Northrop Grumman "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Northrop Grumman Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4962 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
96 Ratings
  1. "Business as Usual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Northrop Grumman

    Pros

    They paid a good salary and have decent benefits. The work was challenging.

    Cons

    It is a huge corporation, so you will not have any personal interactions with the upper management. Your id is an number not a name. There is no personal perks like company picnics or the like on a regular basis.

    Advice to Management

    When the customer contract is about end, please do the footwork and look for other opportunities for your employees. Please do not give folks two weeks after a contract ends to find another position and then lay them off. The footwork should have been done months in advance.

    Northrop Grumman2016-10-14
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance and benefits

    Cons

    Upper management not properly trained

    Northrop Grumman2016-09-23
  3. "Section Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    In general great people work at the company. Most employees within the engineering disciplines are college educated and conduct themselves in a very professional manner.

    Cons

    Fairly large disconnect between upper management and performers.

    Northrop Grumman2016-09-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Structural Engineer/Stress Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large company with a great deal of engineering talent and resources. The work is challenging and the pay is good.

    Cons

    Company prefers managers over leaders. Leaders are those that have been through the ranks of the company and strive to do the "right thing". Managers just mindlessly direct people in whatever direction upper management expects. Promotions are hard to come by and sector goals are pushing for only "diverse employees" to rise up the ranks.

    Northrop Grumman2016-08-28

    Northrop Grumman Response

    September 1, 2016Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review. When it comes to leadership, all employees are expected to be leaders -- not just managers. We each lead through our competence, creativity and teamwork. Leadership is actually one of our company's core values, and we hope you'll learn more here: http://www.northropgrumman.com/CorporateResponsibility/Ethics/Pages/OurValues.aspx

  5. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointed with upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Marrero, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent salary and benefits. Decent working conditions

    Cons

    Upper management was very vague about the true state of our sector. They never really told mid level managers and hourly employees the truth about the how bad the economy effected our bottom line. As a result many layoffs were issued to employees with 15 plus years of dedicated service.

    Advice to Management

    Never forget the everyday workers are the the backbone of most jobs. Always be honest and seek input from subordinates.

    Northrop Grumman2016-08-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Project management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman

    Pros

    Good 401k plan and tuition for school

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't like to hear the truth when behind schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Transparency

    Northrop Grumman2016-07-12
  7. "engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Mechanical Engineer in North Sacramento, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance benefites are great

    Cons

    upper management is old antiquated work style no young engineers

    Northrop Grumman2016-06-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "When is the Change Coming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for as far as flexibility and work life balance

    Cons

    Upper Management, especially at the Director level is no-help what-so-ever. They need to guide their management and allow them the opportunity to grow employees. Employees are dissatisfied with all the red tapes and lack of advancement. In 2016, it is time to stop the good old boy/girl network and broaden the horizon, especially when it comes to diversity in hiring people of color (especially black males into management).

    Advice to Management

    Make it fair to promote people based on their skill sets and interests to learn and grow. Stop looking at people who resemble you and then promote. It is WRONG. Northrop Grumman is liked by their employees, you are chasing them away with poor decisions. You need to follow Vice Presidents' advices to broaden the field and take risks in people. Get out of your shell, there are good employees regardless of their skin...

    Show More
    Northrop Grumman2016-06-08

    Northrop Grumman Response

    June 23, 2016Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your comments. We have just released our corporate responsibility report and wanted to call attention to the improvements we've made in diversity and inclusion across our company. It's an ongoing commitment for us, and it's something we take very seriously. The report highlights ...

    Show More
  9. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CollegeMaterials Analyst in North Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman for more than a year

    Pros

    Programs you get to work on and lots of experienced old timers

    Cons

    Pay, no support from management, 401k is below average. To Wes Bush and upper management executives start caring more for your employees other than your stock holders.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more than a 2% pay increase

    Northrop Grumman2016-05-13
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Northrop is not a Software Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Northrop Grumman Corporation works on very interesting projects. I had the opportunity to work on a team that gave me exposure to a multitude of different Software groups and platforms to develop on. The type of work you do here is difficult to find outside of the Defense Industry, and on top of that, Northrop Grumman is a leader in the industry for "smarter" vehicles such as UAVs.

    Cons

    1. Despite Northrop being the supposed leader in UAVs, it's software practices are terribly out of date. It's partially due to the industry and the length of the projects though. When a new project starts up, new tools are used and implemented, however those same tools will be used the entire way through, even if the project is more than a decade old. Trying to upgrade these tools or acquire new tools is a constant fight...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Less management.

    Northrop Grumman2016-04-08
Found 4962 reviews