Northwestern Mutual Financial Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Northwestern Mutual Financial Representative Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (10)

    "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Financial Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere Great training experience Fair pay

    Cons

    There are no cons, my experience has been amazing

    Northwestern Mutual2019-05-21
  2. "Financial Representative for Northwestern Mutual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Financial Representative in Schaumburg, IL

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company that allows attonomy

    Cons

    Purely commission based for income

    Northwestern Mutual2019-11-25
  3. "Worth it if you buy in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn a ton about the industry and gain great real world experience

    Cons

    You have to badger ones close to you to trust an intern with their insurance and financial needs which is extremely difficult

    Advice to Management

    Dont decorate the job as much and be more up front about what the job actually entail.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-12-04
  4. "Great Work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - College Financial Representative 

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual

    Pros

    This was a great work experience and learning experience

    Cons

    None that stuck out too much, things every company has.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-12-04
  5. "Overall Great Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training program and leadership

    Cons

    Can be difficult to make a lot of money as an intern

    Northwestern Mutual2019-12-03
  6. "Great people, hard job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Representative in New York, NY

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and support.

    Cons

    Difficult job if you don’t have a good network built.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-11-26
  7. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - College Financial Representative 

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual

    Pros

    Opportunity for high earnings Actual job experience Lots of education

    Cons

    Commission only environment, tough transition

    Northwestern Mutual2019-11-21
  8. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Representative in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best internships out there that will get you acclimated to the corporate world and financial services industry. You are essentially doing the same work as full-time advisors.

    Cons

    More training on the products that were being sold would have been useful during my time as an intern. There is a high turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on improving training and accountability.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-11-22
  9. "What you should know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - College Financial Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot, mentor ship is exceptional, opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Basically not paid as an intern, pay is commission based, if you can’t sell then don’t take the internship

    Northwestern Mutual2019-12-06
  10. "Working at NM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Great Company to work for * Always doing what's in the clients interest * Leadership Support * Offer great training sources * Freedom

    Cons

    *Commission based only * Difficult career

    Northwestern Mutual2019-11-16
Found 2014 reviews