Northwestern Mutual Recruiter Reviews | Glassdoor

Northwestern Mutual Recruiter Reviews

Updated Nov 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Covington, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, work place environment, work satisfaction

    Cons

    Dealing with clients is difficult

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-30
  2. "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Recruiting Intern in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for more than a year

    Pros

    Great stepping stone for the future

    Cons

    Felt like I was manipulating young college kids

    Advice to Management

    Work on building relationships with employees you already HAVE!

    Northwestern Mutual2019-11-04
  3. "Fun place to work - not very structured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Recruiting Intern in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun office and good culture

    Cons

    I don't feel like I learned a lot

    Advice to Management

    structure your internship program better

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-24
  4. "Good company, but local offices can make or break the job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NM is a great company, with a lot of energetic and motivated professionals. It is fun to be around people who like to have fun and impact people's lives but also motivate you to work hard.

    Cons

    The recruiter role specifically is highly dependent on the office you are in, and the management in that office. Each network is run by a Managing Partner, and each district office is run by a Managing Director. The culture around recruiting and lead generation is highly dependent upon the entire office's culture, including success of the Financial Advisors, and initiative from leadership. Due to the structure of NM... and the recruiting practices, your success is very dependent on the circumstances of your specific office.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In order to prevent high Recruiter turn over, management must lead from the front in terms of making recruiting a high priority, and in turn having their recruiter's back. Invest more into training and ongoing development for those in recruiting role. Training and development is available to Financial Reps, but recruiters have little to none at all.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-08-12
  5. "Great Culture and Amazing Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time

    Pros

    This is the first office where I felt that I not only got the support in the beginning of my career but they continue to help find ways for me to grow as a professional. Everyone in the office works so hard and I can tell they enjoy being here which motivates me to do my absolute best. If you are looking to find a "work family" that sincerely concerns about your well being and your success, then this is the... perfect place!

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing negative, there are challenges that come along with the careers but pays off in the end.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-07-10
  6. "I have been working for Northwestern Mutual for almost a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great teamwork, culture, and atmosphere. Everyone pushes each other to work harder. Goal oriented!

    Cons

    Have not experienced any cons

    Northwestern Mutual2019-06-03
  7. "Great vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Mission Oriented Care about clients Great people that work there

    Cons

    Very corporate environment, can be negative Not diverse

    Northwestern Mutual2019-05-14
  8. "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is high energy that keeps employees motivated.

    Cons

    I haven't experienced any con's.

    Advice to Management

    Continue what you are doing!

    Northwestern Mutual2019-04-23
  9. "Great for clients, just alright for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Recruiting 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of independence and the culture is alright most of the time. The awards and rewards trip incentives and additional bonuses and great as well. The products and services offered are very valuable for clients.

    Cons

    Most of management hasn't worked anywhere outside of Northwestern Mutual so things are mostly unchanging and it's hard to be innovative and curious. The offices are franchised so no one office is the same which is very confusing.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-04-16
  10. "good people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    training and co-workers are positive

    Cons

    commission only compensation for the first few years

    Northwestern Mutual2019-03-11
Found 78 reviews