Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews | Glassdoor

Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews

Updated December 9, 2018
175 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Chuck Albrecht
52 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The take pride in having a great work/life balance for their employees" (in 19 reviews)

  • "Northern is one of the few great, family-owned companies" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "I know I’m only part time but I do more than just cashiering" (in 8 reviews)

  • "low pay and sometimes long hours" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Family Company that Rewards Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Northern Tool is a company that ensures you get out of the job what you put in. They respect hard work, dedication, and loyalty, and give ample opportunity to move up when those traits are shown. Northern has allowed me to work in a stable environment, with good management, and move up as my skills improved. I have felt valued, and respected within this company, and feel that Northern tries hard to meet my needs as an employee. I feel that my opinions and input are heard and considered both within the region and within the company. My manager takes the time to truly listen and communicate with me, and is very good about sharing the vision they have for our stores. I personally feel very supported not only by my direct manager, but also my peers, who work hard to ensure that we are all successful.

    Cons

    Sometimes when new programs are rolled out, the desire to get them out quickly can lead to some confusion in communication of the process. Sometimes recognition does not go to the place it deserves when new ideas come out.

    Advice to Management

    Overall the company is going in the right direction, and the leadership that is in place tries hard to communicate clearly and effectively. I think that continuing to maintain focus on the core values program and the excellent level of customer service is the best way to maintain the strength of the company.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 7, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We love hearing feedback from our retail stores!


  2. "Facilities Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very employee friendly culture, care about all employees'-top to bottom. Good training when starting the position.

    Cons

    There are no downside to working for Northern Tool

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to add.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 20, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thanks so much for taking time to write a review!

  3. "Northern Tool Key Holder Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    -Store hours
    -Awesome staff
    -Discounts on quality tools

    Cons

    -Working retail means working holidays
    -All clients aren't ideal
    -Pay isn't great

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay and staff

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Dec 10, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Your feedback will be shared with our management team.


  4. "Forklift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift in Savage, MN
    Current Employee - Forklift in Savage, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    The turnover on training a new temp

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 9, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review!


  5. "Warehouse Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Arlington, TX
    Current Employee - Management in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Excellent Work Life Balance, Opinions Valued, Advancement Opportunities, Team Culture

    Cons

    Benefits are expensive and keep going up. Its $700+ for employee and family

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 7, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We are so glad you are happy at Northern! We will pass along your benefits cost concerns to our Benefits team!


  6. "Exciting company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    There are Plenty of management opportunities

    Cons

    Hard work with less staff

    Advice to Management

    Too much going on at one time. Someone should be in charge of regulating tasks

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 7, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you so much for taking time to write a review!


  7. "Nice Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    The people you work with here are amazing, they are always doing some fun activities or celebrating in some ways.

    Cons

    The hours are kind of crazy and you normally do not get a set hours that you work every day, every week.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 24, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We are so glad you like it here!

  8. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Nicest people i have ever worked with.

    Cons

    The pay is low. Some day are crazy and some days are boring

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 24, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We agree, our people are great!


  9. "Northern Tool @ Johnson City"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Johnson City, TN
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Johnson City, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good pay and great assistant manager Darrell Williams

    Cons

    Bad manager; only concerned about himself and bonus

    Advice to Management

    Replace manager with someone who is concerned about employees and not himself. If you take care of your people they will take care of you. My production manager at HSN in Pitney Flats,Th told me that. I shook his hand afterwards and told him why. He said the bonus will come if your people are happy at what they do. Maybe NT needs to look more at employees instead of managers. HR is awful about helping employees. Fashioned more toward managers than anything else.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 7, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is being shared with the HR Business Partner for that store region.


  10. "Family Feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Burlington, NC
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Burlington, NC

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    All my associates are always helpful to each other, As everyone from top to bottom has the sense of what needs to be done, there is virtually no need for order giving, assuming you have the common sense and maturity to take an ownership attitude of the store. I am fortunate to be among co-workers who are clearly able to successfully self direct.

    Cons

    Low pay, considering (at least at my store) that my co-workers are seasoned, intelligent, self-starting, knowledgeable, hard working people.

    Advice to Management

    I really like my management, and job, and I have no doubt whatsoever that they will know exactly who submitted this review. So feel free to contact me directly should they have the desire to do so.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 9, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you are happy and will pass along your feedback!