Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews | Glassdoor

Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews

Updated March 31, 2018
138 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Chuck Albrecht
28 Ratings

138 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The take pride in having a great work/life balance for their employees (in 17 reviews)

  • There is still a feeling of a family owned company (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • low pay and sometimes long hours (in 7 reviews)

  • If you are a part-time employee, good luck on obtaining a full time position (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Associate E-Commerce Marketing Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate E-Commerce Analyst in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Associate E-Commerce Analyst in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for, family owned, great atmosphere. Management is approachable and open to suggestions. The E-Commerce part of the business is growing and changing, there is a lot of growth opportunity here.

    Cons

    Company does not offer free coffee.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We're happy that you are able to approach your manager and feel comfortable! And, you're right - free coffee would be awesome! :)


  2. "All depends on the crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment part-time

    Pros

    Pushes you to grow as time goes on

    Cons

    Some people only do what they have to

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Apr 5, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!

  3. "Nice place to work, even for part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    Managers listen when I have a problem. Coworkers are awesome.

    Cons

    Sometimes MOD is slow to respond.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Apr 3, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So glad you are happy with Northern and are enjoying your employment with us!


  4. "Casher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    Good co-workers, good management.

    Cons

    Low pay, breaks are few and far between

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees what they are worth

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Jan 29, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  5. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Northern Tool gave me wonderful hours. Great Associates. Wonderful place to work. Customers were wonderful.

    Cons

    The only downside was having to leave. Taking care of my Grandchildren was priority at the time.

    Advice to Management

    None whatsoever.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Jan 29, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your time in the San Antonio retail store!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "System Support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Support Analyst in Burnsville, MN
    Former Employee - Systems Support Analyst in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company as a whole treats their employees well, at least at corporate. The employee sale was an exciting experience. Pay is on par for their Help Desk.

    Cons

    A few bad apples can ruin an experience. The IT management at the time went through contractor positions like toilet paper. If you are a part-time employee, good luck on obtaining a full time position. Career path movement is extremely slow. A person has to move out to move up.

    Advice to Management

    I have seen some good ole boy preference happen in the past. I would try and say clear of that type of practice.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Jan 29, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will share your experience with our IT Leadership team.


  7. "Wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center Representative in Brainerd, MN
    Current Employee - Call Center Representative in Brainerd, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Base pay of 11/hr. Opportunity to make more.

    Cons

    "commission" is the wrong term. It is a formula based on several factors. Margin dollars of product sold, call quality get a decimal factor then multiplied by the number of calls. I had over 400k in margin sales, calculated out I made 16.14/hour including bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Call center employees make more sales than most stores without the overhead. The turn over rate is extremely high. Raises are near non existent, they match cost of living increase. Call centers need a larger budget in order to encourage employees to stay.

  8. "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are decent, Rarely work weekends

    Cons

    Felt unprepared for the position

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Jan 2, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  9. "Great place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    Northern Tool provides a great working environment. The take pride in having a great work/life balance for their employees. The amount of hours that you are expected to work are reasonable, and if something personal comes up they are also flexible. Another nice thing about working at Northern Tool is that they support employees who want to develop themselves further in terms of education and personal development.

    Cons

    Compensation might not be as good as some larger companies, however the work/life balance makes up for it.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do pride ourselves on the work/life balance here at Northern and are happy you have experienced that in your position.


  10. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Director in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great company that is growing with strong stability. Good culture.

    Cons

    Clear ownership and communication can at times be a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Set up clear responsibilities with owners and followup vs having everything be decided by a committee.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Dec 1, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Northern!


Showing 138 of 141 reviews
Reset Filters