Northumbrian Water Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Northumbrian Water Group Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Northumbrian Water Group CEO Heidi Mottram
Heidi Mottram
12 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northumbrian Water Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people who care about what they do A passionate CEO with a clear vision A great benefits package with the opportunity to work flexibly We are encouraged to support our local communities and are given paid time to do this.

    Cons

    Decision making can be quite slow due to lack of clear ownership for certain things

    Northumbrian Water Group2019-06-14

    Northumbrian Water Group Response

    June 17, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review about working here at Northumbrian Water. It's great to see after more than 10 years working here that you feel it's still a great place to work. Really good to hear how you feel about our CEO - Heidi Mottram and our clear vision.

  2. "Great company, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northumbrian Water Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Northumbrian Water is a great company to work for. The benefits are fantastic from holiday and hours to personal development and progression. They’re doing some great things around diversity and inclusion as well as wellbeing including mental health.

    Cons

    Too many priorities that can be confusing for people at times.

    Northumbrian Water Group2019-05-24

    Northumbrian Water Group Response

    May 28, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on how you are finding working for us. We feel we have an amazing benefits package that is not just financial and rewarding, but also about the health and well-being of our people too. It's great to hear you feel the same too. I take on-board your points around priorities and will feed this back into our leadership teams, so we can make it easier to understand and remove the confusion.

    Show Less
  3. "Great Place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northumbrian Water Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They care about their people, their customers and the environment. Ken to leave a positive lasting legacy. Very low attrition rate.

    Cons

    Highly regulated industry. Lots of loud voices that assume they will get their own way.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Northumbrian Water Group2019-05-12

    Northumbrian Water Group Response

    May 21, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for the review of your time working with us here at Northumbrian Water. It's great to hear how you describe here as a "Great Place to be", as we think it is a "Great Place to Work" too. We really appreciate the time taken to write your review and hope you continue to enjoy your career with us here at Northumbrian Water.

    Show Less
  4. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northumbrian Water Group part-time

    Pros

    Diversity and inclusion is alive and well

    Cons

    Very few cons as the company are admirable

    Northumbrian Water Group2019-03-18

    Northumbrian Water Group Response

    March 19, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for the review of your time working with us here at Northumbrian Water. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed working with us and that have felt we have great diversity and inclusion for all, as strongly value this in our "One Team" approach and wanting to be a diverse employer. We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Show Less
  5. "Poor management styles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northumbrian Water Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits Good annual leave

    Cons

    Untrained managers who don’t know how to deal with bullying and so chose to do nothing. Inconsistencies across depts. I’ve worked in some great depts and some awful. If you have a good manager you’ve struck gold. If unlucky enough not to have a good manager, can be exposed to bullying, discrimination and general apathy around the team members. Some managers still rule by fear rather than engagement. Like a... child with ADD jumps from one initiative to another without fully completing anything. No work life balance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff better and maybe you’ll succeed in becoming national leader.

    Northumbrian Water Group2019-04-12

    Northumbrian Water Group Response

    April 30, 2019Resourcing Manager

    I really appreciate your honest feedback on your experiences here at Northumbrian Water. It would be good to understand more about the points you have raised in the cons, so we can work to improve on these, so please feel free to drop me an email (Resourcing Manager) and I will work with you and my colleagues to try and improve your experience of working here at Northumbrian Water

    Show Less
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northumbrian Water Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits Great opportunities to develop Just voted 2019 19th Best Company to Work For in Sunday Times

    Cons

    None as a great company to work for

    Northumbrian Water Group2019-02-27

    Northumbrian Water Group Response

    March 4, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for the review of your time working with us here at Northumbrian Water. We are really proud to have been voted the 19th Best Company to Work for in the Sunday Times and it recognises what a great place our colleagues think it is. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed working with us and we wish you all the best for your future career.

    Show Less
  7. "Customer Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Northumbrian Water Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay , great people, fab training and support - brill terms and conditions

    Cons

    Its going through reorganisation -

    Northumbrian Water Group2019-02-24

    Northumbrian Water Group Response

    March 4, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for the review of your time working with us here at Northumbrian Water. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed working with us and that have had some amazing experiences so far with your training. We also think our T&C's are fab, so great to see you do too. We appreciate your views on the reorganisation that is happening in some areas of our business at the moment to. This is part of getting us ready for our 2020-2025 business plan and to enable us to continue to provide amazing water and services to our customers. We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Old boys club but good pay/benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wastewater Department in Washington, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northumbrian Water Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary & benefits Generous overtime pay

    Cons

    Old boys club style management - you will not get an internal promotion unless you have been pre-selected. A lot of manager to manager conflict which reduces productivity and creates clashes in working methods between departments. A lot of internal office politics.

    Advice to Management

    Devise fair and open internal recruitment methodology that prevents line managers hand picking allies and mates for positions (anonymous application process - nameless CVs)

    Northumbrian Water Group2018-10-04

    Northumbrian Water Group Response

    October 9, 2018Resourcing Manager

    Really sorry to hear you didn't always enjoy your time here at NWG, we appreciate your honest feedback. We are looking into how we can improve on the areas you have highlighted and thank you for your positive feedback on the pro's you have highlighted to.

  9. "Enjoyed my time there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northumbrian Water Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits Friendly Career Development Opportunities Forward Thinking Customer focused Industry LEading

    Cons

    None that I can honestly think of

    Northumbrian Water Group2018-07-31

    Northumbrian Water Group Response

    October 11, 2018Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for the review of your time working with us here at Northumbrian Water. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed working with us and we wish you all the best for your future career.

  10. "A company worth considering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northumbrian Water Group full-time

    Pros

    Customers are of the utmost importance and employees are treated as customers. It is an innovative company and values it's employees opinions. The pay is competitive. There are opportunities to do apprenticeship. As a large company there is a diversity of jobs and the possibility of progression.

    Cons

    It can be long hours in certain fields. Implementing changes in policy and procedures do not always run as smoothly as they could.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your employees and customers, they know what is really happening.

    Northumbrian Water Group2018-01-12

    Northumbrian Water Group Response

    October 12, 2018Resourcing Manager

    Many thanks for your review and I appreciate your honest comments about we can make it an even better place to work.

Found 16 reviews