Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews | Glassdoor

Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews

Updated August 15, 2018
163 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Chuck Albrecht
43 Ratings

163 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The take pride in having a great work/life balance for their employees" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Northern is one of the few great, family-owned companies" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "I know I’m only part time but I do more than just cashiering" (in 8 reviews)

  • "low pay and sometimes long hours" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contact Center Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Contact Center Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Northern Tool provides a great working environment. They provide a great work/life balance for their employees. The amount of hours that you are expected to work are reasonable, and if something personal comes up they are also flexible. The company has both internal and external educational opportunities and a nice tuition reimbursement package that supports employees who want to develop themselves in terms of education and personal development. The compensation is not the same as huge companies but it makes up for that in life / work balance and in a healthy work environment. The company does little things for all the employees, Donuts Day, Coffee and bagels, Twins Day, etc.. It makes being at work fun and who doesn't love a bagel and donuts with a hot cup of coffee

    Cons

    Small company so there are limits to growth, Tuition reimbursement is nice but you have to bee here a full year so if you're in school it can delay your degree if you're needing employer funds or cost more from your own pocket. Health benefits are only after a full 30 month. So you can end up waiting 60 days

    Advice to Management

    None

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Jul 2, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Hearing from Contact Center employees makes us happy! We are so glad you are enjoying your experience working for us.


  2. "Senior Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hours, Health Benefits, incentives, great communication.

    Cons

    Relocation is a must for advancement.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you are happy here!

  3. "State Fair Review, positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Fun place to work, good people, generally clear with instructions.

    Cons

    Fast paced, could be different depending on the day.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Aug 16, 2018 – Human Resources

    We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at our tent at the Minnesota State Fair. Thank you for sharing and please consider joining us again next year!


  4. "Inbound Sales Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    South of the river office.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for advancement in this company.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Aug 16, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would encourage you to speak to your manager regarding your desire to advance within the company. We have a strong internal hire rate at all... More


  5. "Cashier/Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Mobile, AL
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Mobile, AL

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    GREAT ATMOSPHERE!!!! THE CUSTOMER LOVE THAT WE ARE IN MOBILE, AL...

    Cons

    YOU HAVE and EMPLOYEE THAT WILL INTERRUPT you WHEN TALKING TO A CUSTOMER . The customer came to me wanting information. I went to the computer to show him the information. The customer did not want any help from the other associate. WE lost a 1500.00 sale BECAUSE YOU HAVE SOMEONE THAT IS RUDE and greedy!

    Advice to Management

    You need to fix the problem in the store.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Aug 16, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We would encourage you to connect with your store manager regarding the issue you addressed here.


  6. "Frustrating lack of support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good pay and people

    Cons

    Upper management inconsistent and not supportive

    Advice to Management

    Give more authority to stores

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Aug 16, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review.


  7. "Can’t wait to quit after I graduate in December from college!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Cashier
    Current Employee - Part Time Cashier
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    One pro I would say that keeps me here is they work with your school schedule.

    Cons

    -You are allotted two 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute break for a 8.5 hour shift but you only ever get a 30 minute break and a quick bathroom break.
    -The customers that come in there are of a different breed that’s for sure. They only come to shop when coupons get sent out. If they forget their coupons they expect you to give them one. When you tell them you don’t have any and that you can actually get fired (which is true) the customer calls you an obscene name that is unnecessary.
    -You’re not allowed to stand up for yourself when customers are being rude or calling you obscene names. You are told to keep your mouth shut and take it.
    -Managers won’t stand up for you either. I had an extremely rude customer who got irritated with me because I wouldn’t honor a sale price on an item that was no longer on sale. I had a manager standing behind me the whole time and the customer went on and on about how this was BS and more obscene language. The manager did nothing and the customer finally left in a tissy fit. It was a Sunday so I asked to go home early because I couldn’t take it anymore.
    -We are constantly under staffed but somehow over budget.
    -As a cashier you’re not allowed to sit down during your shift except on your 30 minute break. You’re provided with the worst “support” mat to stand on. Can’t tell you how many shoes I’ve gone through and wasted $100’s of dollars and my feet still ache. You can’t go far from the register (which is understandable) but that means you’re stuck in this little box at the register for 8 hours every shift.
    -Our registers are always messing up because the company refuses to get new equipment and software. The WiFi went out COMPANY wide on a Saturday (usually the busiest day of the week) and that meant the card readers didn’t work, check machine didn’t work, we could only take cash. If the customer only had a card or check then we had to write up a hand receipt of every single item they were buying, get all of their information, when the WiFi came back up a couple hours later we had to input everything manually.
    -It’s hard to get backup on the register if the store is busy and there is 1 manager, 1 sales associate and 1 cashier. I’ve called several times for back up and never received help. I was 8-10 customers deep in line.
    -Some of the managers like to hide in the office for hours at a time, they don’t answer their radios because they either never have it on or they turn the volume down so they don’t have to hear people asking for help.
    -The managers only worry about getting the store in tip top shape right before someone from corporate is coming for a visit. If it was done on a regular basis it wouldn’t be such a scramble when they come.
    -I’ve worked for this company for a little over 3 years now and I am the least paid employee there. I know I’m only part time but I do more than just cashiering. I cover other people’s shifts all the time, sometimes I’m made to be a sales associate (and I don’t get commission on that day because I’m part time and a cashier), I put freight away, I help with getting clothing out of boxes, hung up and priced and put out on the floor, redo planograms and resets, sweep the entire store because no one else does and the floors get really gross, etc. I can basically do everyone’s job in there. I even know how to do someone management tasks because I’ve had too.
    -This job will stretch you thin and everyone in there takes advantage of you and your skills.
    -I get called to the register when there is a semi complicated transaction to do because the managers don’t trust the newest or oldest full time cashier to correctly handle the transaction. WHAT does that tell you?! You need better staff.
    -There are people who have worked at this store since it opened who have no idea how to do their job correctly and they have no idea where anything is in the store.
    -Oh one last thing I once asked for a weekend off so I could spend time with my grandma and aunt. I got the weekend off, but then had to work 14 days straight without a day off. I asked the manager why I was working a 14 day stretch, he said “well I gave you that weekend off that you wanted didn’t I?” Like seriously?! I hadnt had a weekend off in months and I ask for Friday- Sunday off once and I’m punished for it.
    -I could go on but I think this is enough. As you can see, this is a GREAT place to work.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Aug 16, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While we are so glad that you are happy with the scheduling, we are deeply concerned about the other issues mentioned. We would love it if you... More

  8. "Solid Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keyholder/Floor Leader in Cary, NC
    Current Employee - Keyholder/Floor Leader in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Flexible Scheduling
    Solid Management Team
    Good Benefits
    Fair Amount of Paid/Floating Holidays
    Growing, Family Owned Company

    Cons

    Occasional operational disconnect between corporate management and store levels.

    Not Much Room for Advancement

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Jul 13, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate hearing from our stores and from long-term employees. We are glad you are enjoying NTE!


  9. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Management and co-workers were pleasant to work with. Management scheduled me around my school hours. You receive an employee discount.

    Cons

    Standing most of the day. Sometimes I felt we were understaffed at times. There could be two cashiers working at the same time.

    Advice to Management

    I do not have any advice for management other than providing positive support and criticism to the employees.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment part-time

    Pros

    Hours are fair. Nice customers for the most part.

    Cons

    Poor management. Hire friends in management and out everyone else. Not fair.

    Advice to Management

    Do not hire your buddies and forget your duties to the company.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Aug 7, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review.


Showing 163 of 166 reviews
Reset Filters