Northgate Public Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Northgate Public Services Reviews

Updated December 3, 2018
46 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Northgate Public Services Chief Executive Officer Stephen Callaghan
Stephen Callaghan
15 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Fairly middle rated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northgate Public Services full-time

    Pros

    Good sick leave entitlement, some good people, head office is a good place to work.

    Cons

    The regional offices are not looked after as well as head office. Not enough resource, limited progression in certain parts of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate more on developing mid level staff.


  2. "Re-joined and it's a different company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northgate Public Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Having re-joined NPS after some years it is a completely different company to the one I left. Renewed vision, strong management teams and a sense of speed that means clear direction and fast decisions made

    Cons

    I haven't found any yet

  3. "People were great to work with, too many procedures though."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Northgate Public Services full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with.
    Benefits slightly better than normal.

    Cons

    Not enough resources.
    Using older technology, would be easier if used more up to date technology.

    Advice to Management

    Update your technology, and listen to what your staff are saying!!

    Northgate Public Services Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Head of Recruitment

    We have listened and we are investing in new technology across the business.


  4. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northgate Public Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexibility, it is possible working from home some days a week
    Good benefit scheme
    Good management

    Cons

    Nothing so far, everything is okay

    Northgate Public Services Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Head of Recruitment

    It is always encouraging when new employees take the time to feedback on their positive experience.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Northgate PS leading the way in Public Sector software solutions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Consultant in Hemel Hempstead, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Resourcing Consultant in Hemel Hempstead, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northgate Public Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Northgate PS is a very positive and progressive IT solutions company that offers excellent career progression for IT professionals looking to expand their skills and experience across a number of exciting Public Sector clients and projects.

    Cons

    Nothing since joining earlier this year

    Northgate Public Services Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Head of Recruitment

    Our people are key to our success, thank you for the positive review.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Could have done better as a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northgate Public Services full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits scheme including free private healthcare
    Good and fair salary's

    Cons

    No room for progression outside of your role
    No friendly dynamic between employees and directors-real divide there.
    Very small and quite company so not alot of friendly dynamic at all
    The roles are not fulfilling, its very mundane and there isnt alot of work for everyone- so lots of sitting around on a daily basis.
    Everyone works very independently so your on your own most of the time or working from home

    Advice to Management

    Get people more involved as a team, including directors/managers.
    create a progressive environment where your not stuck in one job role for life

    Northgate Public Services Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Head of Recruitment

    We have invested time in ensuring that the benefits we provide to colleagues are excellent and offer something to everyone. We like to promote from within where possible and ensure that vacancies... More


  7. "Making good progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northgate Public Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Much more strategic focus, supported by clear operating plans
    Starting to see more energy in the business in past 12 months
    NEC acquisition supports potential for future investment and growth
    Starting to see more belief in the future after too many years of decline

    Cons

    Back office systems remain poor - sales, finance
    Dreadful new HR system just implemented (badly)

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving forward but need to ensure head office functions and back office systems are better aligned to the needs of the operational business

    Northgate Public Services Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Head of Recruitment

    You are correct in saying that the NEC acquisition has injected energy amongst us. We do have a number of legacy systems in place and we are working with the business to replace them, however this... More

  8. "Exciting place to be...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pre-Sales in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Pre-Sales in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northgate Public Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    In our policing business we are making lots of progress.
    The team are really good and we are being supported in getting on with new ways of working and innovation.
    Seeing our customers get excited is really rewarding and our development team have always been good but they are delivering great good looking software that people love.
    NEC acquisition seems to have brought more investment potential.

    Cons

    Its been hard until recent year with no pay rises due to the economic downturn but the management team are really open and the executive team support my management who always have been good but not always supported to do the right thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep empowering people.
    Keep investing hard in new technology.
    Be brave.

    Northgate Public Services Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for your comments, empowering colleagues is an essential part of our plans for our future success. After all, our people are our biggest assets and in the best place to make the... More


  9. "Going places...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northgate Public Services full-time

    Pros

    The last few years have seen a marked improvement in both outlook and pace of change within the company; which has been recently significantly re-enforced with the purchase by the globally focused NEC. The collaborative and flexible working is very good, both with the tools available and the culture of "it's what you do" not "where you do it". The work is interesting and challenging, with a range of current technologies being deployed; and much more emphasis being placed on mobile delivery of products.

    Cons

    Need to invest further in the (for good reason) reduced office estate. Hot desking requires further investment in improved kit in the offices - spare screens and keyboards on desks etc. Parts of the business can be quite UK focused (this might be a good thing!), but this is changing, particularly with NEC purchase.

    Advice to Management

    Growth is good, but don't forget to keep investing in the staff (and keep a watchful eye on the work life balance being expected). Build the R&D capabilities further, keeping it aligned to products.

    Northgate Public Services Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Head of Recruitment

    It is very nice to hear you are enjoying your role. We have listened to our colleagues and have invested in our office environments, creating more collaborative working areas in colourful, modern... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Exciting times at the moment since the purchase by NEC with a great future due to some big contract wins.

    I've worked for NPS for 13 years. Not once have I felt the need to look elsewhere.

    Hard work is rewarded with opportunities to progress.

    The ability for me to work from home is a great benefit but obviously this would not be the case for all roles.

    The culture is great and within my team it feels like everyone supports each other. This is very important to me.

    Cons

    Occasional long hours, but it is definitely worth it as I feel like I am helping the company to succeed.

    Northgate Public Services Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Head of Recruitment

    It is great to hear how happy you are here, you are right in saying it is a really exciting time in the company especially since the NEC acquisition. We all work very hard but it is bringing in great... More