Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews | Glassdoor

Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews

Updated April 17, 2017
21 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Chuck Albrecht
3 Ratings

21 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The company supports work life balance and gives employees the opportunity to work hard and play hard (in 12 reviews)

  • Family owned company, great customers, decent benefits (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • Low pay, bad mgmt, unreal expectations , back stabbing on all levels (in 6 reviews)

  • The hours suck for part time people like myself and can't get a second job because of the schedule "me working every Saturday" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Corpus Christi, TX
    Current Employee - Cashier in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The pay is pretty good, far better and more than many other companies. The employees are cool pretty damn cool

    Cons

    You must know a lot about hand tools, trailers, garden tools, generators, compressors, some about clothing, using a cash register is a plus

    Advice to Management

    None

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thanks so much for you review! We love hearing from our retail stores and are so glad you are happy!


  2. "Our Grass is Pretty Green"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Burnsville, MS
    Current Employee - Director in Burnsville, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Nothing worth putting in writing

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    May 8, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. So glad you are happy here at Northern! We love to hear from our long-term employees.

  3. "Great family owned company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The people are great to work with.

    Cons

    No onsite diner so lunch options are not plentiful.

    Advice to Management

    offer free coffee

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your kind words! We have recently implemented Foodsby, which is a delivery service offering multiple restaurant options per day, at our Corporate facility. Our employees are enjoying... More


  4. "An inspiring place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior CopyWriter in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Senior CopyWriter in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    NTE is a company that operates with integrity. The company's efforts to provide customers with high-quality products at competitive prices is admirable and inspiring. Likewise, management's efforts to ensure employees find the company a positive, fair and fun place to work is admirable. Many employees have expressed that they find it the best atmosphere they've encountered in a corporate setting.

    Cons

    None that are worth mentioning.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the serious focus on keeping customers happy and expanding product choices to grow with customers' needs. Also, keep up all the actions that reflect the company's expressed core values. They provide a beacon to all employees regarding priorities.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 28, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience.


  5. "Ecommerce Marketing Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, strong team culture, opportunity to grow, good support.

    Cons

    Though there was no documented training procedure for this position, they did a good job at introducing the various aspects of responsibility along the way.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 10, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review!


  6. Helpful (6)

    "A truly, great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Northern is one of the few great, family-owned companies. Despite growing significantly, it has retained its family feel and holds true to its values. I've had the opportunity to work with fantastic coworkers that are smart, forward thinking, but at the same time are down to earth. This is a rare combination to find in any organization. It's also rare to find an organization who truly values its people as demonstrated through fun employee events, charitable giving campaigns, valuing employee input, employee development, and a strong emphasis on work-life balance.

    Cons

    As a growing company, communication between departments can be a challenge. Leadership seems to recognize this and has made improvements to communicate more frequently and to narrow the gap between corporate and field locations.

    Advice to Management

    Nurture and protect the Northern culture no matter how large the company becomes. It is truly special and one that I've not found anywhere else. Continue to invest in developing and growing your employees.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Apr 4, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you very much for the kind words. We are extremely happy everything is going well for you here at Northern. It is important to us that everyone has a great environment to thrive! We strive to... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work - flexible, fun environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Family friendly, relaxed, fun work environment. The company supports work life balance and gives employees the opportunity to work hard and play hard. Leadership listens to our ideas and empowers us to make decisions and encourages new ideas.

    Cons

    Nothing really. For those who are looking for an organization where they can quickly move up the corporate ladder this probably wouldn't be the company for you. There are only about 500 employees at our Corporate HQ so not a lot of opportunity to grow (but they definitely promote from withing when opportunities come up) but there is a lot of opportunity to grow your position 'out' and expand your role.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 10, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your positive feedback!

  8. "Amazing internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Pricing Analyst in Burnsville, MN
    Former Intern - Pricing Analyst in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This was an excellent summer internship opportunity. You were given a mentor and good work to start off so that you aren't overwhelmed. If you show initiative and work hard, you can get more work and harder assignments. One of the most rewarding jobs that I have ever had. I gained a lot of networking opportunities and they had fun activities for the interns.

    Cons

    I really can't think of anything negative that I experienced during my summer internship. Maybe having free coffee would have been nice with the amount I went through.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the internship opportunites, and keep up the good work.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Mar 23, 2016 – Human Resources

    We are so happy you enjoyed your internship experience with us!


  9. "Inbound phone sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, good management, great pay once you learn the product and how to sell .

    Cons

    Takes a long time to advance if you wish. The pipeline to supervisor is filled and they don't tend to move out or up.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it family oriented.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 10, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review.


  10. "You can make a difference with lots of effort, time, ideas and consistency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    - Good people working towards common goals
    - Work-life balance is important
    - Strong management
    - Family-owned
    - Lots of tenured employees
    - Fiscally responsible
    - Manufacturer and sell quality products at consumer-friendly prices
    - Product expertise
    - Good benefits
    - Opportunity for voice to be heard and contribute ideas that make an impact
    - Passionate customer base
    - Room for advancement
    - Strong L+D curriculum

    Cons

    - Marketing plans can be too reactive
    - IT compliance can sometimes restrict innovation
    - Sometimes project dates can be unrealistic given the scope
    - Employees can be spread a little thin sometimes
    - Need more specialized positions
    - Position titles don't always reflect actual position responsibilities
    - Brick and mortar store experience can be subpar depending on location/management team
    - Micro-management can sometime get in the way of team moral

    Advice to Management

    - Improve the store integration experience with the online channel, need buy online - pick up in store same day capability; need real-time store inventory lookup by location
    - Need stronger long-term marketing strategies like Free Shipping on minimum order value
    - Hotline program is confusing and not sustainable

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Dec 30, 2015 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your time here at Northern. We are always looking for ways to improve both our customer experience and employee experience and will share your... More


Showing 21 of 113 reviews
Reset Filters