KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Northwest FCU

Engaged Employer

Northwest FCU

Add a Review

Northwest FCU Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 of over 135 reviews

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Northwest FCU Acting President/CEO Jeff Bentley  (no image)
Jeff Bentley
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company with great benefits and refreshed internal direction(in 21 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, nice colleagues and opportunities to learn(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nwfcu represents the agency then I will have to say that the agency is the same way(in 6 reviews)

  • "The managers have no instruction whatsoever, it seems upper management doesn’t even know what they are doing(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    3y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    793

    83 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Veteran Status

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Northwest FCU and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      NWFCU supports their employees!

      Sep 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Grapevine, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive environment, great benefits, strives to improve. The last 18 months have been extremely difficult due to the pandemic and NW has done everything to support the employees during this time. NW has some of the hardest working people that I have ever worked with during my careers. The conversion did not go 100% perfectly (and I don't know of any project that does) and they weathered the storm - great job!

      Cons

      Being able to work remotely is not the only thing that makes a company great. I think people put too much emphasis on this only and a lot of the negative comments stem from that one issue. Remember everything else that is good at the credit union!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best place to work

      Sep 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Athens, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Positive Culture, Benefits, and work life balance. CEO really takes pride in investing in the employees.

      Cons

      Love working here. I don't have negative input to provide.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      The right changes could make a big difference.

      Sep 19, 2021 - Mid Level Management in Norman, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      NWFCU has employees who are committed to doing the right thing and who want to help each other be successful. The benefits are very good and I believe the compensation is better than competitors. There are a few really great leaders who are doing their best to keep employees and members happy and engaged. I would follow my Manager and Executive anywhere.

      Cons

      Despite some of the reviews complaining about the CEO, he has done many good things for the Credit Union. The challenge is the blind spots for certain lines of business creating the most problems while being overly critical of the ones trying to keep the ship upright and committed to working together. Employees see this and are angry. The recent systems conversion was really bad. It hurt members, and employees are overwhelmed and leaving every day. There is a history here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      The ship is sinking.

      Sep 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There aren’t any that I can think of.

      Cons

      This CU is not going to last much longer with a CEO like this one. Dear Board of Directors, Please do something. I thought the predecessor of the current. CEO was bad. He was a walk in the park compared to the current CEO. The current administration is horrible. All the solid execs have disappeared. There is no trust of any employee. The ENTIRE world is operating effectively remotely but NWFCU will not trust it’s employees because the CEO doesn’t believe that people work from home. He thinks they play video games and sleep. I guess that is what he does so he is projecting that on us. If anyone is reading this and contemplating working at NWFCU, stop and find something else. The place is a tragic state of affairs. The lending Ursula dept is horrific. The NCUA should be contacted. This can’t continue. They operate like the wild Wild West. If you open your mouth and say the truth, they will fire you. This place needs a major over haul. Or if needs for a bigger CU to buy it. It will not survive with the current leadership team.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Conflicted

      Jul 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’ve been at Northwest for years and can truly say I’ve grown so much in my position and have seen a great future as an employee within the organization.

      Cons

      Unfortunately the lack of remote flexibility has me conflicted. I don’t want to leave NW but I have now seen how I can 1) perform my duties successfully on a day to day basis from home 2) enjoy my job AND have an incredible work life balance. Once I began working from home I became the healthiest I’ve ever been in my life… saving money, having time to exercise instead of sitting in traffic for an hour and a half to and from work. There are benefits from offering hybrid remote options for the organization AND the employees. I’m holding on to hope here. I do know NWFCU has NEVER allowed remote work so this is not a surprise. However, this past year has taught the entire world a lot about their capabilities.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      NWFCU is a great place to work!

      Sep 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment, competitive salaries, INCREDIBLE BENEFITS! NWFCU took care of me when I was struggling and protected me through the pandemic. This company continues to look out for its employees. I feel lucky to have been able to work for this incredible organization. Thank you NWFCU!

      Cons

      There is really nothing to complain about!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      No Respect for the Call Center

      Aug 25, 2021 - Member Service Representative III in Herndon, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home was a major pro. The call center was one of the only departments that allowed it before the pandemic and continues to allow representatives to work remotely.

      Cons

      The team leads care a lot about the representatives but the buck stops there. We worked the entire pandemic with incredibly high call volumes, took on the work of what should have been collections', went through an online banking conversion with absolutely no thanks. The branches got multiple bonuses. We got nothing. Instead, we got hit with the brunt of a disastrous core conversion that left us with three hour hold times, no support, and overtime. On the launch day of the new system, the branches weren't ready so they were delayed by an hour. But the call center? We were asked to come in an hour before our shifts and stayed at least an hour after every day after. And for our hard work, they sent an email asking us to forego our scheduled breaks.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Jun 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Herndon, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management & Executives seem to really care about their employees & members. Sales pressure is very little and they allow sales to happen organically. Unlike some of the banks I’ve worked for where the immense pressure has caused stress and health issues. The culture is much better and friendlier here. Plus they care about employees’ opinions! 401K match is at 7% which is unheard of and VERY MUCH appreciated! I personally don’t participate in the health benefits but have heard they’re good.

      Cons

      They’re a little behind on technology overall, and CEO & board are old school and don’t believe in working remotely. PTO is one bucket with both sick leave & vacation, and the number of days are non-negotiable during hiring process.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Top 5 Company on the Planet!

      Sep 9, 2021 - Sales Manager in Herndon, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Knowledgeable management team Company that cares about people Great Benefits Employee first mentality Knowledgeable down to earth CEO

      Cons

      Based on previous employers, 0! The grass isn’t always greener, but in my case it was!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Sep 14, 2021 - MSR II in Herndon, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing workers Great benefits Support Room for growth Great ceo

      Cons

      Salary low Not enough base pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 121 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Northwest FCU Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Northwest FCU? Share Your Experiences

    or