Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews | Glassdoor

Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews

Updated June 14, 2017
29 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Chuck Albrecht
6 Ratings

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The company supports work life balance and gives employees the opportunity to work hard and play hard (in 12 reviews)

  • Family owned company, great customers, decent benefits (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • Low pay, bad mgmt, unreal expectations , back stabbing on all levels (in 6 reviews)

  • The hours suck for part time people like myself and can't get a second job because of the schedule "me working every Saturday" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Inventory Control/Quality Assurance Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    At the corporate level, Northern Tool has great benefits, competitive salaries and a fantastic atmosphere.

    Cons

    It can get a little clicky from time to time.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    May 16, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


  2. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Representative in Bismarck, AR
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Representative in Bismarck, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    As a general rule, the company has great people.

    Cons

    low pay and sometimes long hours

    Advice to Management

    Consider a better pay scale for employees that show their worth.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback!

  3. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Representative in Lake Charles, LA
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Representative in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It's a fast growing company with lots of potential in our area. With the wide range of products, it will be a very good job to have.

    Cons

    That part time sales associates get paid commission to. I think it would make them strive to sale more products for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving the company like they are.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Dec 5, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you so much for the nice review! Lake Charles is one of our newest stores and we're so happy to hear you are having a good experience!


  4. "I'm the beginning it seemed like total chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Technician in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Service Technician in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Building blocks of being a incredible company to work for. Hard work gets noticed and is recognized. If you do right by the company, the will do right by you.

    Cons

    Company is growing rapidly and seemed to be lots of management issues and no communication between stores that are struggling in certain departments...Seems the bugs are being worked out and are on the right track now.

    Advice to Management

    I think workshops would be a great idea for customers and employees to be more familiarized with the product they are selling to the customer...I've noticed a lot of the salespeople can't tell you why one product is better then the other and then when the product doesn't fit there needs and are having issues with it...The first person they point the finger at is the salesman...I think the store technician should once a week during meetings do a small product knowledge presentation for employees and maybe once or twice a month do one for customers.


  5. "Great Company - Keep Getting Better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Former Employee - Corporate Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company is family-owned and it shows in all they do for their employees, like the company picnics, holiday activities, etc. These things can only be found in a family-owned company staying true to their Core Values.
    Definite culture of respect and kindness throughout - if you don't value those traits you aren't a good culture fit here.
    Management cares about what the employees think - recent all-company survey has management creating goals for 2017 based on suggestions from employees, which shows they care and want to change to meet the needs of their people.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is quite good, although flexibility in the workplace (working from home and/or flexible work hours) is sometimes lacking. Some departments are very flexible while others still try to micro-manage even their salaried employees.
    Still a very top-down type culture with executives making some decisions without consulting anyone else - can be short-sighted at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep getting better! Northern has a special culture and has the momentum to be outstanding! Don't let old ways of thinking get in the way of that progress.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 7, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We take pride in hearing from our employees and making improvements wherever possible.


  6. "Receiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiver in Arlington, TX
    Current Employee - Receiver in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Employees help each other
    3 three breaks good shifts

    Cons

    When it get slow its kinda boring

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 24, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the feedback!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    For the most part everyone at corporate is very nice and helpful. There is still a feeling of a family owned company.

    Cons

    Northern seems to be going through some growing pains both with processes and/or procedures and corporate culture. Not a bad problem to have but just some upcoming changes that impacts everything we do.

    Advice to Management

    Years of service doesn't automatically make a productive, contributing employee. While it is awesome to see longevity, titles don't necessarily correspond.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 10, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We will share your feedback with our management team!

  8. "Order puller, Shipping, and Recieving Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Order Picker and Back Up Clerk in Arlington, TX
    Current Employee - Outbound Order Picker and Back Up Clerk in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work for.

    Cons

    Hard to advance within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Give associates within the company a chance to advance within the company for as lead and supervisor positions.


  9. "Cashire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Birmingham, AL
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Birmingham, AL
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Co worked dont work together

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 10, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are happy you enjoyed working at Northern!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Retail job, but typical pay and no advancement options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Person in Lenexa, KS
    Current Employee - Sales Person in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This retail sales job is a bit friendlier than most, not the frenetic psycho environment of a Home Depot or Wal-Mart or Target. Like any business, it's the people who run the place that matter, and in my store, we have a good core team of management that respects the job the employees are tasked to do. Store management goes out of their way to help make sure that you can do your job to the company's satisfaction. Managers usually makes sure that there are enough employees around to cover the anticipated store traffic. Manager and especially the Assistant Managers are always 'hands on' for store traffic and problems. No yelling, screaming or dressing down us lower eschelon folks.

    Cons

    I feel that the experience at my store is a bit unique, due to the churn in management before I arrived. However, I understand that this is kinda corporate dogma in a business like this. I think that it's size and growth have a lot to do with the tolerance level, and will expect total retail chaos when the company grows bigger and goes public.

    Advice to Management

    To corporate HQ: For God's sake, get your retail system in order- the way you refill merchandise that we sell is a joke- sell one bag of Oil Dri, they send us 2 pallets! We've got a warehouse full of crap that we couldn't sell down in a million years. Tie-in store sales in real time to the re-order system, and allow the stores to input adjustments on an on-going basis.
    Oh yeah, if you pay your workers more, you'll attract a better class of folks who will stick around and not do the retail job hop. Look at Costco- you can easily be in that class...

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Feb 2, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad to hear that you are happy with the work environment in your store. We pride ourselves on being a family-owned and operated business and... More


Showing 29 of 112 reviews
Reset Filters