Northwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Northwest Airlines President and CEO Ed Bastian
Ed Bastian
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "easily transfer to different work locations, great travel benefits(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with and benefit package was excellent(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "lack of staffs, low pay, low morale(in 5 reviews)

  • "Having to take many pay cuts and benefits has been hard to take(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great workplace

      Mar 26, 2021 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers and fun place to work

      Cons

      Great company no cons to mention

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good pay

      Feb 11, 2020 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay and benefits time off

      Cons

      seniority takes time to gain

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good work with people

      Dec 18, 2019 - Customer Service Agent in Flushing, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work rules are in union contract

      Cons

      Local Management not always responsive

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Now Delta

      Dec 14, 2018 -  in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership, culture, time off and pay structure

      Cons

      Repetition of tasks and holiday hours

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Flight attendant

      Oct 2, 2018 - Flight Attendant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      all you would think, travel etc.

      Cons

      poor pay to start, union and company challenges.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Never a dull moment

      Mar 2, 2014 - Customer Service Agent in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love all the people I worked with; they are a stellar group of individuals. The work was interesting with a variety of options to choose from, there is a job to fit any personality type, and the flexible shifts were a blessing. If I hadn't been injured I would still be there.

      Cons

      The union; joining the union was a requirement I would rather have avoided. I've worked for both union and non-union companies and in my experience it is my opinion that they are a waste of my monthly dues. I would rather have saved that money and not had the union. They have outlived their usefulness and it's time for them to go the way of the dodo. If they were worth the thousands of dollars I paid them over the years I would still be working at Delta airlines.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working for Northwest Airlines is like riding a Roller Coaster - exciting, moving fast, and scary at times.

      Dec 1, 2008 - Solutions Architect in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In my department, there is constantly a lot going on. I am constantly challenged with new technical problems. Information Services is fast-paced like a small company, challenges me personally and professionally. The people I work with enjoy the work, the industry and being close to the action. My favorite pasttime is vacationing, My wife and I enjoy taking the kids to new places and old places - Florida, New York City, Mexico, Europe, Japan and many other places. It is fun.

      Cons

      The company is either in feast or famine mode. It's either making very profitable or losing money like you wouldn't believe. This has led to a some layoffs, one bankruptcy, and many occasions where I wondered if I would have a job in six months. I left the company and returned after seven years of working elsewhere. I missed the culture, the industry, and the flight benefits. There are quite a few who have left and have returned. How many companies can claim that?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Manage your perception... because its in the gutter.

      Dec 9, 2008 - Analyst in Eagan, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel Benefits. I traveled the world in the 2 years that I was there... many times in first class! Working for an airline allows you to see and maintain friends across the globe. I was able to travel home to see family whenever I wanted free of charge. I met some great people at NWA. The company was heading into chapter 11 right around the time I was hired so there was a huge influx of new hires so making friends in an unfamiliar city was a breeze. I gained valuable experience during my time at NWA and I'm thankful for it.

      Cons

      The executive view towards management and labor relations is the the textbook definition of what not to do. Granted, the labor unions demands and expectations have been (in my opinion) unrealistic and unproductive. Senior leaders need to reflect on how to better manage perception and manage expectations. Also, NWA recruits from top 10 colleges and universities but has no system to develop talent and retain their best employees. Basically your left to fend for yourself play politics and maneuver. In closing everyone I worked with was professional and really nice. I am thankful for NWA because they gave me a decent springboard to start my career and is the reason I am happily employed at another company. O yeah its freezing in Minneapolis.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      NWA should have been the surviving airline.

      Nov 8, 2008 -  in Eagan, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The opportunity to travel around the world at little to no cost, until you arrive. That has always been the only motivating factor in working for Northwest Airlines. The airline has lied to its employees over and over and mistreated them for years and has now reached the pinnacle of mistreatment in the lies that have been told. "The best people for the best teams" was how this merger began, but that is not how it's ending. It's all political in who's butt you are willing to kiss. It used to be the "hometown airline" but since it isn't any longer it's hard to find anything positive. The state of MN should have put up a bigger fight against the merger.

      Cons

      Treatment and growth potential; the fact that it is no longer the "hometown" airline in MSP is horrible. NWA should have been the surviving airline, not Delta and it could have been. NWA is the airline with cash available - Delta has none - NWA easily could have taken over Delta, but the CEO wanted the easy way out. The employees and the state of MN have been lied to about how many jobs and opportunities would remain in MSP and now any jobs that make it through the cuts are still going to have to relocate to ATL, and most with a cut in pay, it's a crime.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      How to dodge a bullit.

      Jun 16, 2008 - Captain in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A pilot's career field is very narrow. Northwest Airlines was a good place to work after looking at what has happened at other airlines. A pilot cannot make a lateral transfer.

      Cons

      As is common in this type of work, my base was not always where I lived. To commute was my choice, so I can't really say it was a major downside. Working conditions were sometimes stretched to the limit of contract and federal regulations.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 91 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Northwest Airlines Job Seekers

    Flight Attendant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    American Airlines Flight Attendant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Northwest Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    Northwest Airlines logo
    or