Northwestern Mutual Financial Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Financial Representative

Northwestern Mutual Financial Representative Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Worth it if you buy in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn a ton about the industry and gain great real world experience

    Cons

    You have to badger ones close to you to trust an intern with their insurance and financial needs which is extremely difficult

    Advice to Management

    Dont decorate the job as much and be more up front about what the job actually entail.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-12-04
  2. "Great Work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - College Financial Representative 

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual

    Pros

    This was a great work experience and learning experience

    Cons

    None that stuck out too much, things every company has.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-12-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    ""Not" just insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Improve networking skills and learn a lot about the insurance industry

    Cons

    Whole system is based on how many lives you obtain. People refer to themselves as financial advisers when in reality they are simply an insurance agent. Sad thing is some genuinely think that is truly the case

    Advice to Management

    If you want to give the customer the satisfaction of a "Holistic" planning experience, fine. Do not create a culture of employees with non-business backgrounds to where they consider themselves a financial advisor

    Northwestern Mutual2019-12-17
  4. "Financial Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Representative in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, nice people, solid encouragement

    Cons

    Completely commission based, only received stipend, success is dependent on knowing people who would buy insurance.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest about the internship and what it means to be a financial representative

    Northwestern Mutual2019-12-18
  5. "Overall Great Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training program and leadership

    Cons

    Can be difficult to make a lot of money as an intern

    Northwestern Mutual2019-12-03
  6. "Unprofessional and unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    They have an internship program in place. Flexible hours. $100/week just for showing up to classes 3x/week. The rest is commission. You will get the job after internship based solely on the fact that they need financial advisors.

    Cons

    Unprofessional from the get-go. Hired as an intern right before Christmas. Information was thrown on me and I was told to complete all tests and take life and health exam in 2 weeks (in the middle of Christmas and New Years). I did not know who to report to as everything was unorganized. When I did need to reach out to anyone, I couldn’t get a hold of them because they were on vacation. When I did get a hold of someone to ask questions about what all I needed to complete I got laughed at for double-checking things. I got belittled and made to feel stupid for questioning why I needed to give all personal information (SS number, background check, and fingerprints) but not get a drug test. The director said, “why are you asking if you need to take a drug test? Are you worried you won’t pass?” No, I figured with giving all of my other information I would need to give a drug test as well - pretty backwards. I just wanted to clarify since I had so little tome to get everything done and it was one of the few times I could actually get ahold of someone. I figured I would ask all questions since I got ahold of someone and nail down details since I didn’t think I would get ahold of anyone else before all of the tests were due. In addition to this, I got misinformed on when additional tests were due. I got called fhe week before the internship was supposed to start and told “oh, by the way, you need to have all of this additional stuff completed before Monday as well”. When I tried working with them on the due dates, they wouldn’t budge. Unprofessional and unorganized. Also, you have to front about $300 for all testing materials, etc. This is a commission-based career. Not what I want for a future career but wanted an internship to put on my resume. Not worth it. If it is not what you want to do with your life then I suggest not wasting your time with this internship.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be professional. Interns are professional adults and you should treat them as such.

    Northwestern Mutual2020-01-07
  7. "Great people, hard job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Representative in New York, NY

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and support.

    Cons

    Difficult job if you don’t have a good network built.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-11-26
  8. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - College Financial Representative 

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual

    Pros

    Opportunity for high earnings Actual job experience Lots of education

    Cons

    Commission only environment, tough transition

    Northwestern Mutual2019-11-21
  9. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Representative in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best internships out there that will get you acclimated to the corporate world and financial services industry. You are essentially doing the same work as full-time advisors.

    Cons

    More training on the products that were being sold would have been useful during my time as an intern. There is a high turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on improving training and accountability.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-11-22
  10. "What you should know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - College Financial Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot, mentor ship is exceptional, opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Basically not paid as an intern, pay is commission based, if you can’t sell then don’t take the internship

    Northwestern Mutual2019-12-06
Found 2046 reviews