Northwest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor

Northwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Northwest Airlines CEO Ed Bastian
Ed Bastian
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "easily transfer to different work locations, great travel benefits(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with and benefit package was excellent(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Salary is low compared to other industries, but that's because airline jobs come with additional perks(in 6 reviews)

  • "lack of staffs, low pay, low morale(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Administrave Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operation Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People, benefits, working environment, pay, etc.

    Cons

    Long hours, legal support, lack of consecutive days off and working weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Communication

    Northwest Airlines2018-02-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Now Delta"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minneapolis, MN

    I worked at Northwest Airlines for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership, culture, time off and pay structure

    Cons

    Repetition of tasks and holiday hours

    Northwest Airlines2018-12-14
  3. "Flight attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Flight Attendant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Airlines for more than 10 years

    Pros

    all you would think, travel etc.

    Cons

    poor pay to start, union and company challenges.

    Advice to Management

    UNION!

    Northwest Airlines2018-10-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Airlines

    Pros

    not too many aircraft to control

    Cons

    lack of staffs, low pay, low morale

    Advice to Management

    no need

    Northwest Airlines2017-10-23
  5. "Costumer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwest Airlines

    Pros

    Very flexible and good wages

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about in Detroit

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what they are doing

    Northwest Airlines2017-05-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "I've heard Great things about Delta who bought out Northwest Airlines!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Reservation Sales Agent in Minneapolis, MN

    I worked at Northwest Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I loved the work on an internal support desk (Last date I worked there was in 2009 - option not given above). I really liked my coworkers. And, of course, the travel benefit was awesome!

    Cons

    Northwest management was really petty and cliquey, catty, and not very effective. Motivational endeavors felt condescending - competing teams, colorful construction paper displays, pizza and ice cream in lieu of wages and benefits (25% cuts, pensions cancelled). There was a lack of honesty about restructuring and changes in compensation and benefits. And we were often told to just be grateful we even had a job. ... Management was Not responsive to employees in any way. It was very top-down. Employees had a lot of good insight that went ignored. Extreme micro-management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat people with respect, compensate them fairly, continue to provide a pension benefit. Lead don't manage - like the new company, Delta now does. I've heard nothing but rave reviews about Delta who bought out Northwest Airlines.

    Northwest Airlines2017-04-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Airlines

    Pros

    Good benefits, fairly flexible schedule

    Cons

    Poor attitude among crew members. Poor management.

    Northwest Airlines2016-10-17
  8. "pilot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Airlines

    Pros

    Best job I ever had

    Cons

    company is gone now forever

    Advice to Management

    bye bye

    Northwest Airlines2016-09-13
  9. "multiple"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Airlines

    Pros

    During my tenure, management and benefits were excellent

    Cons

    during my tenure I found no cons

    Northwest Airlines2016-09-12
  10. "Safety Eqyupment Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Airlines

    Pros

    I worked at Northwest Airlines on a short time contract in support of the life support and emergency equipment configurations during the merger with Delta Airlines. It was a fun and busy time, I found all the personal to be friendly and helpful. I thought it was a great place to work.

    Cons

    Being in Minn. to did still get chilly in March.

    Northwest Airlines2016-08-24
Found 88 reviews