Northwestern Mutual Internship Reviews | Glassdoor

Northwestern Mutual Internship Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "A great place to get industry experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    The internship package is very generous, competitive pay, good professional development opportunities, free housing and lunch. The work is exactly what real employees are doing. You get to meet a lot of other interns.

    Cons

    The work in my particular department was not the most exciting

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-08
  2. "Do it to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Internship in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll get your life, health, annuities license, learn how to sell, and might fall into a career. If it's not for you, you learned a ton to go someplace else.

    Cons

    Classic referral strategy to generate leads can be exhausting after getting a ton of "no"s.

    Advice to Management

    Daily meetings and goal planning help.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-11-18
  3. "Endless opportunities for personal and professional development!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internship Coordinator in Eau Claire, WI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Northwestern Mutual invests heavily in their people and provides endless opportunities for personal and professional development. I owe my professional development to this point to Northwestern Mutual and the many doors they have opened for me throughout my time with them!

    Cons

    Tough to be a female in a made dominated industry/office

    Northwestern Mutual2019-09-07
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Internship in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people, awesome everything great place

    Cons

    I cannot think of any pros

    Northwestern Mutual2019-07-10
  5. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Internship in Rochester, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own schedule and set your own hours. Great place to start a career and get a feel for the insurance industry

    Cons

    You are only paid $100/week stipend, plus any commissions you make from sales. They will ask you to reach out to family and friends, which can be uncomfortable. Having little to no experience, it is common to bring on a more senior advisor who you will split commission with

    Northwestern Mutual2019-07-09
  6. "It is a good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Internship 

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual

    Pros

    Made your own schedule and hours.

    Cons

    Commission based, so getting paid is stressful.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-06-19
  7. "One of the most challenging, rewarding internships out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Internship 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for more than a year

    Pros

    You will learn an incredible amount about finance, sales, and accounting.

    Cons

    It's very challenging work and not for everybody.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-05-30
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Internship in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Competitive pay, Good benefits

    Cons

    Have to call on friends and family Salary is compensation based

    Northwestern Mutual2019-04-08
  9. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Internship in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    Personal growth, write your own schedule, excellent mentoring

    Cons

    Only guaranteed to receive weekly stipend, easy to burn bridges with friends/family

    Advice to Management

    Do not have the interns start their call list till after training. Calling during the training eliminates lots of possible business due to lack of skill at the time.

    Northwestern Mutual2018-05-22
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Internship in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for more than a year

    Pros

    Get outside your comfort zone.

    Cons

    Have to be sales driven

    Northwestern Mutual2018-01-09
Found 15 reviews