KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Northern Tool + Equipment

Engaged Employer

Northern Tool + Equipment

Add a Review

Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 371 of over 380 reviews

3.5
58%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Northern Tool + Equipment President and CEO Suresh Krishna
Suresh Krishna
88 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with and enjoying meeting different people each day.(in 27 reviews)
  • "good benefits.....wish i had more to say(in 26 reviews)
  • "Good pay and great assistant manager Darrell Williams(in 25 reviews)
  • "Work life balance is good(in 19 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers and Great customers(in 14 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Northern Tool + Equipment and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Great company to work for

    Apr 15, 2022 - Information Technology 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Northern Tool + Equipment is a great company to work for. They're a growing company with a lot of opportunities if you're willing to work hard and take the initiative to learn. Management (all levels) that cares about their employees and listens to them, great co-workers, training opportunities, room for growth. Work/Life balance

    Cons

    Unable to think of any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Northern tools stocker review

    Aug 31, 2022 - Morning Stocker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pretty laid-back, just focus on what you need to do when you need to do it and how they ask you to do it.

    Cons

    None I had a good time there

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us! Best wishes to you.

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good business outlook but……..

    Sep 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product line. Growing company. Good PTO. Pay is decent.

    Cons

    Mostly all new executive team over past 2+ years. All with new initiatives to undertake at the same time along with multiple major technology upgrades. Some new positions added but none to the existing teams to support the aggressive growth plans and change. Result is long hours with no end in sight. They are losing A LOT of great employees. Not because they aren’t willing to work hard, just have burned them out. They know they have a turnover problem but haven’t been willing to seriously address it. Each week they lose people.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. You are right, we have aggressive growth targets and are committed to accelerating the growth of our organization. We are equally committed to having fun and supporting our team members along the way as the company grows. We wish you all the best in the future!

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Part time job ever

    Aug 27, 2022 - Sales Associate in Johnson City, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good natured hardworking people work here. I always enjoy coming to work.

    Cons

    Starting pay is only $11.00

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Best headline ever! Thanks for sharing your experience with Northern Tool + Equipment. We’re powered by smart, hard-working and helpful people - like you!

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Busy

    Sep 9, 2022 - IT Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, nice people on the teams

    Cons

    Quite a bit going on concurrently. Very fast pace. Sometimes too much

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. You are right - we work hard and fast. You certainly get new skills and work experiences as we grow this business. Best wishes to you!

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Employee turnover

    Sep 4, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Small discount. I had weekends off.

    Cons

    High turnover of employees (but not management). Most good coworkers walked out bc of overworked, underpaid, but hey we had a pizza party.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Core Values are important. We take all concerns seriously. Please reach out to us directly at hr-operations@northerntool.com to discuss how we can improve.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Horrible place to work— 0 stars

    Sep 10, 2022 - Operations in Burnsville, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None to think of since new Management came in.

    Cons

    No consideration of tenure employees. Gossip, spreading false information and lack of integrity from leadership.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. We take all concerns seriously. Please reach out to us directly at hr-operations@northerntool.com to discuss how we can improve.

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    All Types of Co-Workers

    Aug 17, 2022 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When you have good co-workers and competent managers it's pleasant. Typical retail.

    Cons

    When you have poor co-workers and incompetent managers it's an unpleasant place to work. Typical retail.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Did OK

    Aug 12, 2022 - Associate Merchant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As long as you can make a business case, most changes/suggestions are considered and supported.

    Cons

    No onboarding processes when hired.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Toxic Environment

    Sep 1, 2022 - Distribution Supervisor in Fort Mill, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great co-workers Family owned business Nice tools

    Cons

    Upper management Zero room for advancement Senior management has been running the facility over 20 years Forced overtime on many weekends with no compensation Toxic environment due to the Union

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 371 Reviews

Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews FAQs

Northern Tool + Equipment has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 380 reviews left anonymously by employees. 58% of employees would recommend working at Northern Tool + Equipment to a friend and 60% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -9% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Northern Tool + Equipment employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Northern Tool + Equipment. This rating has decreased by -12% over the last 12 months.

58% of Northern Tool + Equipment employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Northern Tool + Equipment 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Northern Tool + Equipment to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be culture, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Northern Tool + Equipment Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Northern Tool + Equipment? Share Your Experiences

or

Northern Tool + Equipment Careers

Cover image for Northern Tool + Equipment

I grew up on Minnesota's Iron Range, between Hibbing and Chisholm. As a youngster, I worked for my father, whose scrap yard recycled...More

  • Benefits
  • Mission/Values
  • Dear Applicants
  • Culture
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Northern Tool + Equipment

203 days ago

Culture
Thankful for our dedicated employees who build our culture and create a great place to work!
Shared image
Logo

Northern Tool + Equipment

546 days ago

Company News
We’re proud to welcome Jacks Small Engines into the Northern Tool family! Bringing Jacks on board boosts our expertise in tools, equipment, engines + maintenance services even more by offering millions of repair and maintenance parts to support the hard-working trades professionals + serious DIYers. Northern Tool has long admired the Jacks brand position, customer loyalty and digital platform, and Jacks’ family-run roots mirror our company’s values, making this partnership a natural fit.
Northern Tool Acquires Online Supplier Jack's Small Engines
www.ien.com
See all

Northern Tool + Equipment Photos

+ Add Photo
Northern Tool + Equipment photo of: World Headquarters
Northern Tool + Equipment photo of: Toolidazzle is in full swing at Northern Tool + Equipment! Check out these looks from our ugly holiday sweater contest. #funfriday #toolidazzle #uglysweater #funatwork #burnsville
Northern Tool + Equipment photo of: Halloween 2019
Northern Tool + Equipment photo of: Corporate HQ employees representing their teams for the Vikings vs Packers #borderbattle game this Sunday!
Northern Tool + Equipment photo of: Showing our Purple Pride at the Corporate HQ !
Northern Tool + Equipment photo of: Football season is here! SKOL Vikings!
Northern Tool + Equipment photo of: Weld, Hammer and Duct Tape
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Northern Tool + Equipment Job Seekers Also Viewed

Harbor Freight Tools Logo
Harbor Freight Tools

3.6

2,508 Reviews
Compare