a privately held company instead of a publicly traded company.

    Cons

    Every company has its cons

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad you are happy at Northern!


  7. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources
    Current Employee - Human Resources
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work life balance
    Great folks to work for
    Growing company
    A company that truly cares and listens to feedback from the employees at every level
    Consistently improving processes, systems and policies
    Very satisfied with the pay and benefits
    I love working for Northerntool.
    I'm challenged and motivated everyday.
    Truly the best company I've ever worked for

    Cons

    Although I haven't worked for the company long, I have no cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you're doing, I appreciate it.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!

  8. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Director in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A family culture with the ability to grow and succeed in various business disciplines. A true sense of accountability for all, with strong emphasis on customer satisfaction. Great opportunities to have a meaningful impact on business results/outcomes.

    Cons

    None, in my early years at Northern, plan to finish out my career with this company.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to bring in fresh perspective to growing the business. Brick and Mortar growth is unique in today's Retail environment, need to penetrate untapped markets faster.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so glad you are happy here!


  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good Company that is easy to work for.

    Cons

    Retail is a competitive environment and there is a lot of pressure to perform.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Human Resources

    We love hearing from our retail stores - thank you for sharing your feedback!


  10. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company values and team members! Good focus on family values and balance between home and work. Pay is very competitive from the bottom to the top. Customers are friendly and patient.

    Cons

    Lack of organization and training for new employees. Training is not very organized and systems and policies are out of date and portly communicated if you're new.

    Advice to Management

    Update training programs and information to better adapt the new employees.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will share your feedback with our Learning and Development and Retail Operations teams.


Showing 127 of 130 reviews
Reset Filters