Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews | Glassdoor

Northern Tool + Equipment Reviews

Updated November 28, 2017
131 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Chuck Albrecht
25 Ratings

131 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The take pride in having a great work/life balance for their employees (in 17 reviews)

  • There is still a feeling of a family owned company (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • low pay and sometimes long hours (in 6 reviews)

  • The hours suck for part time people like myself and can't get a second job because of the schedule "me working every Saturday" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Associate E-Commerce Marketing Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate E-Commerce Analyst in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Associate E-Commerce Analyst in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for, family owned, great atmosphere. Management is approachable and open to suggestions. The E-Commerce part of the business is growing and changing, there is a lot of growth opportunity here.

    Cons

    Company does not offer free coffee.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We're happy that you are able to approach your manager and feel comfortable! And, you're right - free coffee would be awesome! :)


  2. "Great place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    Northern Tool provides a great working environment. The take pride in having a great work/life balance for their employees. The amount of hours that you are expected to work are reasonable, and if something personal comes up they are also flexible. Another nice thing about working at Northern Tool is that they support employees who want to develop themselves further in terms of education and personal development.

    Cons

    Compensation might not be as good as some larger companies, however the work/life balance makes up for it.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do pride ourselves on the work/life balance here at Northern and are happy you have experienced that in your position.

  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Director in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great company that is growing with strong stability. Good culture.

    Cons

    Clear ownership and communication can at times be a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Set up clear responsibilities with owners and followup vs having everything be decided by a committee.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Dec 1, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Northern!


  4. "Good but could be Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work/life Balance
    Family Environment
    Listens to Employee Feedback
    Benefits
    Culture

    Cons

    Internal Movement
    Pay
    Resistant to Change at Executive Level

    Advice to Management

    This company is a good company - it could be great! Execs too stuck in the old way and need to look at what other companies are doing and think outside of the box. Pay people what they are worth in the market or you're going to start losing good people!

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Dec 1, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write! We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our leadership team.


  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great People, Great Work Environment, Committed to Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Implementing new initiatives can be slow moving.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 15, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review!


  6. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance is great! People are friendly and great to work with.

    Cons

    Due to company growth we are running out of spaces in the parking lot and if you arrive for work later in the morning it can be hard to find a spot to park.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review. We are glad you're happy here!


  7. "Employee friendly retail environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture, true home/work balance, above average wages/ benefits, involved managment from top to bottom, privately owned, empowered employees

    Cons

    Typical challenges of retail but more means available to correct

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course, front line employees are your biggest assets

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Human Resources

    We love to hear from our retail stores! Thank you for the great review and we are so glad you enjoy working for Northern!

  8. "Best company I've ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnsville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Northern Tool + Equipment pays me very well, allows a good deal of flexibility, and constantly demonstrates true commitment to my professional development. My efforts and achievements are recognized regularly. The company culture is fun and supportive.

    Cons

    Documentation and interdepartmental communication could use a bit of improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. This is the best management team I've worked for.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for the positive review. We are happy you enjoy it here!


  9. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Unlike any other retail experience I have had. Love working for a privately held company instead of a publicly traded company.

    Cons

    Every company has its cons

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad you are happy at Northern!


  10. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources
    Current Employee - Human Resources
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Tool + Equipment full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work life balance
    Great folks to work for
    Growing company
    A company that truly cares and listens to feedback from the employees at every level
    Consistently improving processes, systems and policies
    Very satisfied with the pay and benefits
    I love working for Northerntool.
    I'm challenged and motivated everyday.
    Truly the best company I've ever worked for

    Cons

    Although I haven't worked for the company long, I have no cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you're doing, I appreciate it.

    Northern Tool + Equipment Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


Showing 131 of 134 reviews
Reset Filters